[PCMonitors]AOC G2460PF and G2770PF 160Hz FreeSync Monitors - Page 11 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[PCMonitors]AOC G2460PF and G2770PF 160Hz FreeSync Monitors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #101 of 155 (permalink) Old 10-14-2015, 12:52 PM
PC Gamer
 
PsYcHo29388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gatka
Posts: 3,894
Rep: 134 (Unique: 111)
Quote:
Originally Posted by henson0115 View Post

to clear up any confusion, you can update the monitor driver in device manager(in windows and not the monitor) and alter the freesync range, as already proved by the people who brought us the ability to hack the ranges ourselves with an inf. http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/own...mple-hack.html

the overdrive function not working at 120hz and 144hz can only be fixed by a firmware update and not a driver, which is the reason they are talking about warranty. i have to send mine back for a firmware update to get the overdrive function working.

the aoc rep is talking about two different things.
Alright, thanks for clearing that up. By the time I get around to purchasing one they should have updated the firmware on them, sucks that people who already purchased them have to pay to send them back but at least they caught it early instead of 6 months down the line.

Versatility
(23 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5-8600k @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
ASRock Z370 Gaming K6
GPU
Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 1080
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue M.2 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1TB 7200RPM
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova GS 550W
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Cooling
Cougar Vortex 120MM
Cooling
Cougar Vortex 120MM
Cooling
Corsair ML120
Cooling
Corsair ML120
Case
Thermaltake Versa H34
Operating System
Windows 10 Education 64-bit
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 Extended
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Z
Audio
Blue Microphones - Snowball (Brushed Aluminum)
Other
ASUS PCE-AC56 (AC1300)
▲ hide details ▲


PsYcHo29388 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-05-2015, 10:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ultramar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 29
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Ultramar is offline  
post #103 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 12:02 AM
Phenomenologist
 
caenlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6,279
Rep: 173 (Unique: 143)
Was slightly excited until I read 1080p, I can't go back after using 1440p for over 3 years now, tried it, made me sick. Even old games like Dragon Age Origins look next gen with the crispness of 4k.

Headphones: Sennhesier HD660S
AMP: Schiit Asgard 2
DAC: Schiit Modi 3
caenlen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #104 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 01:57 AM
Otherworlder
 
epic1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,410
Rep: 220 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kinaesthetic View Post

Yeah, but in all fairness, those running at that low of resolution are doing a balancing act of cost and battery life (usability). Which is why you end up with products like that. You aren't going to see that disappear unless components because significantly (on a couple of orders of magnitude) better at power consumption or battery technologies make a quantum leap forward.

i'd prefer they go with 1280x800 instead of 1366x768, it even has slightly less pixels yet a bit more usable.
and its more prevalent with budget tablets, but for some reason not in laptops, yes 1280x800 is 16:10.


on the other hand, this being 1080P doesn't really surprise me, its of the cheaper monitors so its to be expected.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.
epic1337 is offline  
post #105 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-25-2015, 01:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ultramar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 29
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Has anyone tested LFC with this monitor ? How does it perform?
Ultramar is offline  
post #106 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-25-2015, 03:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
speedyeggtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 808
Rep: 35 (Unique: 30)
I am also wondering what Crimson/Radeon Software auto detects and reads as the FreeSync range.
speedyeggtart is offline  
post #107 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-25-2015, 05:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Toxsick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kyoto
Posts: 1,768
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
Is the overdrive bug fixed? i just bought one.
Toxsick is offline  
post #108 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-25-2015, 06:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
one-shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,355
Rep: 71 (Unique: 59)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxsick View Post

Is the overdrive bug fixed? i just bought one.

Isn't that usually something you determine before you buy?
one-shot is offline  
post #109 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-25-2015, 06:37 AM
Otherworlder
 
epic1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,410
Rep: 220 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by one-shot View Post

Isn't that usually something you determine before you buy?
buyer's impulse states that you have to buy first, then regret afterwards. biggrin.gif

though on a serious note, he probably wasn't aware of this and just bought the card because its one of the most cost efficient.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.
epic1337 is offline  
post #110 of 155 (permalink) Old 11-25-2015, 06:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Toxsick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kyoto
Posts: 1,768
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by one-shot View Post

Isn't that usually something you determine before you buy?
I did ask my local store, and they didnt know about this, they said in the email i had to mail the serie number to AOC.
But i guess i will see once its arrived, i dont know if its an old batch of new, i also stated that in my mail, but they just said to me i had contact AOC for that.
So we will see once its arrived i guess, i really hope i dont have to send it back to updates its firmware.

Because i dont know if its a new batch in their warehouse or an old one.
But seeing the post from the AOC rep on the UK forum i thought this issue should be fixed, since its 2months old.
Toxsick is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off