[TP] Gamer Alert: Serious Nvidia Flaw Plagues Graphics Driver - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[TP] Gamer Alert: Serious Nvidia Flaw Plagues Graphics Driver

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-03-2020, 07:13 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,362
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by Darren9 View Post
I've heard it's possible to train AI on Nvidia GPU's without creating a Geforce Experience account. I think they might be supplying different divers to this "game ready" GeForce crap that needs fixing every month.
Last I checked I needed to create an account to download cuDNN.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-03-2020, 07:36 PM
u broke 666 rep :(
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 23,551
Rep: 681 (Unique: 361)
Quote: Originally Posted by Darren9 View Post
I've heard it's possible to train AI on Nvidia GPU's without creating a Geforce Experience account. I think they might be supplying different divers to this "game ready" GeForce crap that needs fixing every month.
let's be specific here.

There is zero requirement to make use of, register for, or install Geforce Experience. so what're you referencing? there are most definitely different branches of NV drivers between the gaming/prosumer cards & the teslas. There's also zero reason to update your drivers unless you're having issues/NEED that day one. (What ever happened to Experience updating game profiles without needing a new driver?)

look into Guru3D's cleaned drivers, and their display driver uninstaller tool if you're at the mercy of the deceptive implementation of geforce experience. The features are tempting for your modern social gamer i suppose, otherwise its all trash.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
KAIHL Switches < CHERRY Switches, 10/10, blind taste test @ work.

Last edited by skupples; 03-03-2020 at 07:41 PM.
skupples is online now  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-03-2020, 08:45 PM
Politically incorrect
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Soviet China... Oh wait..
Posts: 8,851
Rep: 620 (Unique: 302)
We all know that only AMD have problems with their drivers, servers or otherwise. This article is total rubbish and I refuse to accept that leather jacket man would allow such a thing to pass, especially as it might affect the purchase of his next room sized wardrobe.

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by faraz1729 go_quote.gif
Haha, Liranan, you creep.

Tacitus - The more corrupt the state, the more numerous the laws

Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money. - Cree Indian Proverb
Liranan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-03-2020, 09:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wilts, U.K.
Posts: 3,622
Rep: 457 (Unique: 389)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
let's be specific here.

There is zero requirement to make use of, register for, or install Geforce Experience. so what're you referencing? there are most definitely different branches of NV drivers between the gaming/prosumer cards & the teslas.

look into Guru3D's cleaned drivers, and their display driver uninstaller tool if you're at the mercy of the deceptive implementation of geforce experience. The features are tempting for your modern social gamer i suppose, otherwise its all trash.
I don't entirely agree, GeForce Experience is required to unlock hardware features. I do actually own the hardware video encoder along with the rest of the GPU - It's not licenced to me, and I do clearly remember the fuss Nvidia made when they added them. The whole point of a hardware encoder is it's hardware and I shouldn't have to create and sign into an account to unlock hardware I own.


Darren9 is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 09:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rainzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 111
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by dagget3450 View Post
This is a mistake, surely they must have meant AMD drivers here? This is a non issue for nvidia, Wait for WannaBeOCer to post links to publications on how Jensen uses his silicon power AI to travel into the future, and find exploits on drivers not even coded yet so they can be remedied before they are ever made.


It's coming....
AMD has the same issues, they just choose no to tell you about it. Kinda weird given how they are transparent and user friendly and everything godlike about them....
rainzor is offline  
post #16 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 01:59 PM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Rep: 225 (Unique: 140)
So the latest drivers are fine? I haven't had any issues with specific drivers so I have been keeping them up to date, but I don't remember what the number was on the latest driver.

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #17 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-07-2020, 09:04 AM
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,668
Rep: 194 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by Darren9 View Post
I don't entirely agree, GeForce Experience is required to unlock hardware features. I do actually own the hardware video encoder along with the rest of the GPU - It's not licenced to me, and I do clearly remember the fuss Nvidia made when they added them. The whole point of a hardware encoder is it's hardware and I shouldn't have to create and sign into an account to unlock hardware I own.
You can use the hardware video encoder without GeForce Experience. What are you on about?
How to Enable Hardware Encoding (NVENC) in OBS
HWAccelIntro - FFmpeg
And many more...

There are really a lot of different software options that can use NVEnc today. None of them require GeForce Experience.
Asmodian is offline  
post #18 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 07:02 AM
Turtle Rig Fan
 
aDyerSituation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,411
Rep: 99 (Unique: 71)
I stream with nvenc through slobs. I never download geforce experience, useless for me.

DyerLIVE
(15 items)
CPU
i7 7820x 4.7 ghz, 3.0ghz mesh
Motherboard
X299 ASUS ROG Strix-E
GPU
1080 Ti
RAM
32gb 3800mhz 16-17-16-37-1T trfc 400 (Model F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK)
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 730 240GB
Hard Drive
Intel 530 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
DeepCool Castle EX 360mm
Case
Fractal Meshify S2 White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
AOC G2460PF 24” 144hz
Keyboard
Logitech G610
Mouse
Logitech G203
Mousepad
Steel Series XXL
▲ hide details ▲
aDyerSituation is offline  
post #19 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,708
Rep: 174 (Unique: 128)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Last I checked I needed to create an account to download cuDNN.
Yes, create an Nvidia account. Don't need to touch GEForce Experience. I have cuDNN on my system for Waifu2 and have never installed GEForce experience.


DNMock is offline  
post #20 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 03:40 PM
u broke 666 rep :(
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 23,551
Rep: 681 (Unique: 361)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
You can use the hardware video encoder without GeForce Experience. What are you on about?
How to Enable Hardware Encoding (NVENC) in OBS
HWAccelIntro - FFmpeg
And many more...

There are really a lot of different software options that can use NVEnc today. None of them require GeForce Experience.
Quote: Originally Posted by aDyerSituation View Post
I stream with nvenc through slobs. I never download geforce experience, useless for me.
hey thanks.

been trying to figure out how to utilize my shield (aside from home brew n stuff) now that EXPERIENCE is hell bent on ruining my life across multiple sets of hardware. PEBKAC? maybe.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
KAIHL Switches < CHERRY Switches, 10/10, blind taste test @ work.
skupples is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off