[G3D] Samsung Electronics Announces Flashbolt HBM2E High Bandwidth Memory - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[G3D] Samsung Electronics Announces Flashbolt HBM2E High Bandwidth Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,580
Rep: 432 (Unique: 298)
[G3D] Samsung Electronics Announces Flashbolt HBM2E High Bandwidth Memory

Source
Quote:
The new solution, Flashbolt , is the industry's first HBM2E to deliver a 3.2 gigabits-per-second (Gbps) data transfer speed per pin, which is 33 percent faster than the previous-generation HBM2. Flashbolt has a density of 16Gb per die, double the capacity of the previous generation. With these improvements, a single Samsung HBM2E package will offer a 410 gigabytes-per-second (GBps) data bandwidth and 16 GB of memory.
This already makes HBM2 old.
16GB per stack and 410GBps will be able to give us GPUs with 64GB at 1.6TBps.
Pair that with a 7nm big chip, and the current top radeon pro/volta cards will look like child’s play.


Defoler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 02:37 AM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 6,268
Rep: 362 (Unique: 191)
We're almost able to load entire games onto VRAM!

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
GPU
MSI 2080 Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
Mouse
Corepadded Logitech G703
Mousepad
Asus Scabbard
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (B pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 03:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cherryblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 278
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Achievement is great, but still way too premium for us peasants . Wondering how long will it take for that to come to gamer market... Could take years..
Cherryblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 03:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
guttheslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3,552
Rep: 108 (Unique: 63)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cherryblue View Post
Achievement is great, but still way too premium for us peasants . Wondering how long will it take for that to come to gamer market... Could take years..
Wait for HBM 2 to hit us first before even thinking about HBM2E.


I guess it will be 2nd generation of 7nm we will see any high end gaming card with HBM.

guttheslayer is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 04:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clocknut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,456
Rep: 101 (Unique: 60)
why cant they reduce the bit width to 512bit and able to do it on GPU PCB without expensive interposer?

Clocknut is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 05:20 AM
News Fiend
 
ryan92084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: 'merica
Posts: 1,762
Quote: Originally Posted by guttheslayer View Post
Wait for HBM 2 to hit us first before even thinking about HBM2E.


I guess it will be 2nd generation of 7nm we will see any high end gaming card with HBM.
Titan V, Radeon VII, VEGA 20/48/56/64 all use HBM2 already?

Meh '12
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Fury X
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZSW
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 970 PRO M.2 2280 512GB PCIe Gen3. X4, NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro-Series
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB Enterprise NAS SATA (ST4000VN0001)
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB Performance Desktop Hard Drive WD1003FZEX
Power Supply
SEASONIC PLATINUM-860 860W RT
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS Radiator x2
Cooling
Monsoon MMRS Reservoir + D5 pump + mountings
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm Neo Metal
Cooling
EKWB Fury X
Cooling
Monsoon Free Center 1/2ID 3/4OD fittings + Rotaries + plug + Temp probe
Cooling
BeQuiet SilentWings 3 High Speed PWM x 9
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 27" IPS 27UK650
Keyboard
Massdrop CTRL
Mouse
Logitech g403
Mousepad
HAYATE KOU FX SOFT NINJA Black L
Audio
Blue Yeti Black
Audio
Massdrop x AKG K7XX
Other
LIAN LI O11D-1X ,Riser Cable and cover bracket for PC-O11D
CPU
i5 3570k
Motherboard
Z77x-UD5H
GPU
Zotac 670 GTX AMP!
RAM
G.Skill f3-2400c10D-16gtx
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 128GB
Optical Drive
Some old thing
Power Supply
Seasonic platinum 860w
Cooling
Custom water
Case
Customized Thermaltake Armor
Operating System
Win 10 pro
Monitor
Dell U2413
Keyboard
Ducky Shine
Mouse
Logi G502
▲ hide details ▲


ryan92084 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 05:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ilmazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South United States Of Europe
Posts: 643
Rep: 25 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by ryan92084 View Post
Titan V, Radeon VII, VEGA 20/48/56/64 all use HBM2 already?
anything that has not GTX/RTX in the front part is a gaming related thing for some.....

M8
(11 items)
Otto
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
Asrock Taichi X470
GPU
sapphire fury nitro oc
RAM
GSkill Trident Z RGB 16GB 3200 Cl14
Hard Drive
SSD Crucial MX500 500GB
Power Supply
Antec HPC 850 Platinum
Cooling
noctua dual fan 120
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Operating System
microsoft windows 10 pro
Monitor
DELL U2311H
Monitor
ASUS MX34VQ
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7
Motherboard
P8H77-I
GPU
AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
RAM
8 GB 1600
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Seasonic G-750
Case
Bitfenix Prodigy mitx
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Monitor
DELL U2311H
▲ hide details ▲
ilmazzo is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 05:49 AM
Otherworlder
 
epic1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,164
Rep: 213 (Unique: 121)
Quote: Originally Posted by Clocknut View Post
why cant they reduce the bit width to 512bit and able to do it on GPU PCB without expensive interposer?
the 1024bit bus is divided into 128bit channels internally, so technically its an 8channel bus.
they probably want to maintain the channel width to decrease the access latency by interleaving them, the channel access aren't necessarily synchronous thus allowing multiple transactions individually.

so if they wanted to shrink the bus to 512bit, they'd either need to re-build the design to allow 64bit internal channels, or increase access latency by reducing the total number of channels.


edit: plus they're probably aiming for an even denser chip, pin density would increase as they shrink the package to smaller sizes.
integrating HBMs to compact devices like phones would become their targets sooner or later, which will mean they'll need to get it even smaller.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.

Last edited by epic1337; 03-20-2019 at 05:53 AM.
epic1337 is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 08:45 AM
Vega + Water = Power
 
LeadbyFaith21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Somewhere between a bunch of 0s and a few 1s.
Posts: 211
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by Clocknut View Post
why cant they reduce the bit width to 512bit and able to do it on GPU PCB without expensive interposer?
That would just make it GDDR if done that way. HBM is designed to be 2.5D or 3D stacked memory, which is fundamental to it being "fast". At a 512 bit bus, your bandwidth would be cut in half and you'd have higher latency from not being on an interposer. Being on the interposer basically allows the HBM to act as a last level cache for the processor due to how close it is to the processor physically and allows for the massive bus width without the need for large traces through the PCB.

"You must be doers of the Word and not only hearers who mislead themselves."
James 1:22


LeadbyFaith21 is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 10:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,216
Rep: 159 (Unique: 118)
Quote: Originally Posted by ryan92084 View Post
Titan V, Radeon VII, VEGA 20/48/56/64 all use HBM2 already?
That's what I was about to say, lol. If Vega 56/64 isn't a high end gaming card, it's news to me.


DNMock is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off