[Phoronix]Quake 2 now has real-time path tracing with Vulkan - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Phoronix]Quake 2 now has real-time path tracing with Vulkan

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-24-2019, 06:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
littledonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,483
Rep: 75 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by CelticGamer View Post
Been playing around with the Quake demo on my RTX 2080 the last few days.

Question. Are the RTX's Tensor cores actually being utilized here, the same as they are in something like Port Royal? Or is there some kind of "trickery" going on to get the game running on the RTX cards?
RTX is a combination of RT cores and tensor cores for deep learning applications. Q2 uses RT cores for path tracing and tensor cores for a denoiser algorithm to clean up the path tracing output.

littledonny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-25-2019, 01:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ILoveHighDPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,295
Rep: 133 (Unique: 84)
Hang on a second.
I just realized that there's something incredibly ironic with people saying they just want high quality Ray Tracing, but they don't care about resolution.

Remember this video?
Eventually he goes on to demonstrate that "High Quality" Ray Tracing (Path Tracing in this video) uses Thousands of Samples Per Pixel...
That is exactly the same thing as running "One Sample Per Pixel" at 64K Screen Resolution or something ridiculously high like that.
As noted in the video there is of course "Diminishing Returns", but the example given is 50 Samples Per Pixel, you only need 16 Samples to hit Native 8K (the video is 1080p so I'm assuming 1SPP=1920x1080 resolution).
If pure Ray Traced games ever become a thing, "Quality" and "Resolution" will be exactly the same setting.

Basically it's inevitable that eventually there will be zero added computational cost in moving to nearly any resolution you could imagine.
ILoveHighDPI is offline  
post #43 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 02:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kevinf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,805
Rep: 66 (Unique: 59)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
RTX is just a platform which inside has DxR nVidia enhanced libraries, VKRay(GPU Agnostic) Vulkan extensions, and OptiX(nVidia's API.) We'll see if AMD adopts VKRay but I doubt they will.

A developer can do what ever they want with the platform and Microsoft's DxR is a hybrid ray tracing method also. We are no where near the compute power of having current generation games with full Ray Tracing let alone Path Tracing. If you guys notice in Battlefield V the option is called "DXR Enabled" since AMD cards will also be able to enable DxR once AMD either releases driver support for Vega or wait until they have the hardware to run DxR. RTX just has enhanced libraries to make use of their RT cores.
I believe the big issue was Nvidia primarily came up with the DxR proposal to Microsoft, so it performed poorly on AMD hardware due to specific rendering path / calls used.

typer.gifecho "The `uname` Club"typer.gif

Steam profile Hit me up for some fun gaming TF2, L4D2, HL2DM, Unreal 2k4
kevinf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 03:16 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,767
Rep: 180 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by kevinf View Post
I believe the big issue was Nvidia primarily came up with the DxR proposal to Microsoft, so it performed poorly on AMD hardware due to specific rendering path / calls used.
I doubt it, Hybrid Ray tracing methods have been around for years. AMD already confirmed they are closely collaborating with Microsoft to define, refine and support the future of DirectX12 and ray tracing. Their own current hardware hybrid ray tracing demos run at low resolutions with low frame rates using Radeon Rays. They have the software down they are lacking the hardware.

nVidia is purely a graphics company that just throws money at making amazing GPUs. While AMD is focusing on making money and they means they have to sacrifice some markets to work on the profitable ones. The high end GPU market isn't profitable which is why they focus on the mid range which is profitable.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1218mV
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #45 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 09:02 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,286
Rep: 344 (Unique: 243)
Well Q2VKPT doesn't exactly run fast even on RTX cards and it does miss (badly) more bounces to get indirect lighting. I can't find any config file for graphical settings really, would be nice to be able to change some of the parameters without having to rewrite the hard coded values and recompile it all.
JackCY is offline  
post #46 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 06:28 AM
News Fiend
 
ryan92084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: 'merica
Posts: 2,133
Quote: Originally Posted by MonarchX View Post
WTH happened to all the post styling buttons? OCN's "Advanced" post is freaking empty. Where did all the formatting tools go???

Wiki says real-time ray-tracing was done a whiiile back:
You have to turn them on in your settings.

Meh '12
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Fury X
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZSW
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 970 PRO M.2 2280 512GB PCIe Gen3. X4, NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro-Series
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB Enterprise NAS SATA (ST4000VN0001)
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB Performance Desktop Hard Drive WD1003FZEX
Power Supply
SEASONIC PLATINUM-860 860W RT
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS Radiator x2
Cooling
Monsoon MMRS Reservoir + D5 pump + mountings
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm Neo Metal
Cooling
EKWB Fury X
Cooling
Monsoon Free Center 1/2ID 3/4OD fittings + Rotaries + plug + Temp probe
Cooling
BeQuiet SilentWings 3 High Speed PWM x 9
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 27" IPS 27UK650
Keyboard
Massdrop CTRL
Mouse
Logitech g403
Mousepad
HAYATE KOU FX SOFT NINJA Black L
Audio
Blue Yeti Black
Audio
Massdrop x AKG K7XX
Other
LIAN LI O11D-1X ,Riser Cable and cover bracket for PC-O11D
CPU
i5 3570k
Motherboard
Z77x-UD5H
GPU
Zotac 670 GTX AMP!
RAM
G.Skill f3-2400c10D-16gtx
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 128GB
Optical Drive
Some old thing
Power Supply
Seasonic platinum 860w
Cooling
Custom water
Case
Customized Thermaltake Armor
Operating System
Win 10 pro
Monitor
Dell U2413
Keyboard
Ducky Shine
Mouse
Logi G502
▲ hide details ▲


ryan92084 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off