[PRN] VESA Publishes DisplayPort 2.0 Video Standard - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[PRN] VESA Publishes DisplayPort 2.0 Video Standard

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,372
Rep: 520 (Unique: 359)
[PRN] VESA Publishes DisplayPort 2.0 Video Standard

https://www.prnewswire.com/news-rele...300875126.html





4K Full RGB 10-bit HDR at 240 Hz will be possible!

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 16GB 4600 MHz
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: LG C9 55" OLED
CallsignVega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 11:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nightbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 818
Rep: 36 (Unique: 25)
Looks good, projected first displays on market end of 2020 FYI
Nightbird is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 12:00 PM
RTX ON FPS OFF
 
anticommon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 879
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
1080P 960hz lets go

KRAKEN
(13 items)
CPU
9900k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA
RAM
Kingston HyperX Predator RGB
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200
Power Supply
EVGA SUPERNOVA G2
Cooling
EK Velocity Nickel-Plexi, EK Vector RTX Nickel-Plexi, EK EX360, Koolance 360mm, Enermax Neochanger
Case
Thermaltake A500
Operating System
W10 Premium
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Keyboard
Corsair LUX
Mouse
Logitech G502 Spectrum
Audio
Audiotechnica ATH-900X, SBX G5, MODMIC
▲ hide details ▲
anticommon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 12:34 PM
Otherworlder
 
epic1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,355
Rep: 217 (Unique: 125)
looks good, how about the maximum allowable cable length? i'd need at least 2meters for my floor-standing PC.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.
epic1337 is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 01:33 PM
Robocop is #1 movie ever
 
Dagamus NM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,136
Rep: 70 (Unique: 49)
This excites me. I don't need 240Hz 4K, but monitors that can do that should bring down the price of 144Hz 4K 4:4:4. What a time to be alive.

Ol' Dirty Bastard
(29 items)
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V edition 10
GPU
Titan X Pascal
GPU
Titan X Pascal
RAM
G.Skill Ripjawz 4 128GB 3200MHz C14 RGB
Hard Drive
Intel 730 series 480GB
Hard Drive
Intel 730 series 480GB
Hard Drive
Intel 6000P 1TB m.2
Hard Drive
WD Black 6TB
Optical Drive
Asus external BD DVD
Power Supply
eVGA 1600W P2
Cooling
EK RVE Edition 10 monoblock
Cooling
EK Titan X Pascal waterblocks with EK back plates
Cooling
Aquacomputer 420mm rad/res/pump combo
Cooling
Aquaero 6 Pro
Cooling
Aquacomputer 420mm rad
Cooling
Aquacomputer 420mm rad
Cooling
Aquacomputer 420mm rad
Cooling
Aquacomputer serial dual D5 pumps with bitspower top and mounts
Case
Caselabs s8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus pb287q
Monitor
Asus pb287q
Monitor
Asus pb287q
Keyboard
Microsoft Sculpt Wireless Ergonomic
Mouse
Logitech wireless trackball
Audio
Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100+
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Other
Logitech F710 wireless game pad
▲ hide details ▲
Dagamus NM is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 02:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,303
Rep: 338 (Unique: 248)
Im hoping for 3 meter cable length. 2m just isnt *quite* long enough for my desk.
That is some serious bandwidth though. Data rates of 20gbps per link is pretty crazy for such a "cheap" solution.

EniGma1987 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 02:18 PM
Otherworlder
 
epic1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,355
Rep: 217 (Unique: 125)
yeah 3meters would be good, i would be able to route the cable around the table instead of straight up, leaving less of the cable dangling.

trolling an adult is very dangerous, don't try it at home nor at work. you don't want to play tag with a rabid man.
epic1337 is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 03:40 PM
Dell Analyst
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by epic1337 View Post
looks good, how about the maximum allowable cable length? i'd need at least 2meters for my floor-standing PC.

It's well known that 1.8 meters is the longest you can reliably transfer video data without signal degradation. To transfer further than that you need a repeater. There are cables with repeaters built in but they get VERY expensive.

I am not an official representative of Dell. I do work for the company. I will not reveal private company information, I will not violate NDAs, and I will not give you any trade secrets. All posts are my personal opinion based on my anecdotal experience.
Dell_Analyst is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 03:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,883
Rep: 551 (Unique: 312)
this + confirmed HDMI2.1 consoles = more proof of my wait till 2021 drum that I've been banging for the last 2 years.

*twists stash, hits DMT, turns on joe rogan ohm'ing on repeat*

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 04:03 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,991
Rep: 339 (Unique: 240)
Just use optical cable already. Don't some TVs already do that? Connect their input box with the gigantic TV using a thin optical and a thin power cable.
JackCY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off