[Jewish Press]Report: Intel to Invest $11 Billion in Israeli Chip Plant - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Jewish Press]Report: Intel to Invest $11 Billion in Israeli Chip Plant

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 344
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
[Jewish Press]Report: Intel to Invest $11 Billion in Israeli Chip Plant

Quote:
Technology giant Intel, headquartered in Santa Clara, California, plans to invest $11 billion in setting up a new plant in Kiryat Gat, a city in southern Israel, some It lies 35 miles south of Tel Aviv, Globes reported on Monday. According to Globes, Intel is asking the state for a grant of 10% for its investment.

If the plan is realized, it would be the largest investment ever made by the giant chipmaker in Israel. Also, should the company receive its desired construction grant, it could reach $1.09 billion, also an all-time record.
This is in addition to other investment that was announced last May.
Quote:
Last May, Intel announced it would spend $5 billion over two years to upgrade its Fab 28 in Kiryat Gat, Israel, from 22nm to 10nm production technology.
https://www.jewishpress.com/news/bus...nt/2019/01/28/
Hwgeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 07:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pgdeaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 713
Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
weird

I thought the general consensus here was that AMD has driven Intel out of business and that they are completely unable to do anything to compete. So this can't be real news right? (wink, wink, nudge, nudge, say no more)

“Who you are is defined by what you’re willing to struggle for.”― Mark Manson
Nuka Cola
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
pgdeaner is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 07:50 AM
Top kek
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bulgaria , Sofia
Posts: 3,325
Rep: 110 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by pgdeaner View Post
I thought the general consensus here was that AMD has driven Intel out of business and that they are completely unable to do anything to compete. So this can't be real news right? (wink, wink, nudge, nudge, say no more)
Thats a stupid comment, which brings nothing to discussion.



Why would Intel want to open a fabric in the middle of a warzone, in a potentially unstable state. Plus, it wont be really cheap to open it there and operate it....

My main guess is, so they can sell stuff directly to the Israel government and military and get access to certain stuff (no idea what stuff).

Previous Hardware:
Spoiler!
Desktop PC
(19 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX480
GPU
XFX RX470 Singlefan
GPU
MSI RX580 GamingX 4GB
RAM
Mushkin Redline 996996 2x4GB 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Maxtor 250GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS
Hard Drive
WesternDigital Blue 500GB 7200RPM 16MB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850M
Cooling
ThermalTake Frio Silent 14
Case
ThermalTake View 27
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 1607
Operating System
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Monitor
AOC i2267FWH
Keyboard
Logitech K120
Mouse
Bloody V5
Audio
Corsair HS30 Raptor
▲ hide details ▲
ku4eto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 344
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Nope, Just AMD made them realize that Tick&Tock is over and they need to start developing real new products.

ku4eto: Intel has many Development sites in Israel - I am from Israel and it's not "unstable War Zone" lol, this is only what you see in news because this gives rating.

Also many good stuff Intel developed here and they know why to invest- Intel ain't stupid :-).
(you can look after the processors that came after P4 Prescott- they all have Jewish names for some reason, Yona/Dothan/Banias/Centrino(Core)).
You can think from the point of "Many different minds are working there in "
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...ael/sites.html
Finally we gonna have good times in PC Hardware in coming Months/Years :-).

Last edited by Hwgeek; 01-28-2019 at 08:09 AM.
Hwgeek is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 07:58 AM
FOCAL ARIA FTW
 
Wishmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Luxembourg Ville
Posts: 9,177
Rep: 355 (Unique: 275)
Quote: Originally Posted by ku4eto View Post
Thats a stupid comment, which brings nothing to discussion.



Why would Intel want to open a fabric in the middle of a warzone, in a potentially unstable state. Plus, it wont be really cheap to open it there and operate it....

My main guess is, so they can sell stuff directly to the Israel government and military and get access to certain stuff (no idea what stuff).
You must be truly new to INTEL business to ask why INTEL does this.
Some of the best INTEL chips have come from ...wait for it ... ISRAEL.
The facilities are underground and some of the smartest people in the world work there.

AUDIO: DENON D-2000 -MARK LAWTON & FOCAL ARIA 948 WITH NAD C388 & NAD C568& REGA PLANAR 3 / FOCAL UTOPIA HEADPHONES NEXT / HOME CINEMA : YAMAHA AVENTAGE RX-A860
CARS : BMW M3 CSL E46 / AUDI A4 2018 3.0 TDI MTM tuned (340 HP) / Focus RS MK3 2017 NB - full option (400 HP) / Ford Fiesta Cherry Red - 1.0 Ecoboost @145 HP / Audi Q3 2018 - 1.4 TFSI @ 150 HP


Wishmaker is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 07:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pgdeaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 713
Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
Quote: Originally Posted by ku4eto View Post
Thats a stupid comment, which brings nothing to discussion.



Why would Intel want to open a fabric in the middle of a warzone, in a potentially unstable state. Plus, it wont be really cheap to open it there and operate it....

My main guess is, so they can sell stuff directly to the Israel government and military and get access to certain stuff (no idea what stuff).
I was joking around, I'm sorry you didn't find it funny.

I'd guess that Intel has some existing agreements with Israel as you are hinting at. I'd be more inclined to believe that the agreements are financial in nature rather that granting access to "stuff".

“Who you are is defined by what you’re willing to struggle for.”― Mark Manson
Nuka Cola
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
pgdeaner is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 08:01 AM
FOCAL ARIA FTW
 
Wishmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Luxembourg Ville
Posts: 9,177
Rep: 355 (Unique: 275)
Quote:
Intel in Qiryat Gat began operations in 1999, manufacturing processors using 0.18-micron technology. In 2008, Intel opened it's second Kiryat Gat plant, Fab 28.
Taken from INTEL's official website. It is www.intel.com and not www.amd.com.

AUDIO: DENON D-2000 -MARK LAWTON & FOCAL ARIA 948 WITH NAD C388 & NAD C568& REGA PLANAR 3 / FOCAL UTOPIA HEADPHONES NEXT / HOME CINEMA : YAMAHA AVENTAGE RX-A860
CARS : BMW M3 CSL E46 / AUDI A4 2018 3.0 TDI MTM tuned (340 HP) / Focus RS MK3 2017 NB - full option (400 HP) / Ford Fiesta Cherry Red - 1.0 Ecoboost @145 HP / Audi Q3 2018 - 1.4 TFSI @ 150 HP


Wishmaker is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 08:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,155
Rep: 331 (Unique: 242)
Quote: Originally Posted by ku4eto View Post
Why would Intel want to open a fabric in the middle of a warzone, in a potentially unstable state. Plus, it wont be really cheap to open it there and operate it....

My main guess is, so they can sell stuff directly to the Israel government and military and get access to certain stuff (no idea what stuff).



Intel has had facilities in Israel for 45 years.

EniGma1987 is online now  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 08:02 AM
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,385
Rep: 150 (Unique: 108)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hwgeek View Post
Nope, Just AMD made them realize that Tick&Tock is over and they need to start developing real new products.
AMD still doesn't hold the performance crown and if/when they do it won't be significant. Intel already confirmed Ice Lake will be shipping this year using the Sunny Cove cores most likely for mainstream while servers are getting Cascade Lake which has Optane persistent memory support.

This was probably caused due to tariffs and this is probably one of their plans to get around them.

Maximus
(20 items)
CPU
Core i7 6700K 4.8Ghz @ 1.4v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1200Mhz w/ 1150mV
RAM
G-Skill 32GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 08:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,155
Rep: 331 (Unique: 242)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
AMD still doesn't hold the performance crown and if/when they do it won't be significant. Intel already confirmed Ice Lake will be shipping this year using the Sunny Cove cores most likely for mainstream while servers are getting Cascade Lake which has Optane persistent memory support.

This was probably caused due to tariffs and this is probably one of their plans to get around them.

Once again:

Ice Lake on 10nm is NOT FOR DESKTOP this year. Intel is only releasing IceLake-U in 2019, which is mobile form factor only. Same as last gen 10nm chips. Intel still hasnt gotten 10nm node to where it needs to be for desktop and server processors.
I really wonder how many more times this has to be said before people understand it. The only announced processors are -U family and desktop uses -S family.

EniGma1987 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off