[PCGamer] Zen 3 will only be compatible with 5xx-series motherboards - Page 18 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[PCGamer] Zen 3 will only be compatible with 5xx-series motherboards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #171 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 07:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 2,968
Rep: 255 (Unique: 203)
Quote: Originally Posted by VeritronX View Post
It's gamer's nexus.. the entire video is jam packed with info, most of it's new. Not everyone on youtube wastes your time you know.
That video is nearly 30 minutes long. I'll agree that GamersNexus is better than most YouTube influencers, but it's still 30 minutes long.

If I have time this evening, I'll watch it and try to make notes on how much is fact, how much is fluff, how much is new and how much has been reported elsewhere already. Just for my own curiosity, if nothing else.


Paradigm Shifter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #172 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-21-2020, 08:56 AM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,731
Quote: Originally Posted by Paradigm Shifter View Post
That video is nearly 30 minutes long. I'll agree that GamersNexus is better than most YouTube influencers, but it's still 30 minutes long.

If I have time this evening, I'll watch it and try to make notes on how much is fact, how much is fluff, how much is new and how much has been reported elsewhere already. Just for my own curiosity, if nothing else.
All the info, none of the video: https://www.anandtech.com/show/15807...0-motherboards


tictoc is online now  
post #173 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 07:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 2,968
Rep: 255 (Unique: 203)
Quote: Originally Posted by tictoc View Post
I can't rep you, but thanks!


Paradigm Shifter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #174 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 02:20 AM
Metokur Fan
 
kylzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Aberdeen Scotland.
Posts: 3,204
Rep: 166 (Unique: 125)
My A320 supports a 3950X

why couldn't it support a 4xxx series.

ha.

R.I.P Terry Davis


kylzer is offline  
post #175 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 02:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,739
Rep: 886 (Unique: 640)
Quote: Originally Posted by kylzer View Post
My A320 supports a 3950X

why couldn't it support a 4xxx series.

ha.
The R5 3600XT if true will be perfect for our A320. Mine currently has a R5 1600.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is online now  
post #176 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 08:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
chrisjames61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,324
Rep: 169 (Unique: 99)
Quote: Originally Posted by Paradigm Shifter View Post
Anywhere that doesn't give it in video form? I hate sitting through pointless waffle to get four or five bullet points.
The video has time stamps all over it. There is no reason to watch the whole video.

Ryzen- Too lazy to list everything. ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero- R5 1600, MSI Gaming Titanium- R5 2400G
chrisjames61 is offline  
post #177 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 05:54 PM
Linux Evangelist
 
Jarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,603
Rep: 187 (Unique: 149)
Honestly, this should annoy me a lot more than it does. Earlier this year I finally pulled the trigger on an Asrock X570 + 2600. The 2600 is a placeholder CPU until I can afford a 3950X, and I figure the new series launch ought to drop the price enough. But the rig it replaced was a 2011 socket AM3(not even an AM3+) mobo with first a tri-core, then a Athlon quad core, and finally a Black Edition 960T which is still installed, and I could have upgraded it again. I bought this X570 for the PCIE4 capability because I am absolutely planning to get a 2TB when Samsung releases their PCIE4 NVME's. But it looks like those days are over. Zen3 will probably be the last series on socket AM4. Then who knows?

I calculated the odds of this succeeding versus the odds I was doing something incredibly stupid... and I went ahead anyway.

If it's not coming out for the PC, it's dead to me.
Jarhead is offline  
post #178 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 08:53 PM
RIP OCN
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 645
Rep: 28 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jarhead View Post
Honestly, this should annoy me a lot more than it does. Earlier this year I finally pulled the trigger on an Asrock X570 + 2600. The 2600 is a placeholder CPU until I can afford a 3950X, and I figure the new series launch ought to drop the price enough. But the rig it replaced was a 2011 socket AM3(not even an AM3+) mobo with first a tri-core, then a Athlon quad core, and finally a Black Edition 960T which is still installed, and I could have upgraded it again. I bought this X570 for the PCIE4 capability because I am absolutely planning to get a 2TB when Samsung releases their PCIE4 NVME's. But it looks like those days are over. Zen3 will probably be the last series on socket AM4. Then who knows?

Don't be annoyed at all because the news is false.
https://www.pcgamesn.com/amd/zen-3-b...hipset-support
Quote:
"May 20, 2020 AMD has now announced that B450 and X470 chipsets WILL support AMD Ryzen 4000 processors. The story below is now incorrect given this new information."
anti-clockwize is offline  
post #179 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-27-2020, 12:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AVATARAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 75
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
This is so... predicted, first AMD said that will not support x400 mobo series and like last time with previous generation and now they will do the support.
This is just "free advertising" because everyone will talk about that.
But from other side this is ok because more people will hear about Ryzen.
AVATARAT is offline  
post #180 of 182 (permalink) Old 05-27-2020, 02:44 AM
Politically incorrect
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Soviet China... Oh wait..
Posts: 9,021
Rep: 629 (Unique: 307)
Obviously these chips didn't just fall from the sky and board makers must have been aware that AMD would release the 4xxx's on AM4, thus the only reason I can come up with for why they made 16MB and then 32MB boards is planned obsolescence. It's unknown what kind of BIOS size B550 board will ship with but I wouldn't be surprised if they come with 64MB and support all AM4 chips, which just shows that first and second gen boards were meant to be phased out as time goes by.

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by faraz1729 go_quote.gif
Haha, Liranan, you creep.

Tacitus - The more corrupt the state, the more numerous the laws

Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money. - Cree Indian Proverb
Liranan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (2 members and 2 guests)
rares495 , tiefox
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off