[PGGamesN] AMD has “no software ecosystem that’s meaningful” without Intel - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[PGGamesN] AMD has “no software ecosystem that’s meaningful” without Intel

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-14-2019, 01:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Asterox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Croatia
Posts: 343
Rep: 20 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post
Intel is huge.

Intel has 107K=5G chip direct in the trash can
AMD 10.1K
TSMC 47K
Nvidia 11.1K
IBM 350K
Samsung 320k
Qualcomm 35K=high quality 5G chip

It's crazy how big the difference is. AMD and Nvidia and TSMC together are still less than Intel.
Yes Intel is big or mighty, but hey all that money and big resources in not enough to produce a good quality 5G chip.

https://aragonresearch.com/intel-5g-...with-qualcomm/

Asterox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-14-2019, 08:52 PM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,122
Rep: 579 (Unique: 457)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
nVidia has had a significant contribution. AMD, Intel, Qualcomm and Habana along with any other ASIC companies just started recently with contributing. Nvidia created an industry standard for AI systems.

Both Qualcomm's and Habanas software stacks are pretty impressive. While most of AMD's framework support is still currently in development.

https://habana.ai/product/
https://developer.qualcomm.com/softw...processing-sdk

You do realise every single Intel chip has AMD IP inside.... ever heard of X64? AMD is responsible for more than Intel would have you believe.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #43 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-14-2019, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,367
Rep: 149 (Unique: 107)
Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
You do realise every single Intel chip has AMD IP inside.... ever heard of X64? AMD is responsible for more than Intel would have you believe.
Never heard of it! My second custom build after my Athlon XP 1600+ Thoroughbred B wasn't an Athlon 3200+ Venice with a DFI Lanparty NF3 250GB. Or still have a 3800+ on a NF4 board with my AMD 6970.

Please let me know how AMD64 has anything to do with them having a meaning full compute stack for developers/researchers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190512_125040_1557894604146.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	269626  


Maximus
(20 items)
CPU
Core i7 6700K 4.8Ghz @ 1.4v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1200Mhz w/ 1150mV
RAM
G-Skill 32GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 04:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,994
Rep: 164 (Unique: 103)
Why even listen to him? The cards that came out under him at AMD were lackluster or broken.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
post #45 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 05:07 PM
New to Posting
 
nonametoclaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 169
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
i love how a few days after this article was published yet another security vulnerability was discovered in intel chips

CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
MSI AM4 B450I Gaming Plus AC
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 580 8GB
RAM
Patriot Viper 4 2x8gb 3000mhz
Hard Drive
500gb Mushkin Source M.2
Hard Drive
1tb Mushkin Source SSD
Power Supply
Corsair CX 650
Power Supply
2016 International Prostar 2200w Inverter
Cooling
Coolermaster LC120E AIO
Case
Silverstone Sugo13
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Insignia 43" 4K HDR
Monitor
Samsung Odyssey+
▲ hide details ▲
nonametoclaim is offline  
post #46 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 02:07 AM
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,619
Rep: 265 (Unique: 207)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Never heard of it! My second custom build after my Athlon XP 1600+ Thoroughbred B wasn't an Athlon 3200+ Venice with a DFI Lanparty NF3 250GB. Or still have a 3800+ on a NF4 board with my AMD 6970.

Please let me know how AMD64 has anything to do with them having a meaning full compute stack for developers/researchers.
AMD literally made the 64 bit instruction set which is used by intel currently. without AMD there would be no 64 bit

gaming rig
(17 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 2126MHz/11GHz
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 16GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Kingston UV400 480GB SSD
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
Corsair H115i /W Modded backplate
Case
Corsair C70 Gunmetal
Operating System
windows 10 Pro 1607
Monitor
HP 24W
Monitor
AOC i2269vw
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Creative X-FI Titanium
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is offline  
post #47 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,367
Rep: 149 (Unique: 107)
Quote: Originally Posted by philhalo66 View Post
AMD literally made the 64 bit instruction set which is used by intel currently. without AMD there would be no 64 bit
Silliest thing I've heard all day. 64 bit processors have been around since the 1970s. Even IBM's Power 64 bit CPUs were out a decade before AMD's chips. Intel also beat AMD to 64 bit with their Itanium Merced which was released in 2001.

What AMD did was create a 64 bit processor that was also backwards compatible with x86 which is a great feat. I believe it was due to Microsoft's laziness that AMD64 took off instead of IA-64.

Maximus
(20 items)
CPU
Core i7 6700K 4.8Ghz @ 1.4v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1200Mhz w/ 1150mV
RAM
G-Skill 32GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 05-16-2019 at 07:41 PM.
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #48 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 02:53 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,122
Rep: 579 (Unique: 457)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Silliest thing I've heard all day. 64 bit processors have been around since the 1970s. Even IBM's Power 64 bit CPUs were out a decade before AMD's chips. Intel also beat AMD to 64 bit with their Itanium Merced which was released in 2001.

What AMD did was create a 64 bit processor that was also backwards compatible with x86 which is a great feat. I believe it was due to Microsoft's laziness that AMD64 took off instead of IA-64.
Um....NO. IA-64 was created by HP not Intel and AMD was the only one to bring 64bit to x86. Yeah they did further development on Itanium after HP decided to partner with Intel in 1994. Try again.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Redwoodz; 05-17-2019 at 02:57 AM.
Redwoodz is offline  
post #49 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,367
Rep: 149 (Unique: 107)
Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
Um....NO. IA-64 was created by HP not Intel and AMD was the only one to bring 64bit to x86. Yeah they did further development on Itanium after HP decided to partner with Intel in 1994. Try again.
A joint development is somehow a HP development? Again only reason AMD64 took off was because Microsoft pushed it AMD most likely since they didn't want to develop a native 64 bit OS. Point is 64 bit processors were around before AMD64.

Maximus
(20 items)
CPU
Core i7 6700K 4.8Ghz @ 1.4v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1200Mhz w/ 1150mV
RAM
G-Skill 32GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #50 of 62 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 06:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,951
Rep: 270 (Unique: 117)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
A joint development is somehow a HP development? Again only reason AMD64 took off was because Microsoft pushed it AMD most likely since they didn't want to develop a native 64 bit OS. Point is 64 bit processors were around before AMD64.
The whole point of AMD's x64 was to allow 64 bit to work with existing x86 instruction set. All 64-bit implementations before it were completely separate and incompatible with the x86 architecture. Without AMD, we wouldn't be running 32-bit programs on 64-bit windows or 64-bit CPUs for that matter.
NightAntilli is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
kyrie74
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off