[Phoronix] AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3990X Offers Incredible Linux Performance - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Phoronix] AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3990X Offers Incredible Linux Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 02:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nightingale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 825
Rep: 38 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by Aenra View Post
...aaah, the news section...

One person (finally?) grasps that workstation CPUs shouldn't be used on consumer-oriented 'normal' version OSes!
Another person compares a prosumer (of which Intel itself has an entire lineup, X299 being the current one) CPU with a server CPU so as to tell us the server CPUs have more options!

Seriously folks?
LOL , epic post. How do you pronounce your name?

Nightingale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 03:20 PM
Tetrapyloctomist
 
Aenra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,664
Rep: 44 (Unique: 27)
Quote: Originally Posted by Nightingale View Post
LOL , epic post. How do you pronounce your name?
Some pretty good name choosing you made there yourself if i may say so;

Enra i assume? Same way you'd pronounce the 'E' in 'Ezra'? My real name, you'd have a harder time pronouncing, lol, so a nickname was required

Pride, honour and purity.
Aenra is offline  
post #13 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 06:36 PM
Fantastic Mr Fox
 
randomizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,829
Rep: 175 (Unique: 120)
It's quite a beast. For casual use you wouldn't buy it over the 3970X but if your livelihood is dependent on rendering or encoding it's a no-brainer.

CPU
i7 920 D0
Motherboard
MSI X58 Pro-E
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 970 (GV-N970IX-4GD)
RAM
3x2GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
840 Pro
Hard Drive
Caviar Black
Optical Drive
LG BD-ROM
Power Supply
Corsair HX-520
Case
CM690
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Monitor
Dell U2713HM
Monitor
Dell U2311H
Keyboard
Turbo-Trak (Google it :D)
Mouse
Mionix Avior 7000
Mouse
Everglide Titan
Audio
AKG K 242 HD
▲ hide details ▲
randomizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 07:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 2,905
Rep: 252 (Unique: 201)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mad Pistol View Post
When your CPU has more cache than your first computer had RAM... blimey.
Haha... the 2700X already did that, and I was fairly late to the PC game compared to most of my age group.

Quote: Originally Posted by ozlay View Post
Hopefully ryzen 4000 will do AVX-512. But we will probably have to wait for 5000.
Yes, the only reason I have for even looking at Intel is AVX-512.

...

I would like Microsoft to stop playing tricks with core/thread limits on different versions of Windows and just go by physical sockets, but then I realise that I would never install Windows on a system with this CPU in it.

Sadly, to be really useful for my use case, it needs to support more RAM. It would be OK if I turned off SMT - just - but even then 8GB/core would be better than 4...


Paradigm Shifter is offline  
post #15 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 07:12 PM
BOINC Cruncher
 
Diffident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bawlmer, MD
Posts: 1,627
Rep: 101 (Unique: 68)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mad Pistol View Post
When your CPU has more cache than your first computer had RAM... blimey.

My first computer only had 640Kb of ram. I think it has more than my first 4 computers.

Team Boinc! - Forum Folding War Team
Gentoo Linux - Telemetry Free Since 1999!
Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Champions
Boinc Desktop
(15 items)
CrunchAholic
(10 items)
NAS
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
HyperX Predator
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVOPlus
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV PRO AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream XE 240 Radiator
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE 360 Radiator
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller 150mm Tube Res
Case
Thermaltake View 31 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Keyboard
Coolermaster Masterkeys Pro S
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2670
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard
Asrock Rack EP2C602
GPU
EVGA 1070ti FTW
GPU
EVGA 1070ti FTW
RAM
64 GBs Samsung M939B1K70CHD-CH9 PC3-10600R
Hard Drive
Samsung HD322HJ
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Case
Rosewill RSV-L4000
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
CPU
i3-4130T
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H97N-WIFI
RAM
CORSAIR CMX16GX3M2A1600C11
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 10 TB x3
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 8 TB
Case
Fractal Design Node 804
Operating System
Gentoo Linux
▲ hide details ▲


Diffident is offline  
post #16 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 07:32 PM
Zen
 
Kpjoslee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Somewhere in US.
Posts: 1,053
Rep: 51 (Unique: 33)
It should have supported RDIMM and LRDIMM. 64c core CPU being stuck with basically 256GB RAM really limits its potential.

My home PC
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7
GPU
EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 3600 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 1300W
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S TR4
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2711
Monitor
Samsung 55" 4k
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Denon AVR-X3300W
▲ hide details ▲
Kpjoslee is offline  
post #17 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 11:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AmericanLoco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 996
Rep: 112 (Unique: 70)
Quote: Originally Posted by Aenra View Post
...aaah, the news section...

One person (finally?) grasps that workstation CPUs shouldn't be used on consumer-oriented 'normal' version OSes!
Another person compares a prosumer (of which Intel itself has an entire lineup, X299 being the current one) CPU with a server CPU so as to tell us the server CPUs have more options!

Seriously folks?
...except that plain 'ol normal Ubuntu Linux handles it just fine. It really boggles the mind that Microsoft, a company that employs 148,000 people can't create a Kernel and Scheduler that matches the performance of a free operating system.
AmericanLoco is offline  
post #18 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-08-2020, 12:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 652
Rep: 15 (Unique: 13)
Why AMD themselves not mentioning that is recommenced to use Win10 Pro Workstation for 3990X? they are just nerfing their product with every one testing this CPU (beside Anand) with Win10Pro.

P.S: I don't get why some say that AMD is afraid 3990X will eat into Epyc..
Actually I think AMD makes more $$$ on 3990X then the single socket 64C Epyc that priced at $4700 7702P.
Think about it, no big OEM will pay more then 3K for 7702P while they order it in big numbers unlike 3990X that sold with no discount to us at $3990.
Maybe this explains why this launch is not paper launch like 3960X/3970X- look around, it's in stock every where :-).

Edit: Just looked at Kitguru's review and somehow their Win10 Pro[Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1903 and 1909 Update.] recognizes this CPU as 1 socket only while on Anand's it 2 socket when SMT enabled:

Anand:

Last edited by Hwgeek; 02-08-2020 at 02:07 AM.
Hwgeek is offline  
post #19 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-08-2020, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bmaxa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 66
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by ozlay View Post
Hopefully ryzen 4000 will do AVX-512. But we will probably have to wait for 5000.
avx 512 has no sense without faster RAM, or Intel would crash AMD on benchmarks.
bmaxa is offline  
post #20 of 39 (permalink) Old 02-08-2020, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,408
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
Is this the 1 priced at $4000 and beats intel's $20,000 chip ?

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off