[TC] [Updated] New secret-spilling flaw affects almost every Intel chip since 2011 - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[TC] [Updated] New secret-spilling flaw affects almost every Intel chip since 2011

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 12:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,746
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
Sounds like fear mongering.

https://zombieloadattack.com

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 01:07 AM
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,982
TFL Replica is offline  
post #23 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 01:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,746
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
How about those still running Win XP? Last i flew out of Newark the ground crew were using XP. lol

Got this from another forum. Disabling Hyperthread is not fullproof.

https://www.cyberus-technology.de/po...ombieload.html

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 05-15-2019 at 01:43 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 02:01 AM
Old to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,060
Rep: 119 (Unique: 103)
Quote: Originally Posted by Gunderman456 View Post
These are not flaws or bugs as being reported but designed as intended and smart people outside the big brother circle ignorantly catch these "flaws" sometime years down the road and the jig is up temporarily before they either design a new flaw or continue to use yet still undetected flaws. It's in every chip designed from Intel, AMD, Qualcomm, Samsung, Nvidia etc...

I've always had the exact same thought at the back of my mind. Given the stuff that's already out there, documented, forced hardware backdoors, intercepted shipments to have backdoors planted into networking equipment, WHY would it be so much of a stretch to have "bugs" or "flaws" as we call them in ring zero hardware like CPU's.

I've always been of the mindset that some of these could be intentional and only come out as "bugs" when we stumble upon it years later.

Quote: Originally Posted by Gunderman456 View Post
For those that think they can hide using AMD... there is NO where to hide.
Well you are safer, that's documented so using AMD is a plus but AMD has stuff similar to Intel ME in it's CPU's which cannot be disabled, that is reason for concern.

You can make your own PC's and run open source OS's all you want but there's plenty of proprietary black hole binary blobs like CPU microcode and BIOS where the potential for a ring zero backdoors exist and there isn't really any solution to that right now unless you want to run some completely open source BIOS AMD Phenom II circa 2007 builds with libreboot motherboards and stuff like that.

362436
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-A AMD Ryzen AM4 DDR4
GPU
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 950
RAM
2x Corsair Valueselect 8GB 288 Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 @ 2133
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC SSD
Optical Drive
Lite-On 24X SATA DVD/RW Optical Drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x 550W 80 Plus Gold
Cooling
Noctua NH-L9A-AM4 Low-Profile
Case
Antec NSK4100 Steel ATX Mid Tower
Operating System
Mint 18.2 x64
Monitor
HP 24" LCD/LED 1920x1080
Keyboard
IBM PC-AT
Mouse
Logitech G5
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Audio
Asus Essence STX II
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by xJumper; 05-15-2019 at 12:41 PM.
xJumper is offline  
post #25 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 02:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ilmazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South United States Of Europe
Posts: 1,003
Rep: 32 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alex132 View Post
I can't wait for this thread to turn into a bunch of people who think that they are smarter than the engineers at Intel
so it was a feature?

M8
(11 items)
Otto
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
Asrock Taichi X470
GPU
sapphire fury nitro oc
RAM
GSkill Trident Z RGB 16GB 3200 Cl14
Hard Drive
SSD Crucial MX500 500GB
Power Supply
Antec HPC 850 Platinum
Cooling
noctua dual fan 120
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Operating System
microsoft windows 10 pro
Monitor
DELL U2311H
Monitor
ASUS MX34VQ
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7
Motherboard
P8H77-I
GPU
AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
RAM
8 GB 1600
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Seasonic G-750
Case
Bitfenix Prodigy mitx
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Monitor
DELL U2311H
▲ hide details ▲
ilmazzo is offline  
post #26 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 03:41 AM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,788
Rep: 437 (Unique: 301)
Quote: Originally Posted by xJumper View Post
Well you are safer, that's documented so using AMD is a plus but AMD has stuff similar to Intel ME in it's CPU's which cannot be disabled, that is reason for concern.

I think that is a missed point.
You now think you are safer, just like owning intel made you think 3 years ago, that you were also safe.
You could be terribly wrong, which is the point. If you think AMD is safer, it only means that you might be oblivious to the "bugs" of "features" that hadn't been exposed yet.
You are only "safer" now by not knowing.


Defoler is offline  
post #27 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 03:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,478
Rep: 85 (Unique: 68)
Quote: Originally Posted by ilmazzo View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Alex132 View Post
I can't wait for this thread to turn into a bunch of people who think that they are smarter than the engineers at Intel [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/redface.gif[/IMG]
so it was a feature?

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?


speed_demon is offline  
post #28 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 03:47 AM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,788
Rep: 437 (Unique: 301)
Quote: Originally Posted by ilmazzo View Post
so it was a feature?
Depends.

When they designed the first cars, they didn't design them to hit trees.
Now that people are hitting trees with their cars, they needed to alter the design to make sure people survive hitting trees.
They designed cars to allow a mechanic to wirelessly connect to the car to collect data. They didn't design it so the mechanic can remotely control and crash the car. But someone found a way to do it, so they needed to fix it.

So intel most likely didn't design their CPUs to protect it from certain things which are software driven. They maybe didn't expect someone to be able to pull that off from the software side. But someone have, so they need to fix it.
Some of the things are things that are meant to be able to run, and require software protection. But since software doesn't want to protect the CPU, than expecting the CPU to do it, cost.

Its like instead of people stop hitting trees, and so cars won't be needed to be designed to survive it, you have to do the opposite.


Defoler is offline  
post #29 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 03:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,879
Rep: 19 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by xJumper View Post
Well you are safer, that's documented so using AMD is a plus but AMD has stuff similar to Intel ME in it's CPU's which cannot be disabled, that is reason for concern.
There's no way you're safer. You have to understand, there wasn't any mistake. ALL of the chip companies were told by the government, what they were going to do. They can't break encryption, it stays too far ahead of them. So they've stopped trying. Instead they just put in back doors, and bypass it entirely. Not only were all of these chipmakers told what to do, they were told if they talk about it, they're in big trouble. Not like it really matters because the information is out there (just like in this thread) but still, it would make the government look real bad if big tech was always talking about how they got told to put in security vulnerabilities. The good news is, there are some states that seem to be getting tired of this. There are some new bills coming up in Texas and California that are pretty pro privacy and anti scumbag when it comes to big tech and their constant spying. Hopefully they pass into law.

iirc there have been a few companies who have bypassed the gag order given to them by the government. I think apple was one of them. They had a web page where it said something like "Days passed since we were told help the government spy on our users: 0". Something like that, where they weren't technically breaking the law that was put into place to force them to comply with the government's spying wishes. Anyway if AMD is any "safer" its just because the particular backdoors haven't been found out yet. You can count on them being there, every bit as bad as intel. They're not going to go to such lengths with intel and the others, and then just conveniently forget about, and leave out AMD.

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
post #30 of 151 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 04:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,746
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post
It's being patched right now: https://techcrunch.com/2019/05/14/in...ches-released/

Performance hit won't be pretty.
Yes, they were working on the patch even before it was disclosed.

https://www.windowscentral.com/may-p...-security-flaw

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off