[Anandtech] At last, A 2.5Gbps Consumer Network Switch - Qnap's New 5 Port Switch - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Anandtech] At last, A 2.5Gbps Consumer Network Switch - Qnap's New 5 Port Switch

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
LTSC for life crew
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,732
Rep: 158 (Unique: 108)
[Anandtech] At last, A 2.5Gbps Consumer Network Switch - Qnap's New 5 Port Switch

Quote:
After entirely too long of a delay, the wait for faster consumer-grade network switches appears to be coming to an end. This week QNAP launched its QSW-1105-5T switch, one of the industry’s first unmanaged 2.5Gbps (2.5GBASE-T) switches. The 5-port switch supports 2.5GbE operation on all five of its RJ45 Ethernet ports, and along with being unmanaged it is also fanless, allowing the switch to work maintenance-free and installed virtually anywhere. The QSW-1105-5T is already on sale in Taiwan for roughly $100, meaning that we’re looking at a price-per-port of about $20.
Source - https://www.anandtech.com/show/15916...t-5port-switch

CPU
Ryzen 1600 AF
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI R9 390 8GB
RAM
16GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 (2017)
Cooling
Thermalright True Spirit 140
Case
Fractal Define S
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSC
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 05:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Section31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,097
Rep: 39 (Unique: 18)
I thought the difference between 1GBE and 2.5GBE was not significant upgrade. I have seen 10GBE managed switches come down a lot in price over last year and wouldn't that be better options since it can support 5GBE/10GBE.

The Ever Ongoing Build. 3950X. X570 Hero VIII, 32GB GSkill Trident Z 4000mhz, Seasonic Prime Titanium 1000Watt, 1TB 960 Pro, 1TB WD SN750.
Section31 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 06:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,237
Rep: 129 (Unique: 97)
Looks interesting. Will be interested in trying it out.

The main thing is, however, no decent ISP in the US provides more than 1Gbps up & down - and that too very inconsistently - for home users. Of course, huge companies can have 10Gbps (or even 100Gbps) but that's irrelevant here.

Xfinity Gigabit "Pro" is the only option for 2.5Gbps up/down but that's available in like 5 cities in the entire US.
Baasha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
LTSC for life crew
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,732
Rep: 158 (Unique: 108)
The real benefit here is on your LAN, specifically data from your PC to a NAS is going to see improvement over gigabit. Many of us with homelabs are already moving to 5 gig or 10 gigabit and the difference is pretty significant there too. Faster is better, who'da thunk it haha.

CPU
Ryzen 1600 AF
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI R9 390 8GB
RAM
16GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 (2017)
Cooling
Thermalright True Spirit 140
Case
Fractal Define S
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSC
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 06:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Section31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,097
Rep: 39 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
The real benefit here is on your LAN, specifically data from your PC to a NAS is going to see improvement over gigabit. Many of us with homelabs are already moving to 5 gig or 10 gigabit and the difference is pretty significant there too. Faster is better, who'da thunk it haha.
That's my plan to. Move my house network up to 5GBE/10GBE down the road. It's going to involve combo of Wifi6 and 10GBE switches placed at various locations in the house. If the economy improves, I would love to build an new home and make it 40GBE ready.

The Ever Ongoing Build. 3950X. X570 Hero VIII, 32GB GSkill Trident Z 4000mhz, Seasonic Prime Titanium 1000Watt, 1TB 960 Pro, 1TB WD SN750.
Section31 is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 07:06 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,145
Rep: 364 (Unique: 261)
Don't new motherboards come with 10 Gb networking? I would definitely be looking into 10 not 2.5 or 5 unless they are considerably cheaper, which to me it seems they are not.
JackCY is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-27-2020, 07:48 PM
Politically incorrect
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Soviet China... Oh wait..
Posts: 9,158
Rep: 633 (Unique: 309)
I will happily continue to use my 1Gb router until prices come down to a reasonable level, there is no need for 2.5 or 5Gb switches to be this expensive but they are, which is what hampers their adoption and for a home user 1Gb is still good enough.

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by faraz1729 go_quote.gif
Haha, Liranan, you creep.

Tacitus - The more corrupt the state, the more numerous the laws

Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money. - Cree Indian Proverb
Liranan is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-28-2020, 05:15 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,917
Rep: 289 (Unique: 227)
If only it had 2 uplinks with load balancing.

Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-28-2020, 07:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Elyminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frisco, Texas
Posts: 951
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by Section31 View Post
I thought the difference between 1GBE and 2.5GBE was not significant upgrade. I have seen 10GBE managed switches come down a lot in price over last year and wouldn't that be better options since it can support 5GBE/10GBE.
The big thing with 2.5 is that it will run on cat5 and doesn't require running all new cabled through the house for most people.
Elyminator is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-28-2020, 04:37 PM
Eastern Bloc Electronics
 
Pawelr98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Poland, Bydgoszcz
Posts: 1,584
Rep: 58 (Unique: 48)
I will be keeping an eye on this.

I installed Cat6 wiring especially for future upgrades.
2.5Gbit cards are not really expensive, unlike the 10Gbit.
On Aliexpress a brand new 2.5Gbit card using PCIE is under 20USD.
All of them use Realtek RTL8125, which is a cheap 2.5Gbit capable controller.

And 2.5Gbit is a noticeable improvement as you push more than double than 1Gbit.
For transfering or reading stuff over network it will save time.

Linus did a video on 2.5Gbit.

2.5Gbit will run on Cat 5E though.

Even the fastest pc in the world cannot beat imagination.
Spoiler!
CPU
i7 [email protected]@1.325V 2.05V input
Motherboard
Asrock X99 Extreme 4
GPU
Sapphire R9 290X [Uber Mode]
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT240 GDDR5 512MB [PhysX + analog output]
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 2400mhz 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB[OS]
Hard Drive
WD Red 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840EVO 120GB[Arma 3]
Power Supply
Cooler Master Real Power 850w
Cooling
Koolance 380A [modded for LGA2011v3]
Cooling
MCP655 with Alphacool HF acetal top [5th gear]
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm rad [antec tri-speed]
Cooling
Black Water Ultimate 123 [3x Corsair AF120 Performance Edition]
Cooling
Feser 10/13 UV Tubing
Cooling
Alphacool CKC clear
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm Rad [Corsair SP120 High Performance Edition]
Cooling
Alphacool GPX-A 290 [290X waterblock]
Case
Cooler Master Haf 932 Amd Edition
Operating System
Windows 7 Ulitimate 64 bit
Monitor
LG 29EA93 [2560x1080]
Monitor
Samsung SMB2030N [1600x900]
Monitor
LG L1715S [1280x1024]
Monitor
DIY display on V59 controller[[email protected]]
Keyboard
4Tech X7 G800
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Mouse 4000
Audio
Superlux hd681
Audio
FiiO E07K
Audio
SoundMax Superbeam [bundled with P5B DLX]
Other
Scythe Kaze Master Pro 6 chanell
Other
2x Sharkoon 30cm red cold cathodes
Other
2x Revoltec 10cm UV cold cathodes
CPU
Athlon II X2 250 @2GHZ @1core
Motherboard
Gigabyte 870A-USB3
GPU
Ati X600 128MB
RAM
GoodRam 4gb 1333mhz
Hard Drive
Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
Hard Drive
6x Hitachi 2TB (RAID 6)
Hard Drive
Samsung 40gb[OS]
Hard Drive
2x160GB RAID 1
Power Supply
Pentagram Silent Force 460W
Operating System
Debian 8.2.0 x64
Other
Ever Eco Pro 700 CDS [UPS]
Other
Edimax EW-7318USg [Access Point]
▲ hide details ▲
Pawelr98 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off