[ANANDTECH] DDR5 Memory Specification Released: Setting the Stage for DDR5-6400 And Beyond - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[ANANDTECH] DDR5 Memory Specification Released: Setting the Stage for DDR5-6400 And Beyond

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 06:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Leopardi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,656
Rep: 21 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
So is all DDR5 ram going to be ECC?

Sounds like DDR5 is too far out to wait for an upgrade for me.
Comes out next year, and the first units will not be any better than the good DDR4 right now and crazy expensive... yeah nope. I think my 4790K is old enough to warrant upgrade to a 4700X/4900X system and not wait for DDR5

Leopardi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 06:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,551
Rep: 348 (Unique: 257)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
Interesting. Is there a easy to understand reason why it's difficult to increase the internal clock?
As Epic1337 said. The way the capacitors are built the cells can only charge and discharge at a certain speed and that is the limiting factor. In order to increase internal memory clock either the capacitor materials would need to change or the way they are constructed would have to change.

EniGma1987 is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 06:47 AM
Rig Advisor
 
Avacado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,771
Rep: 109 (Unique: 81)
"Up to 2TB" Hey Zeus! Couldn't possibly imagine a rig with 2 TB of RAM...

23664 Time Spy https://www.3dmark.com/spy/13047865
[email protected] Stats https://folding.extremeoverclocking....e.php?u=207393
CPU
i9 9900k @5.1GHz 1.34v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A 1504 BIOS
GPU
Evga 2080 Ti Black Gamer +220 Core
GPU
Evga 2080 Ti Black Gamer +150 Core
RAM
4x8GB GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
2 x 1 TB Samsung EVO 970 Raid 0
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w G+
Cooling
EK CPU/GPU/RES
Cooling
2x aCool UT60 RADs
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL (White)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware 1900R 34.1" @ 120Hz
Keyboard
Loigitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G700s
▲ hide details ▲


Avacado is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 06:58 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,145
Rep: 364 (Unique: 261)
Oh well, maybe in year 3000 finally we will move on to a better RAM.
I guess once again latency will go into the garbage even more than DDR4 did without OCing the best of the best sky high.
JackCY is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 07:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zam15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 178
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hopefully I can keep my rig going for another 2-4 years. Don't really want to make an upgrade jump until I can do an across the board update. I already have 64GB of DDR4, don't want to re-buy this generation...

Hopefully by then we'll have 64 Core 5nm CPU, PCIE-5, USB-4, Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.2, 10GbE and 256GB of DDR5 all available on the same MOBO.
Zam15 is online now  
post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 08:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,757
Rep: 176 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by Avacado View Post
"Up to 2TB" Hey Zeus! Couldn't possibly imagine a rig with 2 TB of RAM...
I want to say some Epyc and Xeon systems can already do 2 TB of RAM. Something like 16 slots of ECC ram on the board though.


DNMock is offline  
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 09:49 AM
Rig Advisor
 
Avacado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,771
Rep: 109 (Unique: 81)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
I want to say some Epyc and Xeon systems can already do 2 TB of RAM. Something like 16 slots of ECC ram on the board though.
I know, I know, I am imagining 2TB in 2 slots in a consumer grade rig. Just trips me out.

23664 Time Spy https://www.3dmark.com/spy/13047865
[email protected] Stats https://folding.extremeoverclocking....e.php?u=207393
CPU
i9 9900k @5.1GHz 1.34v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A 1504 BIOS
GPU
Evga 2080 Ti Black Gamer +220 Core
GPU
Evga 2080 Ti Black Gamer +150 Core
RAM
4x8GB GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
2 x 1 TB Samsung EVO 970 Raid 0
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w G+
Cooling
EK CPU/GPU/RES
Cooling
2x aCool UT60 RADs
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL (White)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware 1900R 34.1" @ 120Hz
Keyboard
Loigitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G700s
▲ hide details ▲


Avacado is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 10:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wilts, U.K.
Posts: 3,660
Rep: 459 (Unique: 390)
I wonder if rowhammer is a permanent feature that can't be backed out of now and 5 will be hammered as easily as 3 and 4. I think it will be.


Darren9 is offline  
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 11:02 AM
WaterCooler
 
Sir Beregond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,257
Rep: 75 (Unique: 68)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
So is all DDR5 ram going to be ECC?

Sounds like DDR5 is too far out to wait for an upgrade for me.
Thinking the same since it will start in server and trickle down from there. I'm sure Zen 3 and DDR4 will be just fine of an upgrade for me.

Deus Ex (2015-)
(21 items)
CPU
[Intel] Core i7-4790k
Motherboard
[ASUS] Z97-DELUXE
GPU
[ASUS] GTX 980 Strix
RAM
[Corsair] Vengance Pro Series 16GB DDR3-2400
Hard Drive
[Crucial] M550 512GB
Hard Drive
[WD] Black 3TB x 2
Power Supply
[Corsair] AX750
Cooling
[EK] Supremacy EVO - Gold
Cooling
[EK] GTX 980 Strix - Fullcover w/ Backplate
Cooling
[EK] D5 X-RES Top 100 w/ D5 Vario
Cooling
[Monsoon] 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Compressions - Gold
Cooling
[XSPC] EX240 x 2
Cooling
[Corsair] SP120 x 5 / AF120 x 1
Case
[Corsair] Carbide Air 540
Operating System
[Windows] 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Monitor
[LG] 32GK650F-B
Keyboard
[Corsair] K70 - Red switches
Mouse
[Razer] Naga Epic
Audio
[Audio Technica] ATH-A700
Audio
[Antlion] ModMic
Other
[Lamptron] FC5-V2
CPU
[Intel] Core i7-960
Motherboard
[ASUS] Rampage III Formula
GPU
[EVGA] GTX 670 FTW 2GB
RAM
[Corsair] Dominator-GT 6GB DDR3-1866
Hard Drive
[Crucial] M4 128GB
Hard Drive
[Samsung] Spinpoint F3 1TB x2
Hard Drive
[WD] Caviar Black 750GB
Power Supply
[Corsair] AX850
Cooling
[XSPC] Raystorm
Cooling
[XSPC] EX360 and EX240
Cooling
[Scythe] Gentle Typhoon AP-15 x 5
Cooling
[EVGA] GTX 680 Hydro Copper w/ Backplate
Cooling
[XSPC] Dual-bay Res w/ [Swiftech] MCP655
Cooling
[Bitfenix] Spectre Pro Red LED - 140mm x 4
Case
[NZXT] Switch 810 Matte Black
Operating System
[Windows] 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Monitor
[BenQ] XL2420TX
Keyboard
[Saitek] Cyborg V.5 Red LED
Mouse
[Razer] Naga Epic Red LED
Audio
[Audio Technica] ATH-A700
Audio
[ASUS] Xonar Essence STX
Other
[Lamptron] FC5-V2
CPU
[Intel] Core M-5Y10
GPU
[Intel] HD Graphics 5300
RAM
[Generic?] 8 GB DDR3
Hard Drive
[Generic?] 256GB SSD
Operating System
[Microsoft] Windows 10
Monitor
1920 x 1080
▲ hide details ▲


Sir Beregond is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 01:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
clonxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 331
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by EniGma1987 View Post
"10000mhz", aka 5GHz DDR, aka still on the same old 200mhz internal memory clock still.
Wonder when they will stop just increasing prefetch each generation and actually get a clock speed bump. Then we could actually get higher speed without having to go a lot higher again on the column strobe latency. If all they want to continue to do is double the prefetch each time then jedec should just jump to 128n now and stop wasting everyones time.


edit: Ha. Well at least Anand writers arent completely stupid either and at least tried to point out the elephant in the room:
Can you explain the 10000mhz aka 5ghz ddr? I always thought 1,000 mhz == 1ghz so 10,000 == 10ghz
clonxy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off