[i-programmer] There Really Are No More IPv4 Addresses - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[i-programmer] There Really Are No More IPv4 Addresses

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 07:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 1,075
Rep: 44 (Unique: 40)
coupe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 09:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,458
Rep: 558 (Unique: 317)
i'll agree, simply due to the box body eldorado.(91? tiny photo!)

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 01:12 PM
AMD Acolyte
 
qwertymac93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: just here
Posts: 1,413
Rep: 76 (Unique: 70)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
i'll agree, simply due to the box body eldorado.(91? tiny photo!)
Tiny? Plenty big!
Right click and hit "open image in new tab"!
Anyway, back on topic...
Ipv4 is only a problem on the WAN, for people at home they can keep on using ipv4 and just translate it to ipv6 once it hits their router.
I can't really think of a reason you'd need an ipv4 address from your ISP since pretty much everything supports v6 now.

"We should make it clear that NVIDIA is a good company, and we respect their attempted transition into being a smartphone company." - Roy Taylor, AMD

BF3 STATS/BF4 STATS
z87
(19 items)
Media Rig
(18 items)
CPU
Core i5 4670k - [email protected]
Motherboard
MSI z87m GAMING
GPU
MSI R9 280 GAMING - 1.15ghz core/1.5ghz mem
RAM
A-DATA 2x4GB DDR3
RAM
PNY 2x4GB DDR3
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 240GB
Hard Drive
Seagate 3TB
Power Supply
Antec TruePower TP-550
Cooling
Xigmatek Gaia + Cougar VortexPWM
Case
Silverstone PS07
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
CM Storm QuickFire Rapid
Mouse
Logitech G402
Mouse
Reflex Lab Pro 32 Heavy
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO-80
Audio
Yamaha RX-V663
Audio
Micca MB42x Bookshelf Speakers
Audio
SMSL Q5
CPU
AMD Phenom II 720
Motherboard
ASRock 870 Extreme 3
GPU
HIS 5750 (840core/1200mem)
RAM
2*2GB A-Data DDR3 1600
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001
Optical Drive
Lite-On Blue Ray WH14NS40
Power Supply
Corsair CX-430
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO
Case
NZXT Beta EVO
Operating System
Windows 10 pro 64-bit
Monitor
Vizio M43-c1
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Mouse
Gigabyte M7700
Audio
Sony STR-DN1070
Audio
Definitive Technology BP8 Tower Speakers
Audio
Definitive Technology 2002 Series Center Speaker
Audio
Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 Bookshelf Speakers
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by qwertymac93; 11-03-2019 at 08:17 PM.
qwertymac93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 01:36 PM
Original 16-bit Genesis®
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: That gap between the couch cushion.
Posts: 1,659
Rep: 67 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by coupe View Post
The easy solution is to put all cell phones on ipv6.

Too late. Smartphones are already doing IPv6. The problem is that some websites are still IPv4. They have to dual stack, which still consumes IPv4 addresses through extreme NAT systems. They can't just rip off the bandaid.
Omega X is offline  
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 07:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,458
Rep: 558 (Unique: 317)
89? looks so similar to the 89 4 door deville i had in high school, which graduated into a 2000 eldo.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #16 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 11:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
braincracking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 172
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
For WAN networks, we have been supporting this for years, in large parts of Germany, providers already only hand out IPv6 addresses. If you have an internet facing service, you nearly have to support IPv6 or expect service degradation for people put on it by their ISP, NAT does come into play but its a severe bottleneck(not anecdotal, have been on the wrong end of one, and it took a bloody long time to figure out that only people on IPv6 were having performance issues), to the point that as a business you don't have a choice to only cater to IPv4 anymore(In Germany and some other EU countries at least).

Martian Horiz(e)n
(12 items)
The Leftover(s)
(18 items)
CPU
R9 3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master x570
GPU
Galax 1080ti FE
RAM
G Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 - CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
Superflower Leadex 750 Gold
Cooling
EK blocks, rads, pump/res - Barrow fittings, petg tubing.
Case
In win 509
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 34uc88-b
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB - MX brown
Mouse
Corsair M65 RGB
CPU
3770k
Motherboard
AsRock Z77 Extreme 6
GPU
Vega 56
RAM
Kingston Hyper X DDR3
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Hard Drive
Samsung Qvo
Power Supply
CoolerMaster V1000
Cooling
EK Supremacy Evo
Cooling
EK Duraclear
Cooling
Barrow compression fittings
Cooling
360 Radiator HWLabs Nemesis GT360
Cooling
Deepcool RF120M x 6 RGB fans
Case
Deepcool Matrox 500
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Viewsonic 3440x1440 curved
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Aune T1SE DAC
▲ hide details ▲
braincracking is offline  
post #17 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 05:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dotachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 800
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by qwertymac93 View Post
Tiny? Plenty big!
Right click and hit "open image in new tab"!
Anyway, back on topic...
Ipv4 is only a problem on the WAN, for people at home they can keep on using ipv4 and just translate it to ipv6 once it hits their router.
I can't really think of a reason you'd need an ipv4 address from your ISP since pretty much everything supports v6 now.
No way, NAT was an aberration, the whole point of IPv6 is you have so many available adresses that you don't need to do that ****.
Your IPv6 is yours only and can be reached form anywhere in the world without any translation (NAT replaces the origin port in the TCP package to work, which is in the transport layer, not network layer, it's bad)
Dotachin is offline  
post #18 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 06:12 AM
Tank destroyer and a god
 
Offler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,360
Rep: 86 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by emeianoite View Post
100% anyone in the IT/Networking side of things doesnt give 2 ****s.
LOL who said this?
Quote: Originally Posted by Omega X View Post
NAT is already heavily used. But it was not deemed as a long term solution due to the massive amount of new internet connected devices being made.


Huh? Google properties are already on IPv6, that includes the search engine(2607:f8b0:4002:c09::64) and YouTube(2607:f8b0:4002:810::200e). They also track IPv6 connections. Android also understands IPv6 and is in frequent controversy because their networking developer doesn't want to implement DHCPv6 in the OS. Not to mention that Mobile Telecos in the US are already using Dual Stack IPv6. Residential ISPs like Comcast, Cox and a number of others also deployed Dual Stack IPv6.
All statements above are all true at the same time.

1. Large IT companies dont give a **** and they either use NAT or VLANs as much as possible, or they are transitioning to IPv6.
Sometimes its quite easy to maintain a bunch of excel sheets with already pre-existing Vlans and subnets, effectively isolating one customer from another.

2. There are real concerns about backward compatibility, in regard to technologies which are no longer used for more than 20 years (at least i havent seen practical application in last 15 years since I work in IT). In Win10 you will still find NetBios attached to IPv4 protocol or references that certain object cannot have more than 15 characters in its name because of compatibility with NetBios.

Such systems should be already out of production, but there are still companies not implementing it, and working exclusively with IPv4...

--- Building in progress * AMD Threadripper 1900x * Asrock X399M Taichi * Radeon VII * Gskill Xflare / Samsung B-die 3200 14-14-14-32 * Samsung 970 PRO 512gb * Fractal Design Node 804 * Seasonic Prime Ultra 850 Titanium *
--- Desktop * AMD Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3,8GHz * ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 * Gigabyte R9 FuryX * A-Data XPG 2.0 / Elpida Hyper MNH 1866 @ 1600 6-6-6-18 * LSI 9211-8i / Raid 0 / 5x Corsair Force 3 GS * Creative Xfi Fatal1ty * Intel I210-T1 * Steelseries 6Gv2 * Logitech MX518 * Samsung U28E590D *
Offler is online now  
post #19 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 06:34 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,054
Rep: 340 (Unique: 241)
How many does an ISP need? None. They don't give them out to end customers for decades exactly because of this shortage and having to pay for them, so even if you can get it from them you gotta pay a hefty monthly fee to ISP just so you can have a public IP.
The ISP does not need public IPs they will simply connect to what ever provider/providers they are using, with what ever type of connections and network standards they are using. Public IPs would make some things easier for everyone that's for sure, but the amount of NAT everywhere and using private IPs is endless.

IPv6 is around for ages but so far no ISP etc. the big shots are bothering to use it so that we can move to a point where every device can have public IP, for free with no problems, no stupid NATs and other network blocks.

The transition if any is going on is painfully to borderline useless so far from an end user's point of view and experience.
JackCY is offline  
post #20 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 02:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
1Kaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 281
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
It's not dead yet... We've been predicting this for a long time.
This article is still a prediction. A doom saying all end nearing prediction, but a prediction none the less.
Let's see what happens, as it happens.
1Kaz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off