[icrontic] Leaked 7970 Bios turns your card into a Ghz edition! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[icrontic] Leaked 7970 Bios turns your card into a Ghz edition!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,458
Rep: 1555 (Unique: 1017)
Quote:
•A higher GPU clockspeed of 1000MHz, up from the 7970′s 925MHz.
•A higher memory clockspeed of 1500MHz, up from the 7970′s 1375MHz.
•And PowerTune’s new “Boost” feature, which allows the graphics to dynamically overclock itself up to 1050MHz if the GPU has thermal headroom
Source and download found here: http://icrontic.com/article/leaked-bios-easily-turns-radeon-hd-7970-into-ghz-edition


Not much point though. You can adjust the properties in CCC.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
3930K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Leeds, UK.
Posts: 6,097
Rep: 157 (Unique: 115)
The boost is not possible with normal 7970s tho.

Upgrades which are in consideration: U2713HM | Samsung 830 256GB | Keycaps | Sleeving | AX1200i
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Vanelay go_quote.gif

The blue LEDs make it run cooler.
You should also get some Apple stickers so it won't get viruses, an Alienware logo so it can play games amazingly and some Razer gear so everyone knows you are totally 1337.


3930K is offline  
post #3 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,458
Rep: 1555 (Unique: 1017)
Am just presenting what I've found. Maybe this bios is the real deal?

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nocturin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Somewhere OverThe Rainbow
Posts: 5,956
Rep: 153 (Unique: 126)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3930K View Post

The boost is not possible with normal 7970s tho.

It's not?

I would've figured that is a software control, not a hardware one...headscratch.gif

Currently on Hiatus
1nf3ction is a BOSS!
BF3 id: Nocturin3
Disclaimer: IMHO; If you take it otherwise, your doing it wrong.
#OccupyAMD

Warnig: lulz (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by axipher go_quote.gif

That's a good questions, my 3 female room mates use the bathroom upstairs, I just use the shower downstairs, we might have to use the trunk of my car instead, I know that's sterile and has rubber mats and walls in it haha.
Also, more updates biggrin.gif We need to keep this thread somewhat on topic haha.
Quote:
Originally Posted by srsdude go_quote.gif

Yo dawg I heard you like computers in computers so we put a computer in your computer so you can use your computer while...thumb.gif
go_quote.gif

Nocturin is offline  
post #5 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:20 AM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,086
Rep: 3134 (Unique: 1869)
There is apparently an "improved" current sensor that powertune uses on the GHz Edition, but other than that and some possible binning, the cards are physically identical and should be able to use eachother's BIOSes without issue. Boost is apparently possible on the old cards as well, not that it would matter to most OCers.

Shouldn't need any specially leaked BIOS, just any BIOS from any 7970 GHz Edition that is from a card with the same PCB.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
post #6 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:21 AM
Retired Staff
 
xxbassplayerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 21,142
Rep: 610 (Unique: 438)
This just in: Any overclocking software turns your 7970 into a GHz Edition!



But seriously... I'm interested in the dynamic overclocking.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><b><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1566371/"><span style="font-size: 12px;">I'M BACK! NEW LN2 INSIDE 7/24/15!</span></a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><br></b><span></span><div style="text-align:center;"><b><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/dry-ice-liquid-nitrogen/1123121-first-amd-venture.html"><span style="font-size:10px;">Subzero AMD Fun</span></a><span style="font-size: 12px;"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/overclock-net-related-news-information/1108498-august-ice-summary-results-pictures-prize.html">August Ice</a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></span></b></div><span></span><div style="text-align:center;"><b><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/overclock-net-hwbot-team/772955-hwbot-explained.html#post9951028"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><span><span>HW</span>Bot Explained</span></span></a><span style="font-size: 12px;"><span><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></span></span></b><b><span><span style="font-size: 12px;">Join OCN's <a href="https://www.overclock.net/overclock-net-hwbot-team/"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><span>HW</span>Bot<img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></a> team!</span></span></b></div><span></span><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;t=1082747"><b>6GHz + Elite Overclock Club</b></a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/dry-ice-liquid-nitrogen/1087013-start-subzero-cooling-under-200-a.html"><b>Start Subzero Overclocking for Under $200!</b></a><img alt="post-flame-small.gif" src="/images/smilies/post-flame-small.gif"></div><span></span></div></div></div>


xxbassplayerxx is offline  
post #7 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jomama22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,464
Rep: 107 (Unique: 81)
i would be wary of this as he says the ghz edition has different sensors for powertune.....when there are no sensors for powertune....DTE is what controls powertune and is merely an algorithm that takes temp, voltage, fan speed and core clock all into account....not some sensor. Also, the newest powertune DTE is included in 12.7 and beyond and works with old cards (this is from AMDs mouth).

So who is going to be the guinea pig?
jomama22 is offline  
post #8 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
3930K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Leeds, UK.
Posts: 6,097
Rep: 157 (Unique: 115)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturin View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3930K View Post

The boost is not possible with normal 7970s tho.

It's not?

I would've figured that is a software control, not a hardware one...headscratch.gif
It's probably some kind of if this bios string matches this string then unlock dynamic OC.

Upgrades which are in consideration: U2713HM | Samsung 830 256GB | Keycaps | Sleeving | AX1200i
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Vanelay go_quote.gif

The blue LEDs make it run cooler.
You should also get some Apple stickers so it won't get viruses, an Alienware logo so it can play games amazingly and some Razer gear so everyone knows you are totally 1337.


3930K is offline  
post #9 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jomama22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,464
Rep: 107 (Unique: 81)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blameless View Post

There is apparently an "improved" current sensor that powertune uses on the GHz Edition, but other than that and some possible binning, the cards are physically identical and should be able to use eachother's BIOSes without issue. Boost is apparently possible on the old cards as well, not that it would matter to most OCers.
Shouldn't need any specially leaked BIOS, just any BIOS from any 7970 GHz Edition that is from a card with the same PCB.

Just ripping a bios from a ghz edition and putting it on a 7970 does not work. It has been tried by numerous websites (toms, anantech, etc.) when they review the ghz cards. that is why i am suspicious of this...doesn't seem like the guy even tried this as you would think he would post some screenies (i mean if you know how to put a bios on a 7970, then you should be smart enough to post some before and after)
jomama22 is offline  
post #10 of 137 (permalink) Old 07-10-2012, 09:35 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 829
Rep: 165 (Unique: 132)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jomama22 View Post

i would be wary of this as he says the ghz edition has different sensors for powertune.....when there are no sensors for powertune....DTE is what controls powertune and is merely an algorithm that takes temp, voltage, fan speed and core clock all into account....not some sensor. Also, the newest powertune DTE is included in 12.7 and beyond and works with old cards (this is from AMDs mouth).

So who is going to be the guinea pig?

Incorrect. There is physical silicon on the ASIC that handles PowerTune. Yes it uses digital thermal estimation, but that's a pretty heavy simplification of how PowerTune really functions--I can't say more than that.

If you have an issue with Catalyst, please do me a favor submit it to THIS FORM.
Thracks is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off