[TechPowerUP] NVIDIA Releases GeForce Drivers that Add DXR to Select GeForce GTX GPUs - Page 6 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[TechPowerUP] NVIDIA Releases GeForce Drivers that Add DXR to Select GeForce GTX GPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 08:43 AM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,440
Rep: 1789 (Unique: 1170)
I am quite impressed by the performance 1080 Ti can give with no RTX. Want to now see what AMD can do without dedicated RTX. They do have FP16 like GTX Turing. They also have more Tflops in general.

Ishimura
(13 items)
Yamato
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Cooler Master Nepton 280L
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 08:47 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5,985
Rep: 46 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by mouacyk View Post
How do you change the resolution? Can't see to find the option in menus.
Hi,
nvidia control panel maybe.

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-99400x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
redragon
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
SMOK Alien 220w
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-3mg
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #53 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 10:15 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,887
Rep: 294 (Unique: 215)
Quote: Originally Posted by ChronoBodi View Post
i've tested quake 2 RTX on Titan X pascal, basically a 1080 ti.

its.... impressive for not having RT cores at all.

can do what feels to be 1080p, but fps rates of 30 to 45 fps.

1600x900 fairs a bit better, in the 50fps-55 rangeish or so.

and i find myself playing RTX quake 2 far more than i should, the lighting is so gorgeous.
That's not Q2RTX or NVQ2 or what ever NV calls their unreleased version, this is Q2VKPT from github.
I run around 3/5 of 2560px and 3/4 of 1440px so 1600x1024 is close to that, around 100fps on RTX 2070.

While it's path traced it has minimal bounce and a temporal filter to speed it up, it's doing as little work as it can, hence it still looks Q2 like = as a potato.

Quote: Originally Posted by mouacyk View Post
How do you change the resolution? Can't see to find the option in menus.
Rescale the window. I don't think there has been an update, it has some "user friendliness" issues taken from the Q2 variant it's based on. I don't think I will bother going into the code and recompile it with some fixes, even the author didn't seem interested in making it more user friendly and while it's a nice demo of path tracing there is a lot to be tweaked and such for it to look nice, run faster and have all features. You can increase the number of bounces to get better visuals but performance will plummet, plus you have to recompile Which on Windows is a pain the way the project is setup, you have to manually compile the shaders... eh. Too much work to do only to see how it will look with more bounces and some user friendliness fixes while it runs 10fps or something lol.

If I remember right it's based on Q2PRO. Hence all the menus and what not are different from OG Q2. Some settings don't work as they don't apply to VKPT and useful settings to set but mainly to keep set resolution are missing, you can set it in config but it gets ignored or overridden.
JackCY is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 10:58 AM
Newb to Overclock.net
 
mouacyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,738
Rep: 164 (Unique: 122)
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
That's not Q2RTX or NVQ2 or what ever NV calls their unreleased version, this is Q2VKPT from github.
I run around 3/5 of 2560px and 3/4 of 1440px so 1600x1024 is close to that, around 100fps on RTX 2070.

While it's path traced it has minimal bounce and a temporal filter to speed it up, it's doing as little work as it can, hence it still looks Q2 like = as a potato.



Rescale the window. I don't think there has been an update, it has some "user friendliness" issues taken from the Q2 variant it's based on. I don't think I will bother going into the code and recompile it with some fixes, even the author didn't seem interested in making it more user friendly and while it's a nice demo of path tracing there is a lot to be tweaked and such for it to look nice, run faster and have all features. You can increase the number of bounces to get better visuals but performance will plummet, plus you have to recompile Which on Windows is a pain the way the project is setup, you have to manually compile the shaders... eh. Too much work to do only to see how it will look with more bounces and some user friendliness fixes while it runs 10fps or something lol.

If I remember right it's based on Q2PRO. Hence all the menus and what not are different from OG Q2. Some settings don't work as they don't apply to VKPT and useful settings to set but mainly to keep set resolution are missing, you can set it in config but it gets ignored or overridden.
Thanks. Wow, just 5 minutes without mouse invert and now my FPS look is messed up when going back to inverted games.

CPU: Q6600 X5470 2100T 1680V2 9900K 5950HQ
GPU: 8800GT 9800GTX+ 750Ti 1080Ti
RAM: 2x8GBTZ
Gentoo64 in Water
(14 items)
LGA775 X5470
(6 items)
CPU
9900K 5GHz 1.224v
Motherboard
EVGA Z370 Micro
GPU
MSI 1080TI GXEK 2100.5/12627
RAM
16GB Trident Z 4000C16
Hard Drive
970 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic X850 Gold
Cooling
480mm Radiator Custom
Case
Silverstone FT03
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Operating System
Gentoo Linux 64 Multi-Lib
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271UH 165Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
CPU
X5470 4GHz (stock v)
Motherboard
GA-EP45-UD3P
GPU
EVGA 9800 GTX+ 512MB
RAM
8GB 4x2GB GSkill 1066MHz DDR2
Cooling
XSPC Rasa, D5 + Res, 240mm Rad
Case
Lian-Li PC7-HX
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by mouacyk; 04-13-2019 at 11:19 AM.
mouacyk is offline  
post #55 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 01:06 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
Celcius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 700
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)

Intel Core i7 7700K @ 4.8ghz | Noctua NH-D14 | Asus Maximus IX Hero | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200mhz 14-14-14-34-2T | 1TB Samsung 960 Pro | Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti Founders Edition | Seasonic X750 | CaseLabs Merlin SM8 | X-Fi Titanium HD | Win 10 Pro 64-bit | LG 27UK600 | Creative T40 | Corsair K70 w/ Cherry MX brown switches | Logitech G400s | Audio Technica ATH-AD700
Celcius is offline  
post #56 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 03:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zGunBLADEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,349
Rep: 97 (Unique: 70)
after trying this in shadow and metro on my 1080ti, just to see whats the fuzz about, i would not trade resolution, IQ overall "HELLOW DLSS by Bleach"....
space screen reflection do the job just fine + reshade.

RT as current implementation on those games any time given considering the perf impact and what i have to trade off no good at all.. 2080ti with RT on looks pathetic as well.

conclusion

get the magnifying glass XD


Last edited by zGunBLADEz; 04-13-2019 at 03:25 PM.
zGunBLADEz is offline  
post #57 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 04:47 PM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,440
Rep: 1789 (Unique: 1170)
Quote: Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post
after trying this in shadow and metro on my 1080ti, just to see whats the fuzz about, i would not trade resolution, IQ overall "HELLOW DLSS by Bleach"....
space screen reflection do the job just fine + reshade.

RT as current implementation on those games any time given considering the perf impact and what i have to trade off no good at all.. 2080ti with RT on looks pathetic as well.

conclusion
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXRrpYATYl0

get the magnifying glass XD
I can see some difference but can easily dismiss them as artistic desitions. RT is so not worth it right now. We need path tracing like in Quake.

Ishimura
(13 items)
Yamato
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Cooler Master Nepton 280L
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #58 of 58 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 04:37 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 731
Rep: 13 (Unique: 13)
It would be cool if you could use a second card for RT the same way you can for PhysX.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off