[Apple] Apple introduces first 8-core MacBook Pro, the fastest Mac notebook ever - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Apple] Apple introduces first 8-core MacBook Pro, the fastest Mac notebook ever

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 10:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,217
Rep: 858 (Unique: 627)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kpjoslee View Post
I have no idea which Intel CPU was used, could be any Intel CPUs after 2011. I am just going by their latest patch info.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210107
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210108
You have to go inside the terminal to enable full mitigation. No Inspectre like app.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 10:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
WiggleToes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 30
Rep: 16 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Are there any details what Intel cpu is used? If its Whiskey Lake then it is shielded.
Shielded from what? Whiskey Lake may have hardware fixes for Meltdown and Spectre but certainly is not shielded from all the new MDS just announced. And whilst there is microcode updates and OS updates to address some of the new MDS vulnerabilities, these alone will not inoculate you from attack. Disabling HT as well provides the best protection you can hope for. https://mdsattacks.com/ Has an FAQ half way down page. Worth a read.

And, fun fact: 9th-generation processors, despite their in-silicon mitigations for Meltdown, are ironically more vulnerable to some of the newly announced MDS attacks compared to older generation hardware!
WiggleToes is offline  
post #23 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 10:30 PM
Zen
 
Kpjoslee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Somewhere in US.
Posts: 1,023
Rep: 51 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
You have to go inside the terminal to enable full mitigation. No Inspectre like app.
Yeah...reason I said if you actually enable the full migration. Looking like band-aid solution atm.

My home PC
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7
GPU
EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 3600 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 1300W
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S TR4
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2711
Monitor
Samsung 55" 4k
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Denon AVR-X3300W
▲ hide details ▲
Kpjoslee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 10:33 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,003
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Avonosac View Post
Thank the ever-loving FSM. Touchscreens are disgusting, which could probably be overlooked if they didn't create so much cognitive dissonance, decreased productivity, and massive ergonomics problems at the same time.
What?

Everyone knows apple is avoiding touch screens on laptops because they are trying to protect their ipad sales. Hinder one product to prop up another, a very apple thing to do.

Touch screens add almost nothing to the cost. If you dont like it just don't touch it, problem solved. There is not reason no to include it as an option, other than to protect ipad sales.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti

Last edited by UltraMega; 05-22-2019 at 01:51 AM.
UltraMega is offline  
post #25 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 11:17 PM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,705
Rep: 436 (Unique: 300)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Until AMD brings full TB support (or apple switch TB3 to USB4), don’t expect ryzen in apple.
Also considering ryzen takes more power than intel, the throttling would be even worse.


Defoler is offline  
post #26 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 11:23 PM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,705
Rep: 436 (Unique: 300)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Aren't they the one complaining of a 40% hit in performance?

Intel is running out of fingers to cover the holes.
Fully fixing zombieload, requires removing HT. That would give 40% performance reduction to any intel CPU that uses HT. Not just apple.
But they put patches that reduced the potential of attacks without needing to remove HT by fixing it through the OS. They put the option to remove HT in case you want to.


Defoler is offline  
post #27 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 11:27 PM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,705
Rep: 436 (Unique: 300)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
Touch screens add almost nothing to the cost.
That is incorrect. MS spent a lot of money and time to make windows 8 fully compatible to touch over windows 7.
Even if physically it cost “almost nothing” (which I doubt) to add, it requires a lot of software changes that will cost money, a lot of it, to the OS.


Defoler is offline  
post #28 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 11:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,217
Rep: 858 (Unique: 627)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kpjoslee View Post
Yeah...reason I said if you actually enable the full migration. Looking like band-aid solution atm.
My wife has a 2013 MB Pro i want to replace with a new one. I think it only has a Dual core with HT. I may have to wait till Apple gets their own cpu.

Quote: Originally Posted by Defoler View Post
Until AMD brings full TB support (or apple switch TB3 to USB4), don’t expect ryzen in apple.
Also considering ryzen takes more power than intel, the throttling would be even worse.
I have a Ryzen 8 Core but only 65W TDP. Gaming does not use much. I'd imagine the mobile version whether intel or amd will behave like the desktop part. CPU Power Package show less than 40W. Not sure if that's accurate. That's Apex. Single fan on the cpu cooler only goes to around 800 rpm.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	35w.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	270798  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 05-21-2019 at 11:45 PM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #29 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 12:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 521
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
8c i9 with 5Ghz boost is Core i9-9980HK and it's upto 200W Chip!
@45W it can only run @2.7Ghz all core.
Look at the fallowing review with same CPU on Larger Gaming Laptop:
https://www.ultrabookreview.com/2721...g703gx-review/

Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
I have a Ryzen 8 Core but only 65W TDP. Gaming does not use much. I'd imagine the mobile version whether intel or amd will behave like the desktop part. CPU Power Package show less than 40W. Not sure if that's accurate. That's Apex. Single fan on the cpu cooler only goes to around 800 rpm.
Can you limit the power to 45W to see CB R15 score? the Core i9 8C gets ~1300pts @2.7Ghz, lets see how Ryzen handles it.
AMD already has 45W 8C and looks like it can operate higher then 2.7Ghz all core @45W!.
https://www.amd.com/en/products/cpu/amd-ryzen-7-2700e
It's only the limited Max boost clocks of GF 12nm that lets Intel to look better.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9980HK.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	638.0 KB
ID:	270800  


Last edited by Hwgeek; 05-22-2019 at 12:39 AM.
Hwgeek is offline  
post #30 of 39 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 12:21 AM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,705
Rep: 436 (Unique: 300)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
I have a Ryzen 8 Core but only 65W TDP. Gaming does not use much. I'd imagine the mobile version whether intel or amd will behave like the desktop part. CPU Power Package show less than 40W. Not sure if that's accurate. That's Apex. Single fan on the cpu cooler only goes to around 800 rpm.
Intel’s new top chip for the MacBook Pro is a 45W TDP chip, 2.4ghz-5.0ghz boost.
AMD’s equal performance package takes more power (of course performance depends on throttling. If AMD will throttle more, it will performance less, and vice versa).

And comparing your desktop chip which is not cramped up in a thin package and a miniature heatsink, is irrelevent. It’s like comparing a hyundai i30 and i10, and claiming that i30 is more comfortable. Well, duh.



Last edited by Defoler; 05-22-2019 at 12:26 AM.
Defoler is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off