[WCCFTECH] Unreal Engine Adds Ray Tracing Support - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[WCCFTECH] Unreal Engine Adds Ray Tracing Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2019, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Portgas D. Ace
 
keikei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10,018
Rep: 311 (Unique: 238)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ultracarpet View Post
It would be neat if they added ray tracing to a bunch of older games. For example: I would love to replay through all the dragon age and mass effect games with ray tracing.

It seems like Nvidia is doubling down on RTX. The only limitation here is their marketing budget.

PCMR
(18 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 7 1700
Motherboard
ASROCK TAICHI X370
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC2 ULTRA
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
WD Red 4TB NAS HDD (x2)
Hard Drive
8TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (x2)
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 860 EVO SSD 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue SSD 2TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S (CPU COOLER)
Cooling
Cooler Master JetFlo 120mm Blue LED Fan (X6)
Case
LIAN LI PC-V760B
Operating System
WINDOWS 10 64
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp UP2718Q - LED monitor - 4K - 27"
Keyboard
VORTEX POK3R WHITE EDITION
Mouse
LOGITECH G305 WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598 Cs Headphones
Other
Real Arcade Pro. 4 Kai Joystick modded
▲ hide details ▲
keikei is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-17-2019, 01:21 AM
It Just Works
 
TFL Replica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14,976
Raytracing in games won't be green team exclusive forever.


TFL Replica is offline  
post #23 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-17-2019, 01:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 570
Rep: 14 (Unique: 12)
Indeed, and if AMD needs more Compute area on the silicone- we all know that they have no problem with compute power, they are just waiting for the right time/technology/lithography/game engine development.
Also, since the cycle time of the consoles are few years, I think Sony or MS will implement DXR on the chip, so even if no games will be ready at launch- they will use if in later game releases, also many TV's already support HDR, so when you play on 65"+ 4K/HDR TV with ray-tracing - it's going to be nice!.
Also DLSS - since many TV's are 4K now and later ~8K, I am sure Sony and MS will implement some up-scaling tech too.

Last edited by Hwgeek; 02-17-2019 at 01:57 AM.
Hwgeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-17-2019, 01:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
littledonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,470
Rep: 75 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ultracarpet View Post
It would be neat if they added ray tracing to a bunch of older games. For example: I would love to replay through all the dragon age and mass effect games with ray tracing.
Me too.

littledonny is offline  
post #25 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 12:15 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by guitarmageddon88 View Post
True. I want a better solution that can be more widely implemented for true positional audio. Some games did Dolby back in the day, now they do the atmos version which if you game on anything not HDMI you're pretty much left out as far as I can tell. So what you're left with now on 5.1 is a center channel barely supported and basically just 4.1
This is not accurate. True positional audio has existed in gaming for a long time.

As far as dolby digital stuff, anytime your using dolby anything, it means the audio is being compressed to save bandwidth. This is completely unnecessary for HDMI, it's mostly for optical cables. Dolby atoms is also nothing special, it's just an emulation technique that attempts to make your sound fill the room a little better but it's a total gimmick that should be ignored.

Game audio tech is already fantastic.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #26 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 06:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ilmazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South United States Of Europe
Posts: 967
Rep: 30 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
It can't be that simple, otherwise we'd be looking at AMD entries in Port Royal's HoF right now.
PR is a PR marketing tool, guess who founded that..... ($$$)

M8
(11 items)
Otto
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
Asrock Taichi X470
GPU
sapphire fury nitro oc
RAM
GSkill Trident Z RGB 16GB 3200 Cl14
Hard Drive
SSD Crucial MX500 500GB
Power Supply
Antec HPC 850 Platinum
Cooling
noctua dual fan 120
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Operating System
microsoft windows 10 pro
Monitor
DELL U2311H
Monitor
ASUS MX34VQ
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7
Motherboard
P8H77-I
GPU
AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
RAM
8 GB 1600
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Seasonic G-750
Case
Bitfenix Prodigy mitx
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Monitor
DELL U2311H
▲ hide details ▲
ilmazzo is offline  
post #27 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 07:44 AM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 6,973
Rep: 390 (Unique: 203)
Quote: Originally Posted by ilmazzo View Post
PR is a PR marketing tool, guess who founded that..... ($$$)
Oh, so that's why AMD isn't supporting ray tracing with their current hardware... It was all a ploy by nVidia! Damn Jensen! It's their fault the VII can't ray trace Metro Exodus at 60+ FPS!

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
GPU
MSI 2080 Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
Mouse
Glorious Odin
Mousepad
Asus Scabbard
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (B pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
post #28 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 10:24 AM
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,500
Rep: 177 (Unique: 123)
This all has to do with how simple it is to implement DxR into their engines. Microsoft already announced a list of Engines that were already working on adding DxR support to their DirectX 12 engines.

https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/dir...tx-raytracing/

Quote:
You may have noticed that DXR does not introduce a new GPU engine to go alongside DX12’s existing Graphics and Compute engines. This is intentional – DXR workloads can be run on either of DX12’s existing engines. The primary reason for this is that, fundamentally, DXR is a compute-like workload. It does not require complex state such as output merger blend modes or input assembler vertex layouts. A secondary reason, however, is that representing DXR as a compute-like workload is aligned to what we see as the future of graphics, namely that hardware will be increasingly general-purpose, and eventually most fixed-function units will be replaced by HLSL code.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 4.2Ghz w/ 1v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 1900Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1v
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 16GB 3866Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #29 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 10:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ilmazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South United States Of Europe
Posts: 967
Rep: 30 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
Oh, so that's why AMD isn't supporting ray tracing with their current hardware... It was all a ploy by nVidia! Damn Jensen! It's their fault the VII can't ray trace Metro Exodus at 60+ FPS!
Well, no.... I was thinking about DLSS in first place, then questioning why a famous sh of pc gpu benchmarks will start developing a benchmark suite hardcoded to a gaming technology not even on the market or announced......can amd gpus play that bench? real question, not trolling

M8
(11 items)
Otto
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
Asrock Taichi X470
GPU
sapphire fury nitro oc
RAM
GSkill Trident Z RGB 16GB 3200 Cl14
Hard Drive
SSD Crucial MX500 500GB
Power Supply
Antec HPC 850 Platinum
Cooling
noctua dual fan 120
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Operating System
microsoft windows 10 pro
Monitor
DELL U2311H
Monitor
ASUS MX34VQ
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7
Motherboard
P8H77-I
GPU
AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
RAM
8 GB 1600
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Seasonic G-750
Case
Bitfenix Prodigy mitx
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Monitor
DELL U2311H
▲ hide details ▲
ilmazzo is offline  
post #30 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 11:52 AM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 6,973
Rep: 390 (Unique: 203)
Quote: Originally Posted by ilmazzo View Post
Well, no.... I was thinking about DLSS in first place, then questioning why a famous sh of pc gpu benchmarks will start developing a benchmark suite hardcoded to a gaming technology not even on the market or announced......can amd gpus play that bench? real question, not trolling
AFAIK, AMD doesn't yet support DxR with their drivers. nVidia started doing it with 418.XX. When AMD does, I suppose you can have a crack at Port Royal (and Metro ray tracing, for that matter). It's anyone's guess what kind of performance the VII would get.

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
GPU
MSI 2080 Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
Mouse
Glorious Odin
Mousepad
Asus Scabbard
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (B pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off