[TechGage] Can’t Hit Memory XMP Speeds On AMD AM4? Try Hard Resetting The EFI - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[TechGage] Can’t Hit Memory XMP Speeds On AMD AM4? Try Hard Resetting The EFI

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2020, 02:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CDub07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Reidsville, NC
Posts: 1,204
Rep: 39 (Unique: 35)
I have swapped CPUs several times and I have never done a CMOS reset before or after and never had any issues( with running 3200MHz ram). I upgraded to Ryzen 9 3900X & 3600MHz ram and everything was good til a blue screen crashed and I was getting asus codes for unseated memory and something else related to memory. Long story short had to hold CMOS reset a few times and I upped the voltage to 1.4V and everything has been golden since. So would say its more of a memory thing than changing CPUs out. Also this is on a ROG Crosshair Hero VI which is already picky with high ram memory frequencies so AMD can definitely be a little more finicky to dial in max settings.

White Lightning
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X Processor
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero (WI-FI AC)
GPU
XFX AMD Radeon™ RX 5700 XT 8GB GDDR6 THICC II
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Neo Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL16-19-19-39
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD BLACK SN750 NVMe 500GB
Optical Drive
LG WH16NS40 Super Multi Blue 16x Blu-ray Disc
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2 Platinum
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML120L RGB AIO CPU Liquid Cooler
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterFan Pro 140 Air Flow RGB- 140mm High Air Flow RGB Case Fan, 3 In 1
Case
Cooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
AOC AGON AG273QCX 27" Curved Gaming Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
CDub07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-22-2020, 03:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ibb27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 262
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
I'm running Samsung b-die 3600MHz cl16 kit on suggested XMP settings at stock 1,35V (Ryzen 3800X on MSI B450M Mortar Max), no problems so far.
ibb27 is online now  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-23-2020, 10:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hueristic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bottom_Of_A_Bottle
Posts: 10,575
Rep: 433 (Unique: 289)
Quote: Originally Posted by CDub07 View Post
I have swapped CPUs several times and I have never done a CMOS reset before or after and never had any issues( with running 3200MHz ram). I upgraded to Ryzen 9 3900X & 3600MHz ram and everything was good til a blue screen crashed and I was getting asus codes for unseated memory and something else related to memory. Long story short had to hold CMOS reset a few times and I upped the voltage to 1.4V and everything has been golden since. So would say its more of a memory thing than changing CPUs out. Also this is on a ROG Crosshair Hero VI which is already picky with high ram memory frequencies so AMD can definitely be a little more finicky to dial in max settings.

You can change lanes without looking and get away with it for awhile but one of these days there's gonna be a truck there.

READ this thread before starting your first build!!!
ALWAYS power up a Mobo Before installing it! Consider Less than helpful posts as Free Bumps.
devil-smiley-019.gif¡¡¡ʍʇɟ qn1ɔ uoıʇɐıɔǝɹddɐ 939 ʇǝʞɔos ǝɥʇthumbsupsmiley.pngsozo.gifRetro Rulezsozo.gif

1.
If you can't afford to lose it don't mod or OC it.
2.
At least read the ENTIRE OP before commenting.

Semper Fi


Hueristic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2020, 06:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
delerious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 371
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Never had to do this on my Intel rigs and I'm even running a CPU in an unsupported socket.
Maybe it was just me, but I recall problems with memory on X99.

delerious is offline  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2020, 10:03 AM
BeardRobot
 
Joseph Mills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 23
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Mjolnir View Post
I went and tracked down Samsung B-die 3600 CL 15 ram kit for my 3700X/x570 build, labored over it, messed with the timings for what felt like forever, never got it to run at 3600 because I didn't want to crank the voltage much, but got it running at 3333 with some pretty tight timings and got the latency down far enough that I'm really happy with it.

Now, I'm suffering from the sunken cost fallacy and I refuse to go in and simply set the profile to XMP and see if it's better. Mine's better because I put too much work into it. Lol.

I have the same problem. I built my Ryzen 3800X/x570 system back in November, and settled on some 3200Mhz CL15 TridentZ B-die. I wrestled with the timings for HOURS. Finally was able to get it up to 3466Mhz C16. Anything higher than 3466Mhz, or tighter than CL16 is either unstable, or won't boot. I'm finding that G.Skill CL15 ram is nearly impossible to get high clocks out of. I was able to get my system to run 3533Mhz CL16 ONCE - saved the profile, and refused to boot ever again at that setting. Thought about starting a thread for those of us who settled for C15 B-die to compare notes.
Joseph Mills is offline  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2020, 09:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hueristic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bottom_Of_A_Bottle
Posts: 10,575
Rep: 433 (Unique: 289)
Quote: Originally Posted by delerious View Post
Maybe it was just me, but I recall problems with memory on X99.

He's just reiterating his sample size of one data set that it didn't happen to him so it can't happen on Intel spiel.

READ this thread before starting your first build!!!
ALWAYS power up a Mobo Before installing it! Consider Less than helpful posts as Free Bumps.
devil-smiley-019.gif¡¡¡ʍʇɟ qn1ɔ uoıʇɐıɔǝɹddɐ 939 ʇǝʞɔos ǝɥʇthumbsupsmiley.pngsozo.gifRetro Rulezsozo.gif

1.
If you can't afford to lose it don't mod or OC it.
2.
At least read the ENTIRE OP before commenting.

Semper Fi


Hueristic is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2020, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,354
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by delerious View Post
Maybe it was just me, but I recall problems with memory on X99.
There were memory bugs with X79 with certain boot straps while Haswell-E IMC sucked just like Zen 1. Nothing that magically allowed memory to run at the XMP speed after clearing the CMOS.

Any memory speed above the rated supported frequency by the CPU is considered overclocking.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-30-2020, 11:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CDub07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Reidsville, NC
Posts: 1,204
Rep: 39 (Unique: 35)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hueristic View Post
You can change lanes without looking and get away with it for awhile but one of these days there's gonna be a truck there.
That is very true. Also if Im not mistaken the BIOS already reset itself when you put in a new CPU(at least the Crosshair VI Hero does.)Everytime you put in a new CPU the setup is reset and you have to enter F1 anyways.

White Lightning
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X Processor
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero (WI-FI AC)
GPU
XFX AMD Radeon™ RX 5700 XT 8GB GDDR6 THICC II
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Neo Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL16-19-19-39
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD BLACK SN750 NVMe 500GB
Optical Drive
LG WH16NS40 Super Multi Blue 16x Blu-ray Disc
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-660XP2 Platinum
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML120L RGB AIO CPU Liquid Cooler
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterFan Pro 140 Air Flow RGB- 140mm High Air Flow RGB Case Fan, 3 In 1
Case
Cooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
AOC AGON AG273QCX 27" Curved Gaming Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
CDub07 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Tweetbix
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off