[TechSpot] Intel is prototyping PCIe 4.0 SSDs, but needs AMD CPUs to test them - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[TechSpot] Intel is prototyping PCIe 4.0 SSDs, but needs AMD CPUs to test them

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 09:00 AM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 7,600
Rep: 451 (Unique: 219)
Quote: Originally Posted by maltamonk View Post
I was under the impression that other manufacturers like Samsung already had this?
Probably. I was just being a huge nerd on purpose.

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
GPU
Gigabyte 2070 Super Windforce OC
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Vortex Race 3 RGB
Mouse
Glorious Odin
Mousepad
Gigabyte AMP500
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (Dekoni pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 09:06 AM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,946
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
Neat. Seems there is a market for the increased bandwidth on the server side of computing. And that is an enormous market if ever there was one.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?


speed_demon is offline  
post #13 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 09:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,654
Rep: 173 (Unique: 127)
Do any developers beyond Microsoft, Apple, and some of the larger server developers like Oracle and Amazon even need test samples for SSD's? I would think for those customers Intel could muster up complete test systems for them.


DNMock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 09:37 AM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 46,120
Rep: 1802 (Unique: 1176)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Source is wrong, IBM was the first to support PCIe 4.0 support.

Doesn't state what Intel uses for their internal testing. It only states that developers require PCIe 4.0 to take full advantage of the drives.



AMD still uses Intel processors to test their video cards and drivers so something about that sarcastic statement must be true.
They are slowly switching to Zen. I am sure they have to use Zen2 + X570 for Gen4 testing. 2-3 years ago they had no choice but to use Intel.

Yamato
(10 items)
Ishimura
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
GPU
AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Gamdias Chione M1A-280R
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #15 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 10:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 297
Rep: 18 (Unique: 12)
With the rumored new socket coming out, I don't see why Intel's next gen doesn't use PCI 4.0. I'm sure I speaking to the choir when I point out that Intel's stunted development and growth had nothing to do with their capability and everything to do with a lack of competition. These next 5 years will be interesting in the CPU market. I wish I could say the same for GPU's...

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case
StAndrew is offline  
post #16 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 04:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
crpcookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 186
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Ahhh Techspot aka HardwareUnboxed... where were they when AMD was using Intel CPUs to test out their Radeon cards? I pretty much unsubscribed to their channel months ago.
crpcookie is offline  
post #17 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 04:26 PM
Original 16-bit Genesis®
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: That gap between the couch cushion.
Posts: 1,695
Rep: 67 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
forecasters state memory ICs will be up 40% buy the end of the year, so inexpensive, at the moment, on the low end


Yeah, they're blaming it on super computer and data center upgrades.
Omega X is offline  
post #18 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-07-2020, 05:49 PM
Expert pin bender
 
dagget3450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,993
Rep: 160 (Unique: 92)
All the posts about " AMD used Intel CPUs to test video cards" are a weak rebuttal to this situation. They did that for performance numbers, not because they were behind in pcie specifications.

The irony here is Intel is on pcie 3.0 still..even new stuff releasing short term. Why are they developing pcie 4.0 ssds when they don't even have pcie4.0 platforms yet?

GPU i currently own: 390x/FuryX/Vega FE/RX Vega 64/RX 580 - CPUs: 5960x/R7 1700/X5650x2/E5 2863/e5 2670/R5 3600
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition Owner
dagget3450 is offline  
post #19 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-07-2020, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,762
Rep: 47 (Unique: 42)
Wait so Intel's 10 series won't even have pcie4? That seems kinda rediculous.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #20 of 44 (permalink) Old 01-07-2020, 07:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
m4fox90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 581
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
Wait so Intel's 10 series won't even have pcie4? That seems kinda rediculous.
Intel's 10 series has been out for a while.

Or did you mean their other 10 series?

Or the other one?

Or ... the other one?

Silence in the Snow
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
RTX 2080Ti Black Edition/Hydro Copper
RAM
G.Skill RipJaws V 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
2x WD 1 TB SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G3 1000W
Cooling
EK PE360 + Hardware Labs Black Ice GTS360
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Predator XB271HU
▲ hide details ▲
m4fox90 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off