[EnGadget] NVIDIA’s GeForce RTX GPUs are now even better for creative types - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[EnGadget] NVIDIA’s GeForce RTX GPUs are now even better for creative types

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KCDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1,087
Rep: 28 (Unique: 23)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
AMD has had full 10-bit support on their GPUs for a while, longer than Nvidia. AMD cards also do not take a performance hit from HDR like Nvidia cards do.

Shill out man. The only real news here in that Nvidia stopped blocking off a feature that they can no longer get away with charging a premium for since it has become standard.

The bias here is too damn high.
Unfortunately, AMD GPUs aren't as widely supported or reliable in VFX, 3D, rendering, compositing worlds. Editing, sure.

ZMT watercool setup -- Phanteks Enthoo Elite -- hwlabs gtr 420 x 2 -- -- xspc tx360 crossflow -- noctua A14 PWM x9 -- 10940x -- Rampage VI Extreme Encore
Optimus Signature V2 -- 64gb 3200 tridentZ Royal CL14 @3600 CL16 -- AX1500i -- 2x 7600p nvme -- EK ZMT Tubing -- Ek Fittings -- dual Aorus Waterforce xtreme 2080ti -- asus PG279UZ monitors x3 7680x1440 surround
Bertha5.5
(22 items)
CPU
9900x
Motherboard
X2399 TUF Mk1
GPU
Aorus 2080ti Waterforce Xtreme
GPU
Aorus 2080ti Waterforce Xtreme
RAM
TridentZ Royal 3200 CL14
Hard Drive
VROC 7600P x2
Power Supply
Ax1500i
Cooling
HWL GTR 420 x2
Cooling
XSPC TX360 Crossflow
Cooling
EK ZMT 10/16
Cooling
Corsair XC9
Cooling
Corsair XD5
Cooling
EK 10/16 Fittings
Cooling
Noctua A14 PWM x9
Cooling
Noctua NF-P12 PWM redux x3
Cooling
Corsair Commander Pro
Case
Enthoo Elite
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64
Monitor
Asus PG279QZ x3
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Nightsword
Mousepad
Corsair MM800
▲ hide details ▲
KCDC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,356
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
AMD has had full 10-bit support on their GPUs for a while, longer than Nvidia. AMD cards also do not take a performance hit from HDR like Nvidia cards do.

Shill out man. The only real news here in that Nvidia stopped blocking off a feature that they can no longer get away with charging a premium for since it has become standard.

The bias here is too damn high.
Consumer GPUs support 10-bit in Windows and Direct3D applications, but professional applications like Photoshop use an OpenGL mode for their 10-bit output that is not supported on consumer GPUs.

It's artificial segmentation, but affects both AMD and nVidia. With this update nVidia removed the limitation.

Edit: here's proof,

From AMDPete in 2016:

https://community.amd.com/thread/203751

And confirmation this year regarding the Radeon VII: https://community.amd.com/thread/240652

If anything you need to chill with your harassment.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 07-29-2019 at 06:37 PM.
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #13 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:33 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,209
Rep: 911 (Unique: 592)
Not sure what 10-bit color has to do with ray tracing.


Their cards probably are selling poorly, so they're just throwing you a bone to take it over a not-yet-ready Navi card. That said , $500 RTX 2070 super should sell on its own merits such as CUDA given people were buying $700 RTX 2080 while RTX 2080 Ti just gets another value add tacked on to its high $1K price. Not sure who the target buyer for a ~$260-280 GTX 1660 Ti is now that there are RTX 2060 6GB versions for ~$300-330.



I always applaud more features though.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,356
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
Not sure what 10-bit color has to do with ray tracing.


Their cards probably are selling poorly, so they're just throwing you a bone to take it over a not-yet-ready Navi card. That said , $500 RTX 2070 super should sell on its own merits such as CUDA given people were buying $700 RTX 2080 while RTX 2080 Ti just gets another value add tacked on to its high $1K price. Not sure who the target buyer for a ~$260-280 GTX 1660 Ti is now that there are RTX 2060 6GB versions for ~$300-330.



I always applaud more features though.
Consumer GPUs support 10-bit in Windows and Direct3D applications, but professional applications like Photoshop use an OpenGL mode for their 10-bit output that is not supported on consumer GPUs.

It's artificial segmentation, but affects both AMD and NVIDIA GPUs.

Now that nVidia removed this limitation I'm sure AMD will respond at their Siggraph presentation. I'm sure this has to do with their RTX 20 cards not selling well but this just makes these cards a bit better for freelancers.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #15 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:42 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,209
Rep: 911 (Unique: 592)
What does that have to do with ray tracing? I'm well aware that professional drivers unlock OpenGL performance, every GPU I currently have is a professional GPU.


edit: This is no different than the TITAN xP / TITAN x Pascal reaction to AMD's Frontier edition Vega, except preemptive.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #16 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,356
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
What does that have to do with ray tracing? I'm well aware that professional drivers unlock OpenGL performance, every GPU I currently have is a professional GPU.


edit: This is no different than the TITAN xP / TITAN x Pascal reaction to AMD's Frontier edition Vega, except preemptive.
This has nothing to do with Ray Tracing, I was just shocked someone ray traced Minecraft. Maybe nVidia heard that AMD is finally dropping their One Driver at Siggraph along with their Vega 20 based Radeon Pro cards?

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #17 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 06:02 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,209
Rep: 911 (Unique: 592)
I think you're misunderstanding the unified driver? AMD's unified driver just uses the same installer. If it doesn't detect Radeon Pro it will still lock you to gaming card performance. I bet if some people were to reverse engineer their drivers they could get all the software support working, unless there's a PCB check as on Quadro drivers (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/h...-counterparts/).

Radeon Pros get to switch between gaming and workstation driver.

Quote: Originally Posted by https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/radeon-pro-software
Unified “One Driver”

Simplifies Enterprise Deployment

Effortlessly run applications on both physical and virtual machines using a single “one driver” for ALL your AMD graphics hardware, whether it be AMD Radeon™ Pro, select AMD FirePro™10, or select AMD Radeon™ products.
Quote: Originally Posted by https://techgage.com/news/amd-releases-its-first-radeon-pro-enterprise-driver-of-2019/
As a unified “One Driver”, this latest Enterprise release will work with all of AMD’s recent- and current-gen graphics cards, even including the new Radeon VII. However, only Pro cards will enjoy any type of workstation performance augmentation.

-----


In anandtech's article comments there is mention of 10-bit color on radeon being present in DirectX

Quote: Originally Posted by https://www.anandtech.com/show/14682/nvidia-siggraph-2019-nv-to-enable-30bit-opengl-support-on-geforce-cards
To be honest, this wasn’t a restriction I was expecting NVIDIA to lift any time soon. Rival AMD has offered unrestricted 30-bit color support for ages, and it has never caused NVIDIA to flinch. NVIDIA’s official rationale for all of this feels kind of thin – it was a commonly requested feature since the launch of the Studio drivers, so they decided to enable it – but as their official press release notes, working with HDR material pretty much requires 30-bit color; so it’s seemingly no longer a feature NVIDIA can justify restricting from Quadro cards. Still, I suppose one shouldn’t look a gift horse too closely in the mouth.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #18 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,356
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
I think you're misunderstanding the unified driver? AMD's unified driver just uses the same installer. If it doesn't detect Radeon Pro it will still lock you to gaming card performance. I bet if some people were to reverse engineer their drivers they could get all the software support working, unless there's a PCB check as on Quadro drivers (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/h...-counterparts/).
I guess I did, but it does provide the performance of Radeon Pro drivers.

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/gpu...re_s_a_catch/1

Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
In anandtech's article comments there is mention of 10-bit color on radeon being present in DirectX
Re-read my response of your first message. I address this there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12073207449l_1564448924044.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	284490  


Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 07-29-2019 at 06:12 PM.
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #19 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 09:56 PM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,874
Rep: 439 (Unique: 303)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
AMD has had full 10-bit support on their GPUs for a while, longer than Nvidia. AMD cards also do not take a performance hit from HDR like Nvidia cards do.

Shill out man. The only real news here in that Nvidia stopped blocking off a feature that they can no longer get away with charging a premium for since it has become standard.

The bias here is too damn high.
You are so full of it...
The claim is false. It was always false.
AMD gaming cards support full 10 bit output, in games only. Just like nvidia.

The only place gaming cards supported 10 bit display output in photoshop, was under apple eco system since 2015.

Their new pro creative drives for non pro cards are suppose to add that support. But it just seems that nvidia decided to pass them to the finish line.


Defoler is offline  
post #20 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 11:46 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,843
Rep: 49 (Unique: 44)
How can a GPU even not work for 10-bit mode for certain programs? If it works and windows recognizes it, your screen recognizes it... how is it that it won't then work in a program that supports it? Isn't it a standard? How can you have HDR work for some things that can use it but not others, on the same hardware? As someone who has been using HDR for a while but doesn't know anything about photoshop, why was this even a thing?

Seems to me that it has just been artificially blocked at a driver level and Nvidia simply removed the block just before AMD did. Am I missing something? This is not an added feature but a literally a removed block, correct? If that is the case then the tone of this announcement is annoying as a company doesn't deserve praise for unblocking a feature that was always there.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off