[WCCF] HITMAN To Feature Best Implementation Of DX12 Async Compute Yet, Says AMD - Page 38 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[WCCF] HITMAN To Feature Best Implementation Of DX12 Async Compute Yet, Says AMD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #371 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 08:01 AM
The Challenger
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 290 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defoler View Post

Even though nvidia can only implement the queue it in drivers right now, the actual compute is done on their GPU just like with AMD.
Since the last drivers fix from nvidia for ashes to actually implement it, we have seen nvidia being just as competitive on it.
This is not true. The driver only brought nVidia's performance of DX12 up to DX11 level, since DX11 was faster in the earlier versions.

nVidia's current hardware cannot do concurrent graphics + compute asynchronously, while AMD's can. This has been tested extensively.
NightAntilli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #372 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 01:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Serios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,112
Rep: 48 (Unique: 32)
Yeah I did quick search jut to be sure but if Nvidia would have enabled A-sync in AotS logically all sites would have benchmarked it and would have talked about it, but nothing. Also I haven't seen an nvidia driver that mentions they have enabled that feature in AotS.
Serios is offline  
post #373 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 01:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,035
Rep: 57 (Unique: 42)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyshagg View Post

I understand your point, but because benchmarks and analysis and conclusions were made based on that version, the graphical discrepancy matters in that point in time.



I don't know how it went unnoticed. People are not looking at image quality anymore. No one expects mistakes from the past (lowering image quality) to be made again in 2015, but they were and we should be aware for our own good.



Losing a company such as AMD to this type of dishonesty would be criminal and everybody's loss.


you don't have to answer but what do you mean?

that game is not even out yet its beta for all we know a lot of graphics might be cut out to make it easier to run.
how many times has a game dev done this like a million times...I am not saying that game will but I would not put it passed any game maker in this day and age.
that game does not run too well on anything anyways by just the looks of higher rez benches
cowie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #374 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 02:59 PM
Hey I get one of these!
 
KyadCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,453
Rep: 319 (Unique: 222)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defoler View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyadCK View Post

Soooooo you just hate efficiency then? It really isn't an AMD only thing forever, it just is for now.

Even though nvidia can only implement the queue it in drivers right now, the actual compute is done on their GPU just like with AMD.
Since the last drivers fix from nvidia for ashes to actually implement it, we have seen nvidia being just as competitive on it.

With more CPU load that doesn't need to exist, and with pausing the GPU to do them, and with one of the lightest ASync loads. This very thread is about it being used more.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kand View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyadCK View Post

Soooooo you just hate efficiency then? It really isn't an AMD only thing forever, it just is for now.

Windows 10. Actually.

So other APIs do not exist? Apple's Metal, Vulkan?

Huh. I've been edumakated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serios View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defoler View Post

Even though nvidia can only implement the queue it in drivers right now, the actual compute is done on their GPU just like with AMD.
Since the last drivers fix from nvidia for ashes to actually implement it, we have seen nvidia being just as competitive on it.
I've seen no mention of that, you are just assuming.

The new driver allows them to be capable of accepting the DX12 command associated with using them.

It then proceeds to half-ass it on the CPU, load it into the queue at the driver level, pause the GPU, context switch, process it, and context switch back to graphical load.

It's a typical software solution for a hardware problem until they add the hardware.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightAntilli View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defoler View Post

Even though nvidia can only implement the queue it in drivers right now, the actual compute is done on their GPU just like with AMD.
Since the last drivers fix from nvidia for ashes to actually implement it, we have seen nvidia being just as competitive on it.
This is not true. The driver only brought nVidia's performance of DX12 up to DX11 level, since DX11 was faster in the earlier versions.

nVidia's current hardware cannot do concurrent graphics + compute asynchronously, while AMD's can. This has been tested extensively.

^ That.

Forge
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
AMD 5700XT PowerColor Devil
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo (2x16GB 3600Mhz/C16)
Hard Drive
Intel 900P 480GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
Corsair H150i
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
2x Acer XR341CK
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB
Audio
Sennheiser HD700
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-9
Audio
Audio Technica AT4040
▲ hide details ▲
KyadCK is offline  
post #375 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 03:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
spyshagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 851
Rep: 58 (Unique: 48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post

you don't have to answer but what do you mean?

Hi

AMD is in a fragile position without there being a good reason for it. Their graphics cards performance should warrant a much stronger market position. Yet its not happening. Why?
Market perception perhaps. And this market is easily swayed by reviews opinions etc, as it should! but it seems that every time AMD market perception is brought down, nvidia as finger on it. And they are willing to go dirty big time. Gameworks was a stroke of genius. Its nothing but a cancer, but its being spread as a cure for games for the benefit of gamers. And by gamers I mean everyone who buys their currently available hardware, not their 2 year old hardware. And now, we have async. A dx12 spec feature in its own right. Capable of providing double digits performance gains when supported. Maxwell cant do it natively, so what do they do? fix the game with drivers! as it turns out, image quality was brought down and nobody noticed when it mattered. But that is OK!!! Its OK because performance reviews and articles were already written! the market was already swayed when it mattered. The resulting perception? = nvidia only needed drivers! its async performance is on PAR with AMD. Job done nvidia.

Only our money can keep companies honest. spend it on fallacies tricks and dishonesty and soon this will be the only choice on the market.
spyshagg is offline  
post #376 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 05:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kollock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 39
Rep: 85 (Unique: 39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyadCK View Post

With more CPU load that doesn't need to exist, and with pausing the GPU to do them, and with one of the lightest ASync loads. This very thread is about it being used more.
So other APIs do not exist? Apple's Metal, Vulkan?

Huh. I've been edumakated.
The new driver allows them to be capable of accepting the DX12 command associated with using them.

It then proceeds to half-ass it on the CPU, load it into the queue at the driver level, pause the GPU, context switch, process it, and context switch back to graphical load.

It's a typical software solution for a hardware problem until they add the hardware.
^ That.

Async compute is currently forcibly disabled on public builds of Ashes for NV hardware. Whatever performance changes you are seeing driver to driver doesn't have anything to do with async compute.
Kollock is offline  
post #377 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 05:43 PM
 
escksu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kollock View Post

Async compute is currently forcibly disabled on public builds of Ashes for NV hardware. Whatever performance changes you are seeing driver to driver doesn't have anything to do with async compute.

Does NV hardware support Async compute?
escksu is offline  
post #378 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 05:47 PM
Simpleton
 
EightDee8D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,865
Rep: 184 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by escksu View Post

Does NV hardware support Async compute?
probably not at same level as AMD does.

Ryzinga
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3 3300X
Motherboard
Asus Prime B350
GPU
GTX 1050 TI 4GB
RAM
G-SKILL F4 3200C16D 16GTZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP300
Hard Drive
Seagate 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair TX650 v2
Cooling
Wraith Prism
Case
Corsair 400R
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Asus VG236h 120hz 3D
Keyboard
Corsair K60
Mouse
Logitech G402
Audio
Sennheiser PC 320
▲ hide details ▲
EightDee8D is offline  
post #379 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 06:06 PM
pass the lortabs
 
p4inkill3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rusk, TX
Posts: 4,996
Rep: 513 (Unique: 311)
Quote:
Originally Posted by escksu View Post

Does NV hardware support Async compute?
Rhetorical question, right?

p4inkill3r is offline  
post #380 of 799 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 06:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kollock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 39
Rep: 85 (Unique: 39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyadCK View Post

With more CPU load that doesn't need to exist, and with pausing the GPU to do them, and with one of the lightest ASync loads. This very thread is about it being used more.
So other APIs do not exist? Apple's Metal, Vulkan?

Huh. I've been edumakated.
The new driver allows them to be capable of accepting the DX12 command associated with using them.

It then proceeds to half-ass it on the CPU, load it into the queue at the driver level, pause the GPU, context switch, process it, and context switch back to graphical load.

It's a typical software solution for a hardware problem until they add the hardware.
^ That.

Async compute is currently forcibly disabled on public builds of Ashes for NV hardware. Whatever performance changes you are seeing driver to driver doesn't have anything to do with async compute.
Quote:
Originally Posted by escksu View Post

Does NV hardware support Async compute?

I can confirm that the latest shipping DX12 drivers from NV do support async compute. You'd have to ask NV how specifically it is implemented.
Kollock is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off