[Wrong Location] Move to AMD Drivers and Overclocking Software - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Wrong Location] Move to AMD Drivers and Overclocking Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-02-2019, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Butthurt Beluga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 396
Rep: 46 (Unique: 31)
I've had a Vega 64 and then a Radeon VII and the drivers have been nothing but a headache. I had an RX 580 prior to that and the drivers were flawless, never had an issue.
Now with all my Vega GPUs I've had constant hard driver crashes and screen flickering.
My only hope is that by the end of the one year limited warranty, Big Navi or RDNA2 will be released so I can RMA this dumpsterfire and get something more stable.
Butthurt Beluga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-02-2019, 12:38 PM
Mmmm donuts.....
 
VicsPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 610
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Butthurt Beluga View Post
I've had a Vega 64 and then a Radeon VII and the drivers have been nothing but a headache. I had an RX 580 prior to that and the drivers were flawless, never had an issue.
Now with all my Vega GPUs I've had constant hard driver crashes and screen flickering.
My only hope is that by the end of the one year limited warranty, Big Navi or RDNA2 will be released so I can RMA this dumpsterfire and get something more stable.
That's surprising. Is your card overclocked or crossfire? I've had my V64 since day one, granted I'm on water, my drivers have been as reliable as when i had my r9 390. My overclock of 1670/1100 is even sticking in wattman with restarts and cold boots.

My 1700x build
(6 items)
CPU
1700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Vega 64
RAM
Corsair 16gb 3200mhz CL16
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Core X5
▲ hide details ▲
VicsPC is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-02-2019, 06:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Butthurt Beluga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 396
Rep: 46 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by VicsPC View Post
That's surprising. Is your card overclocked or crossfire? I've had my V64 since day one, granted I'm on water, my drivers have been as reliable as when i had my r9 390. My overclock of 1670/1100 is even sticking in wattman with restarts and cold boots.
No, completely stock and single GPU in both scenarios, except when I had my ROG Vega 64 it wasn't stable at stock speeds so I had to downclock it to 1550~ just so it wouldn't crash during games as frequently.
I've tried Windows reinstalls, different Windows versions (home/pro/LTSB), using different display outputs, different DP cables, only plugging in my main monitor and not my second monitor.
Nothing so far has been a permanent solution, except using a GTX 1070 Ti for a couple weeks where I experienced no issues.
Butthurt Beluga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 07:46 AM
Mmmm donuts.....
 
VicsPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 610
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Butthurt Beluga View Post
No, completely stock and single GPU in both scenarios, except when I had my ROG Vega 64 it wasn't stable at stock speeds so I had to downclock it to 1550~ just so it wouldn't crash during games as frequently.
I've tried Windows reinstalls, different Windows versions (home/pro/LTSB), using different display outputs, different DP cables, only plugging in my main monitor and not my second monitor.
Nothing so far has been a permanent solution, except using a GTX 1070 Ti for a couple weeks where I experienced no issues.
If you haven't RMAed that's def where I'd start. I haven't had a single issue that you speak of with mine. The only minor thing was the overclock not sticking sometimes after a restart or cold boot, not really a biggie for me to adjust a couple slides but it's an annoyance.

My 1700x build
(6 items)
CPU
1700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Vega 64
RAM
Corsair 16gb 3200mhz CL16
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Core X5
▲ hide details ▲
VicsPC is offline  
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 08:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Butthurt Beluga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 396
Rep: 46 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by VicsPC View Post
If you haven't RMAed that's def where I'd start. I haven't had a single issue that you speak of with mine. The only minor thing was the overclock not sticking sometimes after a restart or cold boot, not really a biggie for me to adjust a couple slides but it's an annoyance.
That's the plan currently, except I want to wait toward the end of the limited warranty and hopefully get RDNA2/Big Navi in exchange considering VII's are so low volume/already EOL. That's the idea, anyway.
Butthurt Beluga is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 11:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,475
Rep: 398 (Unique: 284)
Quote: Originally Posted by Butthurt Beluga View Post
No, completely stock and single GPU in both scenarios, except when I had my ROG Vega 64 it wasn't stable at stock speeds so I had to downclock it to 1550~ just so it wouldn't crash during games as frequently.
I've tried Windows reinstalls, different Windows versions (home/pro/LTSB), using different display outputs, different DP cables, only plugging in my main monitor and not my second monitor.
Nothing so far has been a permanent solution, except using a GTX 1070 Ti for a couple weeks where I experienced no issues.
You can't blame driver problems for a defective card.
If a card is unstable at stock and you used DDU to uninstall drivers first, then that's RMA time.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 11:37 AM
Gamer
 
paulerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 3,419
Rep: 75 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
You can't blame driver problems for a defective card.
If a card is unstable at stock and you used DDU to uninstall drivers first, then that's RMA time.
Then it ends up being a bug with Windows itself? (this happens)

swah
AMD 2019
(6 items)
CPU
ryzen 3600
Motherboard
x570 Phantom Gaming 4
GPU
5700XT
RAM
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
Hard Drive
m.2 512GB
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
paulerxx is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 03:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Butthurt Beluga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 396
Rep: 46 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
You can't blame driver problems for a defective card.
If a card is unstable at stock and you used DDU to uninstall drivers first, then that's RMA time.
Yep I already RMA'd my V64 a long time ago and sold the RMA unit to get my VII. I just find it hard to believe it's not driver related considering I went from Vega10->Vega20 and experience the exact same types of display driver failures from completely separate GPUs.
But I do have a history of bad luck so maybe it really is just me, I just really doubt that.
Butthurt Beluga is offline  
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 05:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,475
Rep: 398 (Unique: 284)
Quote: Originally Posted by Butthurt Beluga View Post
Yep I already RMA'd my V64 a long time ago and sold the RMA unit to get my VII. I just find it hard to believe it's not driver related considering I went from Vega10->Vega20 and experience the exact same types of display driver failures from completely separate GPUs.
But I do have a history of bad luck so maybe it really is just me, I just really doubt that.
Oh I didn't read that part. Vega 20=R7 ?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 06:22 PM
Official Luddite of OCN
 
SoloCamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,431
Rep: 416 (Unique: 216)
Quote: Originally Posted by Butthurt Beluga View Post
Yep I already RMA'd my V64 a long time ago and sold the RMA unit to get my VII. I just find it hard to believe it's not driver related considering I went from Vega10->Vega20 and experience the exact same types of display driver failures from completely separate GPUs.
But I do have a history of bad luck so maybe it really is just me, I just really doubt that.
Sometimes the dice rolls that way unfortunately. From my 7970ghz onward I really haven't had an issue (7970ghz, 290x, RX580, V56 and V64).

Did you try swapping out psu's too - or any other random issues that may point to something else? Did a clean install of the OS? Etc.


4k box
(23 items)
Oculus Box
(6 items)
CPU
4790k at 4.6ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
GPU
Sapphire Vega 64 1667mhz core / 1100 mem (reference air cooler)
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16gb DDR3 2400mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 128gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256gb
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 480gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 500gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 120gb
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray RW
Power Supply
NZXT Hale82 850w
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Rosewill Thor V2 (Black)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ASUS PB287Q (4k)
Monitor
Dell Ultrasharp 1908FP
Keyboard
Corsair K55 RGB
Mouse
Fenek Swift Gaming Mouse - PMW 3360 Sensor
Mousepad
Steelseries QCK+
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z
Audio
Logitech Z-623
Audio
Sennheiser HD 280 PRO
CPU
FX-9590
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
GPU
Sapphire Pulse Vega 56 1590core/945mem
RAM
16gb DDR3 1866 cas9 (two dimms)
Cooling
AMD FX Watercooler (came with 9590)
Operating System
Win10 pro 64bit
CPU
Xeon E5450
CPU
Xeon E5450
Motherboard
Dell T7400 stock
GPU
XFX DD 7970Ghz Edition
RAM
32gb DDR2 667mhz Quad Channel (4gb x8)
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb SSD
Power Supply
Dell T7400 stock 1000w PSU
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
SoloCamo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off