[EnGadget] NVIDIA’s GeForce RTX GPUs are now even better for creative types - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[EnGadget] NVIDIA’s GeForce RTX GPUs are now even better for creative types

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KCDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 944
Rep: 22 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
AMD has had full 10-bit support on their GPUs for a while, longer than Nvidia. AMD cards also do not take a performance hit from HDR like Nvidia cards do.

Shill out man. The only real news here in that Nvidia stopped blocking off a feature that they can no longer get away with charging a premium for since it has become standard.

The bias here is too damn high.
Unfortunately, AMD GPUs aren't as widely supported or reliable in VFX, 3D, rendering, compositing worlds. Editing, sure.

ZMT watercool setup -- Phanteks Enthoo Elite -- hwlabs gtr 420 x 2 -- noctua A14 PWM x8 -- d5 pwm -- 9900x -- x299 TUF Mk1
Corsair Hydro X XC9 -- 64gb 3200 tridentZ Royal CL14 -- AX1500i -- 2x 7600p on hyper m.2 VROC 4TB -- EK ZMT Tubing -- Ek Fittings -- dual Aorus Waterforce xtreme 2080ti -- asus PG279UZ monitors x3 7680x1440 surround
Bertha 5.0
(22 items)
CPU
9900x
Motherboard
X299 TUF Mk1
GPU
1080ti FE
GPU
1080ti FE
RAM
GSkill Royal
Hard Drive
Hyper m.2
Power Supply
Ax1500i
Cooling
HWL GTR 420 x2
Cooling
EKWB 1080ti blocks x2
Cooling
EK Supremecy EVO RGB
Cooling
Noctua A14 PWM x8
Cooling
Corsair ML140 x6
Cooling
EK ZMT tubing
Cooling
EK D5 PWM pump/res
Cooling
EK Fittings
Cooling
Corsair Commander Pro
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Elite
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG279QZ x3
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Nightsword
Mousepad
Corsair MM800 Polaris
▲ hide details ▲
KCDC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,154
Rep: 168 (Unique: 120)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
AMD has had full 10-bit support on their GPUs for a while, longer than Nvidia. AMD cards also do not take a performance hit from HDR like Nvidia cards do.

Shill out man. The only real news here in that Nvidia stopped blocking off a feature that they can no longer get away with charging a premium for since it has become standard.

The bias here is too damn high.
Consumer GPUs support 10-bit in Windows and Direct3D applications, but professional applications like Photoshop use an OpenGL mode for their 10-bit output that is not supported on consumer GPUs.

It's artificial segmentation, but affects both AMD and nVidia. With this update nVidia removed the limitation.

Edit: here's proof,

From AMDPete in 2016:

https://community.amd.com/thread/203751

And confirmation this year regarding the Radeon VII: https://community.amd.com/thread/240652

If anything you need to chill with your harassment.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 4.2Ghz w/ 1v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 1900Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1v
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 16GB 3866Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 07-29-2019 at 06:37 PM.
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #13 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:33 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,064
Rep: 899 (Unique: 589)
Not sure what 10-bit color has to do with ray tracing.


Their cards probably are selling poorly, so they're just throwing you a bone to take it over a not-yet-ready Navi card. That said , $500 RTX 2070 super should sell on its own merits such as CUDA given people were buying $700 RTX 2080 while RTX 2080 Ti just gets another value add tacked on to its high $1K price. Not sure who the target buyer for a ~$260-280 GTX 1660 Ti is now that there are RTX 2060 6GB versions for ~$300-330.



I always applaud more features though.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,154
Rep: 168 (Unique: 120)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
Not sure what 10-bit color has to do with ray tracing.


Their cards probably are selling poorly, so they're just throwing you a bone to take it over a not-yet-ready Navi card. That said , $500 RTX 2070 super should sell on its own merits such as CUDA given people were buying $700 RTX 2080 while RTX 2080 Ti just gets another value add tacked on to its high $1K price. Not sure who the target buyer for a ~$260-280 GTX 1660 Ti is now that there are RTX 2060 6GB versions for ~$300-330.



I always applaud more features though.
Consumer GPUs support 10-bit in Windows and Direct3D applications, but professional applications like Photoshop use an OpenGL mode for their 10-bit output that is not supported on consumer GPUs.

It's artificial segmentation, but affects both AMD and NVIDIA GPUs.

Now that nVidia removed this limitation I'm sure AMD will respond at their Siggraph presentation. I'm sure this has to do with their RTX 20 cards not selling well but this just makes these cards a bit better for freelancers.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 4.2Ghz w/ 1v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 1900Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1v
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 16GB 3866Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #15 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:42 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,064
Rep: 899 (Unique: 589)
What does that have to do with ray tracing? I'm well aware that professional drivers unlock OpenGL performance, every GPU I currently have is a professional GPU.


edit: This is no different than the TITAN xP / TITAN x Pascal reaction to AMD's Frontier edition Vega, except preemptive.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #16 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,154
Rep: 168 (Unique: 120)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
What does that have to do with ray tracing? I'm well aware that professional drivers unlock OpenGL performance, every GPU I currently have is a professional GPU.


edit: This is no different than the TITAN xP / TITAN x Pascal reaction to AMD's Frontier edition Vega, except preemptive.
This has nothing to do with Ray Tracing, I was just shocked someone ray traced Minecraft. Maybe nVidia heard that AMD is finally dropping their One Driver at Siggraph along with their Vega 20 based Radeon Pro cards?

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 4.2Ghz w/ 1v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 1900Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1v
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 16GB 3866Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #17 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 06:02 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,064
Rep: 899 (Unique: 589)
I think you're misunderstanding the unified driver? AMD's unified driver just uses the same installer. If it doesn't detect Radeon Pro it will still lock you to gaming card performance. I bet if some people were to reverse engineer their drivers they could get all the software support working, unless there's a PCB check as on Quadro drivers (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/h...-counterparts/).

Radeon Pros get to switch between gaming and workstation driver.

Quote: Originally Posted by https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/radeon-pro-software
Unified “One Driver”

Simplifies Enterprise Deployment

Effortlessly run applications on both physical and virtual machines using a single “one driver” for ALL your AMD graphics hardware, whether it be AMD Radeon™ Pro, select AMD FirePro™10, or select AMD Radeon™ products.
Quote: Originally Posted by https://techgage.com/news/amd-releases-its-first-radeon-pro-enterprise-driver-of-2019/
As a unified “One Driver”, this latest Enterprise release will work with all of AMD’s recent- and current-gen graphics cards, even including the new Radeon VII. However, only Pro cards will enjoy any type of workstation performance augmentation.

-----


In anandtech's article comments there is mention of 10-bit color on radeon being present in DirectX

Quote: Originally Posted by https://www.anandtech.com/show/14682/nvidia-siggraph-2019-nv-to-enable-30bit-opengl-support-on-geforce-cards
To be honest, this wasn’t a restriction I was expecting NVIDIA to lift any time soon. Rival AMD has offered unrestricted 30-bit color support for ages, and it has never caused NVIDIA to flinch. NVIDIA’s official rationale for all of this feels kind of thin – it was a commonly requested feature since the launch of the Studio drivers, so they decided to enable it – but as their official press release notes, working with HDR material pretty much requires 30-bit color; so it’s seemingly no longer a feature NVIDIA can justify restricting from Quadro cards. Still, I suppose one shouldn’t look a gift horse too closely in the mouth.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #18 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,154
Rep: 168 (Unique: 120)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
I think you're misunderstanding the unified driver? AMD's unified driver just uses the same installer. If it doesn't detect Radeon Pro it will still lock you to gaming card performance. I bet if some people were to reverse engineer their drivers they could get all the software support working, unless there's a PCB check as on Quadro drivers (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/h...-counterparts/).
I guess I did, but it does provide the performance of Radeon Pro drivers.

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/gpu...re_s_a_catch/1

Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
In anandtech's article comments there is mention of 10-bit color on radeon being present in DirectX
Re-read my response of your first message. I address this there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12073207449l_1564448924044.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	284490  


Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 4.2Ghz w/ 1v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 1900Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1v
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 16GB 3866Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 07-29-2019 at 06:12 PM.
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #19 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 09:56 PM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,735
Rep: 436 (Unique: 300)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
AMD has had full 10-bit support on their GPUs for a while, longer than Nvidia. AMD cards also do not take a performance hit from HDR like Nvidia cards do.

Shill out man. The only real news here in that Nvidia stopped blocking off a feature that they can no longer get away with charging a premium for since it has become standard.

The bias here is too damn high.
You are so full of it...
The claim is false. It was always false.
AMD gaming cards support full 10 bit output, in games only. Just like nvidia.

The only place gaming cards supported 10 bit display output in photoshop, was under apple eco system since 2015.

Their new pro creative drives for non pro cards are suppose to add that support. But it just seems that nvidia decided to pass them to the finish line.


Defoler is offline  
post #20 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 11:46 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,084
Rep: 23 (Unique: 23)
How can a GPU even not work for 10-bit mode for certain programs? If it works and windows recognizes it, your screen recognizes it... how is it that it won't then work in a program that supports it? Isn't it a standard? How can you have HDR work for some things that can use it but not others, on the same hardware? As someone who has been using HDR for a while but doesn't know anything about photoshop, why was this even a thing?

Seems to me that it has just been artificially blocked at a driver level and Nvidia simply removed the block just before AMD did. Am I missing something? This is not an added feature but a literally a removed block, correct? If that is the case then the tone of this announcement is annoying as a company doesn't deserve praise for unblocking a feature that was always there.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off