[Microsoft] Direct3D team office has a Wall of GPU History - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Microsoft] Direct3D team office has a Wall of GPU History

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 09:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 660
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
I remember a computer we used to have had a Radeon 9500... I tried using some rivatuner **** to overclock the core and memory. 1MHz would kill the thing. How far we've come.
TheHorse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 04:24 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mad Pistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Beach, Florida
Posts: 6,198
Rep: 280 (Unique: 201)
Super Jealous! I would love to see this.



Mad Pistol is offline  
post #33 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 06:57 PM
Gamer
 
paulerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 3,293
Rep: 67 (Unique: 57)
My GPU upgrade tree would be something like this..

Intel Celeron 2.4ghz iGPU (2002)

ATI 9200

ATI 9600XT

Nvidia 6200 LE

ATI X850XT

GTX 8800GT

GTX 260 (died)

HD 5770

HD7870 (died)

GTX 750ti

GTX1060

swah

paulerxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 09:34 AM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,085
Rep: 3134 (Unique: 1869)
Going through those pictures and finding it easier to count the cards I didn't have than the ones I did makes me realize that I've had almost one-hundred video cards in the last 25 years.

Quote: Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post
Yeah, getting into 3D graphics from the mid 90s to mid 00s was something no one will ever experience again - except when holodecks become a thing. It was quite a time in the computer industry.
I experienced it again while I was building my retro gaming PC out of parts I've had stashed for 20-25 years.

Quote: Originally Posted by SoloCamo View Post
I keep an active AGP rig to this day (opteron 180 @ 2.7ghz, 2gb ddr400 on a gigabyte s939 board). Most powerful card I've got for it is a Gecube x1950pro 256mb, though. Followed by a x800pro, then 6600gt, and down the line from there.

First gpu I really used for gaming was a Ati Rage 128, Voodoo 3 and then a bit later my GF4 ti4200 128mb.
My only surviving AGP setup is my Super Socket 7 K6-III+ retro system, mostly use it for very late DOS games that emulation doesn't do justice to and a few Windows 95/98 titles that don't run correctly on anything else.

Wish I had saved one of my Socket A boards that was old enough to have an ISA slot.

Quote: Originally Posted by TheHorse View Post
I remember a computer we used to have had a Radeon 9500... I tried using some rivatuner **** to overclock the core and memory. 1MHz would kill the thing. How far we've come.
I had a Radeon 9500 non-pro that I unlocked to a 9700 and overclocked by almost 25%. Was as fast as a 9800 Pro for 30% of the cost.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
post #35 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 03:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 660
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blameless View Post
I had a Radeon 9500 non-pro that I unlocked to a 9700 and overclocked by almost 25%. Was as fast as a 9800 Pro for 30% of the cost.
If only I was smart enough/not like 7 years old at the time
TheHorse is offline  
post #36 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 06:49 AM
Blue and Green Team!
 
The_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 10,733
Rep: 705 (Unique: 528)
This should go in a museum of tech.

20i9 STEALTH
(13 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9820X @ 4.5Ghz (1.253v NO AVX OFFSET)
Motherboard
ASUS X299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
2 x ASUS 2080Ti TURBO (Blower, NON-A)
RAM
32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz (4 x 8GB)
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVMe SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 1200W
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro (Corsair ML120's push/pull)
Case
Fractal Design Define S Windowed
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU 165Hz GSYNC 1440P
Keyboard
Corsair K70 MXRed
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Schiit 2Uber Stack + Beyerdynamic DT1770
▲ hide details ▲


The_Rocker is offline  
post #37 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 10:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kevinf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,804
Rep: 66 (Unique: 59)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kaltenbrunner View Post
What do they do at the Canadian HQ ? So they do any engineering? Or just marketing/sales ?
Canadian HQ (formerly ATi) does 90% of graphics driver development. Its AMD's largest site.

typer.gifecho "The `uname` Club"typer.gif

Steam profile Hit me up for some fun gaming TF2, L4D2, HL2DM, Unreal 2k4
kevinf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off