[CNET] Google may break ad blockers with upcoming Chrome change - Page 14 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[CNET] Google may break ad blockers with upcoming Chrome change

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #131 of 176 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 12:38 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,911
Rep: 810 (Unique: 457)
i tried brave for a few days and then uninstalled it. ofc any "new" browser installation will feel snappier - its like that everytime.

however opera naively squashes ads much better; no pop ups! and i get an annoying pop up telling me my user name and password if i am not logged in.

and brave rewards? sounds more like rewards for being a nice lab rat. no thanks.

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #132 of 176 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 02:02 PM
Old to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,083
Rep: 123 (Unique: 105)
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
Your definition seems strangely tailored to meet the argument you're making. It's very different from my own and most other people's.
It is to an extent (then again most power users do things different than most people) but, and I'll say this without bias or trying to push any agenda; if you do go into the venues where "serious computer people" hang out, e.g the newsgroups, nix/bsd forums, sysadmin/coding/stack exchange forums you will find that line of thought to be the general consensus.

Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
Coincidentally, it also means only Firefox users are power users. If that's the case, I'll happily be a "casual".
Not necessarily, but I bet if there was some kind of survey done you would find that more of the top level (top level in computer-fu world) users probably use Firefox over any of the other mainstream options. You could take this as anecdotal evidence, but I can wholeheartedly say that in those venues I just listed, almost nobody runs Chrome or anything else as their daily driver browser, it's the fox or fox derivatives like Palemoon/Waterfox/Tor.

362436
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-A AMD Ryzen AM4 DDR4
GPU
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 950
RAM
2x Corsair Valueselect 8GB 288 Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 @ 2133
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC SSD
Optical Drive
Lite-On 24X SATA DVD/RW Optical Drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x 550W 80 Plus Gold
Cooling
Noctua NH-L9A-AM4 Low-Profile
Case
Antec NSK4100 Steel ATX Mid Tower
Operating System
Mint 18.2 x64
Monitor
HP 24" LCD/LED 1920x1080
Keyboard
IBM PC-AT
Mouse
Logitech G5
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Audio
Asus Essence STX II
▲ hide details ▲


xJumper is offline  
post #133 of 176 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 02:32 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,340
Rep: 445 (Unique: 338)
You could make that argument because of the source control though. Those in that kind of environment are likely going to find a fork that works for them or make their own...

That being said I also know a lot of people the fork off of chromium

Personally I care less about the browser as I am about the actual traffic itself...

I'll personally stick to chrome because it have everything configured the way I want and see no legitimate reason to switch.

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
HTPC
(10 items)
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R5 3600
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix B450-I
GPU
nVidia Titan XP
RAM
Corsair LPX 3200C16 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua L9i
Cooling
Accelero Xtreme III
Cooling
Noctua NF-A12x25s
Case
Fractal Design Node 202
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #134 of 176 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 11:12 AM
Memory Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 468
Rep: 23 (Unique: 9)
FYI, I just discovered https://www.overclockers.com/forums/ which doesn't appear to have as much traffic as here though there are some smart people there, but sure performs a lot better and isn't overrun with ads. It appears to be based on vbulletin.

[email protected] (-1 AVX offset) on ASRock Z390 Taichi with Noctua NH-D15 air cooler
CPU offset voltage of -25mv, runs VRVout 1.240-1.313V on full AVX load, 1.225-1.275V on non-AVX load
2x8GB [email protected] at 1.45V, G.Skill F4-3733C17Q-32GTZKK (XMP rated [email protected])
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB OC with Corsair RMx 750W power supply
Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot SSD and four other drives all in a Fractal Design R6 Case
jfriend00 is offline  
post #135 of 176 (permalink) Old 02-05-2019, 07:21 PM
Itchen
 
splangie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Park County, Co
Posts: 88
Rep: 0
Pi Hole it! Here is a look at my hole for the last 24.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pihole.png
Views:	84
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	251716  

splangie is offline  
post #136 of 176 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doritos93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,309
Rep: 119 (Unique: 84)
Quote: Originally Posted by splangie View Post
Pi Hole it! Here is a look at my hole for the last 24.
Truly beautiful. Quantifies all the time and resources stolen from me by the scumsuckers developing today's web

Took literally 30 mins to set up.



doritos93 is offline  
post #137 of 176 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 11:30 AM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,691
Rep: 163 (Unique: 127)
Quote: Originally Posted by splangie View Post
Pi Hole it! Here is a look at my hole for the last 24.
Quote: Originally Posted by doritos93 View Post
Truly beautiful. Quantifies all the time and resources stolen from me by the scumsuckers developing today's web

Took literally 30 mins to set up.

Is there a newbie guide to set pi hole up?


I have zero knowledge on how to do it.

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀



TK421 is offline  
post #138 of 176 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 11:40 AM
Itchen
 
splangie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Park County, Co
Posts: 88
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TK421 View Post
Is there a newbie guide to set pi hole up?


I have zero knowledge on how to do it.

Take look here - https://pi-hole.net/. I am running it on a Raspberry Pi 1 B.
splangie is offline  
post #139 of 176 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 01:35 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,691
Rep: 163 (Unique: 127)
Quote: Originally Posted by splangie View Post
Take look here - https://pi-hole.net/. I am running it on a Raspberry Pi 1 B.
The github page doesn't tell a whole lot.


I have no experience with linux either... Is it possible to run on an old windows machine?

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀



TK421 is offline  
post #140 of 176 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 02:31 PM
Itchen
 
splangie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Park County, Co
Posts: 88
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TK421 View Post
The github page doesn't tell a whole lot.

I have no experience with linux either... Is it possible to run on an old windows machine?

Here are the prereqs - https://docs.pi-hole.net/main/prereq...rating-systems



You can run it on almost anything but the os has to be -
  • Raspbian: Jessie / Stretch
  • Ubuntu: 16.04 / 16.10
  • Fedora: 27 / 28
  • Debian: 8 / 9
  • CentOS: 7 (not ARM)
You could try getting virtualbox going and then a virtual instance running one of those, give it a static ip and then set a pc to use that IP as the primary DNS server address. You can then start watching it happen. After testing you can set all your wifi and hardwired IPV4 and 6 for your stuff to that or you can setup DHCP at router so you don't have to make any changes to workstations/gamestations/phones/tvs etc... I have also setup a secondary RPi 1 dns server. That way I can unplug or disconnect either one and there is no interrupt. The advantage to setting DNS server address at PC is that if Pi Hole fails (haven't seen it happen yet) you would just need to reset to Obtain DNS address automagically. Otherwise you will have to make change at router, but that change would cover everything on network and you wouldn't have to change each back if there is a problem. There are advantages and disadvantages to both. The secondary DNS Pi Hole pretty much eliminates that though. The new RPi 3 B+ is 29.00 at Microcenter.

Last edited by splangie; 02-06-2019 at 03:08 PM.
splangie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off