[Engadget] Acer's giant 43-inch gaming monitor has 144Hz variable refresh - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Engadget] Acer's giant 43-inch gaming monitor has 144Hz variable refresh

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,240
Rep: 519 (Unique: 359)
Quote: Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post
Is there a way to know what that limit will be from specs or will we need to wait until someone tests it?
Will have to test it out.

CallsignVega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 02:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,216
Rep: 159 (Unique: 118)
So HDMI 2.1 or are they doing that chroma subsampling nonsense?


DNMock is offline  
post #23 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 06:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
animeowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arkansas The Boring State
Posts: 571
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
Considering the Q70R, or any TV, for that matter (because they lack HDMI 2.1 and DP 1.4), doesn't support 4K144, yes, you'd be wrong.

This is a HDR1000 4K144 display with VRR. The features are pretty convincing.
when you say it runs 240hz do you mean in pc mode at 1440p and 1080p ?
animeowns is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 06:18 AM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 6,270
Rep: 362 (Unique: 191)
Quote: Originally Posted by animeowns View Post
when you say it runs 240hz do you mean in pc mode at 1440p and 1080p ?
Think you quoted the wrong person, there.

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
GPU
MSI 2080 Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
Mouse
Corepadded Logitech G703
Mousepad
Asus Scabbard
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (B pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
post #25 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 12:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,109
Rep: 521 (Unique: 293)
skupples is online now  
post #26 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 06:43 PM
RIP OCN
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 506
Rep: 25 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post
This makes those BFGD seem a bit stupid?
Also 40-43" is perfect for 4K.
Yeah seems like a good size, that's 86cm for retina. I'm sitting close to that distance away from my 27" 1080p panel at work.
anti-clockwize is offline  
post #27 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,240
Rep: 519 (Unique: 359)
Quote: Originally Posted by anti-clockwize View Post
Yeah seems like a good size, that's 86cm for retina. I'm sitting close to that distance away from my 27" 1080p panel at work.
Ya that is what makes 43" 4K so sweet. Sit about three feet away and it is really clear and immersive.

CallsignVega is offline  
post #28 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 03:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,985
Rep: 52 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
So HDMI 2.1 or are they doing that chroma subsampling nonsense?
Thats the only thing holding me back from a new monitor purchase atm...
nugget is offline  
post #29 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 05:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jedi Mind Trick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 72 (Unique: 63)
Quote: Originally Posted by nugget View Post
Thats the only thing holding me back from a new monitor purchase atm...
Same (as well as a few other things: AVR/TV [maybe]/GPU), praying this has HDMI 2.1; would make it about as perfect as it could be for the foreseeable future.

Hopefully, if they go the FALD route, the gray uniformity doesn't suffer (DSE); if they go the edge-lit route, hopefully they can do something similar to the X930E to minimize the blooming as much as possible.
Jedi Mind Trick is offline  
post #30 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 09:36 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,875
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
Why not DP2.0, screw HDMI nonsense that has licensing fees and what not (and it's slower than DP).
JackCY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off