[PCPer] Frame Rating Part 3: First Results - Page 20 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[PCPer] Frame Rating Part 3: First Results

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #191 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BababooeyHTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,706
Rep: 197 (Unique: 164)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post

Look at the good side = skyrim XD

didnt take that long

frame latency issue /= microstutter

Those are two different issues. I really do think that they can both be solved with some sort of framerate smoothing like Nvidia uses. The memory management scapegoat isn't going to solve microstutter and I have my doubts that it will ever completely resolve the frame latency issue. Just look at techreports older reviews. The memory management system is optimized for those older cards yet they still do poorly with frame latency.
BababooeyHTJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #192 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:04 AM
MegaTechPC
 
Majin SSJ Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saint Simons Island, GA
Posts: 19,214
Rep: 1092 (Unique: 517)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ View Post

frame latency issue /= microstutter

Those are two different issues. I really do think that they can both be solved with some sort of framerate smoothing like Nvidia uses. The memory management scapegoat isn't going to solve microstutter and I have my doubts that it will ever completely resolve the frame latency issue. Just look at techreports older reviews. The memory management system is optimized for those older cards yet they still do poorly with frame latency.

You know what you could do? You could buy Nvidia cards if they are so much better! thumb.gif


3DMark11 - P25138
3DMark Firestrike - P20998

Intel Core i7 4930K @ 4.7GHz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | 2 x EVGA GTX Titan SC (1254MHz) | 16GB Patriot Viper Extreme DDR3 2133MHz (4 x 4GB) | Corsair AX1200 | Silverstone Temjin TJ11 | Corsair Force 3 240GB (System) | 2 x Intel 320 160GB SSD (Dedicated Gaming Drives) | Hitachi Deskstar 1TB (Data) | MS Windows 10 Pro | EK Supreme HF/FC-Titan/Rampage IV Extreme blocks | Hardware Labs GTX 560/240 rads | Alphacool VPP-655 D5 pump | Bitspower mod kit/pump top/fittings/120mm res


Majin SSJ Eric is offline  
post #193 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BababooeyHTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,706
Rep: 197 (Unique: 164)
The microstutter complaints have been on the forums for years.

As in this article and a few others they are measurable. Microstutter is not an opinion, its there. If you don't notice it, thats different.

I would be willing to bet that you would find a single 680 smoother in many games than something like a pair of 6850s or 6870s. Thats just due to microstutter. You may even find a single titan smoother in many games than your two cards now. Its those comparisons where microstutter is usually very apparent.

There is no need to turn this into an some sort of fanboy issue. Look at thing a little less biased. These sort of articles are good for the consumer.
BababooeyHTJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #194 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post

MAKE SURE YOUR MONITOR IS AT THE DEFAULT REFRESH RATE or lock to 60/120hz..

Heres my bf3 run multiplayer 64player map @ 1440P Ultra/4xAA 7970/7950 @ crossfire @ 100FPS cap used 60seconds fraps instead of 120....


did 3 runs to rule out anything...

It dont look like this


btw bf3 is dying theres barely nobody playing it lol

I seriously doubt the 2x7970 on crossfire is a placebo effect like this report is throwing at us so get the hell out seriously...
I just prove it to you with 4xAA @ 1440P with everything at ultra and my frame times..


You can fool some of us but not all of us.

 

So u made a graph more to your liking...(?) To what effect?  

 

Or, do you actually notice anything.. as the end user?

formula m is offline  
post #195 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zGunBLADEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,967
Rep: 105 (Unique: 76)
Quote:
Originally Posted by formula m View Post

So u made a graph more to your liking...(?) To what effect?  

Or, do you actually notice anything.. as the end user?

I didnt make any graph to my likings. I used the same app and recorded timeframe that was used on the tests on @ 1440P with 4xAA to top it off..
The only difference is i just capped my frames @ 100frames as i dont see no use to let the card go that high so i can avoid microstutter...

That test from pcper dont show if they were using nvidia adaptive vsync as it never will go above 120 fps which will be the same as using radeonpro and locking the frames..
I read also somewhere that it dont work to well at that refresh rate.. Will love to try it out just for the lolz...

Seems very weird that it never broke 120fps margin on sli on single player. But this you guys didnt even notice it right> ? And just came here to throw conclusions out?

Not only this "bench" is trying to imply crossfire is a placebo effect which actually is like running at 1xgpu..
End the 4xAA test on multiplayer To see that placebo effect...

Again, microstutter is a reality if you dont know how to play with it... Period!! amd or nvidia it just dont matter they both suffer for the same syndrome one more than the other...

zGunBLADEz is offline  
post #196 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:41 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post


I didnt make any graph to my likings. I used the same app and recorded timeframe that was used on the tests on @ 1440P with 4xAA to top it off..
The only difference is i just capped my frames @ 100frames as i dont see no use to let the card go that high so i can avoid microstutter...

That test from pcper dont show if they were using nvidia adaptive vsync as it never will go above 120 fps which will be the same as using radeonpro and locking the frames..

Seems very weird that it never broke 120fps margin on sli on single player. But this you guys didnt even notice it right> ? And just came here to throw conclusions out?

Not only this "bench" is trying to imply crossfire is a placebo effect which actually is like running at 1xgpu..
End the 4xAA test on multiplayer To see that placebo effect...

Again, microstutter is a reality if you dont know how to play with it... Period!! amd or nvidia it just dont matter they both suffer for the same syndrome one more than the other...

 

Yeah, but what you're doing is for everyone, not just SLI...

formula m is offline  
post #197 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BababooeyHTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,706
Rep: 197 (Unique: 164)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post

That test from pcper dont show if they were using nvidia adaptive vsync as it never will go above 120 fps which will be the same as using radeonpro and locking the frames..

Its really not the same. Vsync /= hard framerate cap.

Please stop touting some workaround as an end all be all solution.
BababooeyHTJ is offline  
post #198 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zGunBLADEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,967
Rep: 105 (Unique: 76)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ View Post

Its really not the same. Vsync /= hard framerate cap.

Please stop touting some workaround as an end all be all solution.


It is the same, it helps to show those nice timeframe graphs that you guys are all comparing too..


You know john/radeonpro creator is working something similar like nvidia adaptive vsync ?
http://www.radeonpro.info/en-US/Blog/2846613637796802764/Whats-coming-next

zGunBLADEz is offline  
post #199 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:54 AM
 
Cloudfire777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,038
awww, look how much he is trying. I give him 8/10 for the effort
Cloudfire777 is offline  
post #200 of 294 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 10:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BababooeyHTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,706
Rep: 197 (Unique: 164)
No, its really not. A hard cap is not the same thing as vsync.

Why don't use ask Japamd if his dynamic vsync has the same results as a framerate cap or dynamic framerate control.

Please do a little research on the subject.
BababooeyHTJ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off