[NVIDIA] Geforce 417.71 (GSYNC compatible monitor drivers) - Page 9 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[NVIDIA] Geforce 417.71 (GSYNC compatible monitor drivers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #81 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-20-2019, 11:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,345
Rep: 111 (Unique: 72)
Quote: Originally Posted by Notty View Post
Be aware this Gsync is very imprecise. Usually on Gsync monitors you want to cap your framerate 3 fps lower than the refresh rate of your monitor, so you don´t hit the Gsync ceilling wich causes either:

- Input Lag
- Tearing Line

With the Gsync on this driver, on FreeSync monitors, doesn´t matter if validated or not, you will hit the ceilling constantly even at 141fps cap on a 144hz monitor, for example, wich breaks all the benefits of Gsync. At 120fps cap (on a 144hz monitor) you are safe and it barely hits the ceilling. So if you want the best possible experience cap it to 120fps.

Cheers
This has always been true with free-sync on AMD card. My monitor has 35-90Hz range, and I found out that I have to limit fps to 84 in rivatuner to never jump outside the range. But you can turn on v-sync and it will work flawlessly to 90 FPS. On top of that you have enhanced sync (and it's NVidia equivalent). Or you don't even need to use v-sync with enhanced sync, it will work fine.

I suspect on a 144Hz monitor, you will probably be fine with 130 FP frame limiter, but it's not hard to try and find out.

AMD
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Cooling
Corsair H115i PLATINUM
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-21-2019, 07:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ghilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lancashire Chorley, Uk
Posts: 305
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Wait What! Nvidia just released a gamer orientated product /software for Free! where's all the haters at ?.

running a Rog swift myself with GYSNC built in, but my Iiyama screen runs free-sych. is there an active list of compatible monitors?

Ghilly is offline  
post #83 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-21-2019, 10:13 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,579
Rep: 352 (Unique: 250)
No reliable user list I know of. It takes quite a bit of effort to test adaptive sync correctly and also time to make a database from any user reports that is worth a damn.
Nvidia only lists a few of their "compatible" monitors that passed some of their unknown internal testing but many monitors work fine although there are still quirks and issues with the driver to deal correctly with activation of adaptive sync on all monitors.

With 144Hz+ you can run Vsync since the lag is smaller but at best you will still want to use Fast/Enhanced sync instead if you want no tearing above VRR range.
JackCY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #84 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-21-2019, 06:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rkinslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WILMINGTON DELAWARE
Posts: 64
Rep: 0
This monitor works fine Acer ED242QR 23.6" Full HD 144Hz DVI HDMI DP FreeSync Curved Gaming LED Monitor
rkinslo is offline  
post #85 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 01:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pendulum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,365
Rep: 53 (Unique: 47)
I fixed the weird stuttering / ghosting issue with my system regarding G-Sync recently. I've always done a normal clean install with all my drivers and never had an issue until this one.
Reinstalled the drivers twice, still bugging out in all my games. I went ahead and wiped out every Nvidia file in my system along with Afterburner and did a fresh install without it happening at all in 4 days. No game settings or Nvidia control panel changes were made.

The only annoyance I've found with the drivers / monitor I'm using is in CS (the only game experiencing this) is that when I exceed or drop below 144 FPS I'm experiencing a small stutter, enough to miss multiple shots. Capped FPS to 144, zero issues since.

Since those minor issues have been corrected it's been flawless in the ~20 games I have currently have installed.

Perpetual
(12 items)
CPU
9900K 5.0GHz
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z390-E
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Super FTW3 Hydro Copper 2145/9151
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W
Cooling
HWLabs Nemesis 360GTX, D5/Photon 170 res, EK fittings & CPU block
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Monitor
LG 34UC79G, 144Hz, G-Sync
Keyboard
Corsair K95 LUX
Mouse
Glorious Model O
Mousepad
Steelseries QcK Prism XL
Audio
ATH-M50x
▲ hide details ▲
Pendulum is offline  
post #86 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 02:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
etre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Dell AW2518HF here, 240Hz monitor. Finally got a good DP cable. Is supplied with a hdmi 2.0 cable.

It is correctly identified by nvidia drivers and g-sync enabled by default.
Seems to work well also, even after I had to modify the resolution with cru (for reason of ghosting on normal speed, the timings calculated by cru work flawless on fast)
etre is offline  
post #87 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-26-2019, 11:46 AM
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,731
Rep: 251 (Unique: 214)
Anyone having any issues of their screen going black? Just for a second like a screen refresh? I have never seen this with my gpu or monitor, only thing I can think of is I updated the driver and turned on freesync.

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
Sapphire Reference RX 5700
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
post #88 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-26-2019, 12:05 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,764
Rep: 287 (Unique: 227)
Quote: Originally Posted by looniam View Post
i really don't know why maxwell is out in the cold. i don't have a complete understanding of all the DP 1.2,1.2a,1.3, 1.4 or HDMI 2.0,2.1 specs. i remember flashing the firmware to handle DP 1.3/1.4 comparability for HDR along with 1080s. and not understanding how/why an HDMI 2.0/2.1 difference affects the DP shows a lack of understanding on my part.
That was a feature/fix patch. It did not add any bandwidth. Basically it made it possible to plug a DP 1.3/1.4 monitor into maxwell's DP 1.2 port. And use them with a reduced resolution and such. Before the patch they would blackscreen instead of switching to a lower DP 1.2 setting.

Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
post #89 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-26-2019, 02:12 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,970
Rep: 814 (Unique: 459)
Quote: Originally Posted by ozlay View Post
That was a feature/fix patch. It did not add any bandwidth. Basically it made it possible to plug a DP 1.3/1.4 monitor into maxwell's DP 1.2 port. And use them with a reduced resolution and such. Before the patch they would blackscreen instead of switching to a lower DP 1.2 setting.
yeah, i have since read on geforce forums manual's replay of fixing a V_BLANK issue and such. and then (re)found anantech's deep dive that NV did change the display controller on pascal so. . .

thanks for the reply.

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
post #90 of 119 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 04:00 AM
Hardware Princess
 
Hydroplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 1,848
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
So does this mean Freesync will work on a 1080 Ti ?

CHILLER DESTRUCTION
Build Log - White Voodoo
basic linux pc
(15 items)
Z390 Station
(11 items)
CPU
7980XE @ 4.3 GHz 1.10v
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Apex
GPU
2 x Aorus Waterforce WB 1080 Ti @ 2037/6318
RAM
Trident Z 16gb 3200c14 @ 3800c16 1.50V (the other two sticks were sacrificed)
Hard Drive
960 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 T2
Cooling
HWLabs GTR 420+280 Rads
Cooling
7 x Noctua Industrial 140mm 3000 RPM Fans
Cooling
EK D5 Pump/Res (with RGB!)
Case
LD Cooling PC-V7
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.6
Monitor
NEC PA271W
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
Mouse
Logitech M510
Mousepad
anime tiddy mousepad
CPU
9900K @ 5.4 1.50v
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Titan RTX 2085/8500
RAM
Trident Z 3200c14 @ 4600c20 1.5v
Hard Drive
970 Evo Plus 250gb
Power Supply
silverstone 1200 from 2008 (other one exploded)
Cooling
HWLabs GTX 360 Rad (in RED)
Cooling
3x EK Vader 120mm 2200rpm Fans
Case
Dimastech Test Bench
Monitor
AOC Agon AG251FZ 240Hz
Audio
Built-in Monitor Speakers (3 watt)
CPU
Dual Intel Xeon L5520 2.26 GHz
RAM
48 GB Samsung DDR3-1066
Hard Drive
120 GB Samsung 750 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
2 TB Western Digital Green
Hard Drive
2 TB Hitachi 7200 RPM
Power Supply
650W Delta PSU
Case
1U Rackmount
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲
Hydroplane is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off