[TechGage] Can’t Hit Memory XMP Speeds On AMD AM4? Try Hard Resetting The EFI - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[TechGage] Can’t Hit Memory XMP Speeds On AMD AM4? Try Hard Resetting The EFI

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,354
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
[TechGage] Can’t Hit Memory XMP Speeds On AMD AM4? Try Hard Resetting The EFI

Source: https://techgage.com/news/cant-hit-m...ds-on-amd-am4/

Quote:
Since the launch of AMD’s third-gen Ryzen processors last summer, we’ve found ourselves running into a higher than the usual number of memory configuration issues on the AM4 / X570 platform. We’re not alone, as a simple Google search can reveal, and the worst of it is: we’ve found many users who’ve been running DDR4-2666 rather than their kit’s XMP, simply because the platform fights them.

In our case, it seems as though anytime we move from one 3000-series Ryzen CPU to another, we’ll almost certainly have to fight with the memory configuration to get it to apply properly. Over the weekend, while working on some Cinema 4D tests, we switched from one CPU to another, and the system absolutely refused to give us our desired speeds.

After spending an hour trying to secure our DDR4-3600 speeds, we finally clued in that hard reset of the EFI might be able to help, even though the constant barrage of soft resets didn’t. Sure enough – that fixed the problem for us. Once we reset the CMOS with the dedicated button on the motherboard, the system would finally apply the XMP without any issues.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 03:05 PM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,216
Rep: 120 (Unique: 88)
Interesting. I couldn't hit XMP speeds on my ASRock B350 board with my memory personally. Chalked it up to the weaker IMC on first gen Ryzen but that may not have been the culprit after all.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Desktop
(11 items)
CPU
Celeron G3930 eXtra Slow Edition
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K5
GPU
MSI R9 390
RAM
12GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX750M
Case
Fractal Define S
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5 Gen.1
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 03:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
anonjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 32
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Can confirm on my Asus x570 motherboard, something funky with these UEFIs , who is to blame ?
anonjoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 04:12 AM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,872
Rep: 439 (Unique: 303)
Quote: Originally Posted by anonjoe View Post
Can confirm on my Asus x570 motherboard, something funky with these UEFIs , who is to blame ?
Those UEFIs come from AMD. The motherboard manufacturers build their own UI and settings on top of them.


Defoler is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 05:19 AM
Spaghetti
 
Buris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,095
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
Read the title and thought "Try Harder"...

Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Can’t Hit Memory XMP Speeds On AMD AM4? Try Hard...

MARS
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G-Skill Sniper
Hard Drive
WD EMAZ001
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
Noctua U12A
Case
NZXT H500
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10
Operating System
Pop! OS
Monitor
BenQ XL2730z
Keyboard
Aukey Mechanical
Mouse
Mionix Castor
Mousepad
Aukey
Audio
PreSonus Eris E3.5
Audio
SennHeiser 598
Audio
Blue Yeti
▲ hide details ▲
Buris is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 05:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
treetops422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 553
Rep: 22 (Unique: 16)
Stick one ram into your mobo specified slot as the manual commands. Boot your computer. restart. shutdown. dual slot. win

Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Non XT Boost Core 2035 Gaming Ram 960 43c Air Water Hybrid Cardboard Blower with a 20$ chinese Waterblock on the core 50 gallon tote of water, Ryzen 3700x 4.25 ghz, 15$ chinese waterblock, same tote 3200 ddr3 cl16 Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF , B450m Asrock Pro 4 Mobo, 700 Watt OCZ PSU.
treetops422 is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-17-2020, 02:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oregon's Wild Rivers Coast
Posts: 3,293
Rep: 209 (Unique: 179)
I went and tracked down Samsung B-die 3600 CL 15 ram kit for my 3700X/x570 build, labored over it, messed with the timings for what felt like forever, never got it to run at 3600 because I didn't want to crank the voltage much, but got it running at 3333 with some pretty tight timings and got the latency down far enough that I'm really happy with it.

Now, I'm suffering from the sunken cost fallacy and I refuse to go in and simply set the profile to XMP and see if it's better. Mine's better because I put too much work into it. Lol.

The JEEP club O||||O

The Web puts all of the world's knowledge at our fingertips; unfortunately it's mixed up with all of the world's crap.
Mjolnir is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-17-2020, 05:02 PM
do not touch my butt
 
Caffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 250
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
It's just an AMD thing
Caffinator is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-18-2020, 08:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hueristic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bottom_Of_A_Bottle
Posts: 10,575
Rep: 433 (Unique: 289)
You should always do a hard cmos reset when changing cpu's, that is a n00b mistake they made.

READ this thread before starting your first build!!!
ALWAYS power up a Mobo Before installing it! Consider Less than helpful posts as Free Bumps.
devil-smiley-019.gif¡¡¡ʍʇɟ qn1ɔ uoıʇɐıɔǝɹddɐ 939 ʇǝʞɔos ǝɥʇthumbsupsmiley.pngsozo.gifRetro Rulezsozo.gif

1.
If you can't afford to lose it don't mod or OC it.
2.
At least read the ENTIRE OP before commenting.

Semper Fi


Hueristic is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-18-2020, 08:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hueristic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bottom_Of_A_Bottle
Posts: 10,575
Rep: 433 (Unique: 289)
Quote: Originally Posted by Caffinator View Post
It's just an AMD thing
No its not.

READ this thread before starting your first build!!!
ALWAYS power up a Mobo Before installing it! Consider Less than helpful posts as Free Bumps.
devil-smiley-019.gif¡¡¡ʍʇɟ qn1ɔ uoıʇɐıɔǝɹddɐ 939 ʇǝʞɔos ǝɥʇthumbsupsmiley.pngsozo.gifRetro Rulezsozo.gif

1.
If you can't afford to lose it don't mod or OC it.
2.
At least read the ENTIRE OP before commenting.

Semper Fi


Hueristic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off