[Reddit] RX 480 fails PCI-E specification - Page 110 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Reddit] RX 480 fails PCI-E specification

 
Thread Tools
post #1091 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 08:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,285
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnin426850 View Post

Actually, on the crappiest mobo it won't be fine, it crashes in win boot.

B/c of the card while in 2D mode with no load? Yeah, sure

AMD
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1092 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 08:49 AM
Old dog, old tricks
 
ronnin426850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 9,739
Rep: 574 (Unique: 474)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post

B/c of the card while in 2D mode with no load? Yeah, sure

"Sure".

EDIT: My mistake, not on windows login, but under load. I remembered wrong. Anyway, it crashes. With the old drivers. Last drivers should have fixed that.
ronnin426850 is offline  
post #1093 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 09:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,285
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
Probably more aggressive over-current protection on some old motherboards with 1 X16 PCI-e slot... if it is indeed the card's fault.

AMD
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1094 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 09:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ajvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagget3450 View Post

Overclocking?
1. Overclocking is not supported officially and also voids warranty. Are you seriously going to argue this case against the RX 480 when we have many users here overclocking multiple components and over volt beyond safe and warranty margins?
2. Overclocking is a very small margin of users, and has such a small impact on the overall market. ESPECIALLY a 200$ GPU.
3.
Someone would say it's miserable to attack overclockers with AMD's official out of warranty legal statements and at the same time defend AMD who overclocked the card itself from factory to the point of breaking PCI-E specifications.
Yeah, exactly overclocked, because at stock clocks even that compatibility thing doesn't put card to specs even though it is safe to overdraw power from 6-pin... which is in the exact same safe area of a slight overclock of IN-SPEC card.
Ajvar is offline  
post #1096 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 09:21 AM
Old dog, old tricks
 
ronnin426850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 9,739
Rep: 574 (Unique: 474)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post

Someone would say it's miserable to attack overclockers with AMD's official out of warranty legal statements and at the same time defend AMD who overclocked the card itself from factory to the point of breaking PCI-E specifications.
Yeah, exactly overclocked, because at stock clocks even that compatibility thing doesn't put card to specs even though it is safe to overdraw power from 6-pin... which is in the exact same safe area of a slight overclock of IN-SPEC card.

What? Please rephrase, I don't understand. The power distribution has nothing to do with overclock.
ronnin426850 is offline  
post #1097 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 09:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ajvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Quote:
What? Please rephrase, I don't understand. The power distribution has nothing to do with overclock.
RLY? If AMD sets lower clocks of their ref 480 what would be? Lower powerdraw.
It's basic rule of overclocking. Higher Clocks = Higher Temperature + Higher Powerdraw.
There were Engineering Samples of RX 480 clocked at 800MHz for a reason. AMD just decided that it would be a nonsense to distribute a card which can't even compete with GTX 970 on DX11 so they had to clock it that high that it draws 170W+ while at possible 150W max.
Ajvar is offline  
post #1098 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 09:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
incog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: France
Posts: 1,166
Rep: 41 (Unique: 27)
So is there any unbiased tl;dr a fellow could read on this situation in its current state?

eso-community.net | Age of Empires 3 Community Forum !
incog is offline  
post #1099 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 09:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AmericanLoco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 995
Rep: 112 (Unique: 70)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post

RLY? If AMD sets lower clocks of their ref 480 what would be? Lower powerdraw.
It's basic rule of overclocking. Higher Clocks = Higher Temperature + Higher Powerdraw.
There were Engineering Samples of RX 480 clocked at 800MHz for a reason. AMD just decided that it would be a nonsense to distribute a card which can't even compete with GTX 970 on DX11 so they had to clock it that high that it draws 170W+ while at possible 150W max.
The very first Athlon 64 engineering samples back in 2001 were clocked at 800 MHz too. Later ES were clocked well below release clocks as well. What's your point?
AmericanLoco is offline  
post #1100 of 1129 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 10:03 AM
Old dog, old tricks
 
ronnin426850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 9,739
Rep: 574 (Unique: 474)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post

RLY? If AMD sets lower clocks of their ref 480 what would be? Lower powerdraw.
It's basic rule of overclocking. Higher Clocks = Higher Temperature + Higher Powerdraw.
There were Engineering Samples of RX 480 clocked at 800MHz for a reason. AMD just decided that it would be a nonsense to distribute a card which can't even compete with GTX 970 on DX11 so they had to clock it that high that it draws 170W+ while at possible 150W max.

Powerdraw and Powerdistribution are two veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery different things. 480 has no issues with power draw. It haD issues with power distribution.
Quote:
Originally Posted by incog View Post

So is there any unbiased tl;dr a fellow could read on this situation in its current state?

The current state of the situation is as follows: There is no longer a situation, everything is resolved with the last AMD drivers.
ronnin426850 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off