[PCGamesN] [Updated] Early Ryzen 3000 adopters can’t play Destiny 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[PCGamesN] [Updated] Early Ryzen 3000 adopters can’t play Destiny 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,739
Rep: 179 (Unique: 123)
Source: https://www.pcgamesn.com/destiny-2/amd-ryzen-3000

Quote:
If you try to launch Destiny 2 with a Ryzen 3000 series installed, Battle.net will show that the game is running, but it will never actually load. The Destiny 2 executable will briefly show in the task manager and report a modicum of CPU usage, but eventually disappears – all while Blizzard’️s launcher keeps showing you in-game.

Players have reported the issue on subreddits for Destiny and AMD, and on the game’️s official forums. It appears to be affecting every Ryzen 3000 series variant, and no other specific driver installs or hardware combinations seem to affect the problem either way. Bungie hasn’️t yet commented on the issue, so there’️s no ETA on a fix just yet.
The issue was escalated to Bungie's support team 2 days ago. Hopefully they fix it before Xur disappears.

Update 1:

https://www.bungie.net/en/Forums/Pos...&page=0&path=1

Quote:
BNGHelp4
Hello,
Thank you for your report. We have escalated this issue for investigation.
Update 2:

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...Linux-Zen2-Fix

Quote:
I just received the following official statement from AMD:
AMD has identified the root cause and implemented a BIOS fix for an issue impacting the ability to run certain Linux distributions and Destiny 2 on Ryzen 3000 processors. We have distributed an updated BIOS to our motherboard partners, and we expect consumers to have access to the new BIOS over the coming days.
Update 3 - still not resolved. Chipset driver workaround is being tested.

https://www.pcgamesn.com/amd/destiny-2-ryzen-patch

Quote:
“Concerning Destiny 2,” Hallock writes on a Reddit post, “this is indeed something we caught after launch. Plain and simple: I’m sorry. It is not a title that is in our standard test suite, as it’s difficult to reliably benchmark. When we caught it, we sent out a proactive statement to our global press list, about 700 members, resulting in coverage like this. We also collaborated with Bungie support staff to root cause the issue and communicate with their customer support team to let users know what’s up.

“I’m hoping you can help me test a workaround driver that should get you into the game. This is a beta chipset driver, and it may give you an installer warning or two if you’re upgrading an existing driver, but I believe this should work around the D2 launch issue. Can you let me know if it works?”

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1218mV
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 07-30-2019 at 10:26 AM.
WannaBeOCer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 08:13 PM
AMD Acolyte
 
qwertymac93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: just here
Posts: 1,415
Rep: 76 (Unique: 70)
Something to do with the CPUID? Why would the game need anything but "AuthenticAMD/GenuineIntel" and SSE/AVX flags? Kind of odd to run into a problem like this these days, isn't it?

"We should make it clear that NVIDIA is a good company, and we respect their attempted transition into being a smartphone company." - Roy Taylor, AMD

BF3 STATS/BF4 STATS
z87
(19 items)
Media Rig
(18 items)
CPU
Core i5 4670k - [email protected]
Motherboard
MSI z87m GAMING
GPU
MSI R9 280 GAMING - 1.15ghz core/1.5ghz mem
RAM
A-DATA 2x4GB DDR3
RAM
PNY 2x4GB DDR3
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 240GB
Hard Drive
Seagate 3TB
Power Supply
Antec TruePower TP-550
Cooling
Xigmatek Gaia + Cougar VortexPWM
Case
Silverstone PS07
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
CM Storm QuickFire Rapid
Mouse
Logitech G402
Mouse
Reflex Lab Pro 32 Heavy
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO-80
Audio
Yamaha RX-V663
Audio
Micca MB42x Bookshelf Speakers
Audio
SMSL Q5
CPU
AMD Phenom II 720
Motherboard
ASRock 870 Extreme 3
GPU
HIS 5750 (840core/1200mem)
RAM
2*2GB A-Data DDR3 1600
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001
Optical Drive
Lite-On Blue Ray WH14NS40
Power Supply
Corsair CX-430
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO
Case
NZXT Beta EVO
Operating System
Windows 10 pro 64-bit
Monitor
Vizio M43-c1
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Mouse
Gigabyte M7700
Audio
Sony STR-DN1070
Audio
Definitive Technology BP8 Tower Speakers
Audio
Definitive Technology 2002 Series Center Speaker
Audio
Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 Bookshelf Speakers
▲ hide details ▲
qwertymac93 is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 09:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AmericanLoco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 991
Rep: 112 (Unique: 70)
Quote: Originally Posted by qwertymac93 View Post
Something to do with the CPUID? Why would the game need anything but "AuthenticAMD/GenuineIntel" and SSE/AVX flags? Kind of odd to run into a problem like this these days, isn't it?
If it's not actual code bug that somehow plays bad with the 3000 series, it's probably a CPUID problem. I bet instead of properly reading the CPUID information (and parsing things like AVX, SSE4, etc...) to see which code path they can run, they probably just hard-coded CPU model/families in. Unrecognized family = no go.
AmericanLoco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 09:42 PM
Original 16-bit Genesis®
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: That gap between the couch cushion.
Posts: 1,666
Rep: 67 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by AmericanLoco View Post
If it's not actual code bug that somehow plays bad with the 3000 series, it's probably a CPUID problem. I bet instead of properly reading the CPUID information (and parsing things like AVX, SSE4, etc...) to see which code path they can run, they probably just hard-coded CPU model/families in. Unrecognized family = no go.



If that's true then it can get added to the "Dumb **** Game Developers do" pile.
Omega X is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 09:44 PM
Spaghetti
 
Buris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,031
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
Quote: Originally Posted by AmericanLoco View Post
If it's not actual code bug that somehow plays bad with the 3000 series, it's probably a CPUID problem. I bet instead of properly reading the CPUID information (and parsing things like AVX, SSE4, etc...) to see which code path they can run, they probably just hard-coded CPU model/families in. Unrecognized family = no go.
Yep, these are the same developers who claimed Destiny 2 required SSE4 in order to run, and then one day, miraculously, it supported older CPUs, having absolutely no performance hit. Almost like they're being lazy.

MARS
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G-Skill Sniper
Hard Drive
WD EMAZ001
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
Noctua U12A
Case
NZXT H500
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10
Operating System
Pop! OS
Monitor
BenQ XL2730z
Keyboard
Aukey Mechanical
Mouse
Mionix Castor
Mousepad
Aukey
Audio
PreSonus Eris E3.5
Audio
SennHeiser 598
Audio
Blue Yeti
▲ hide details ▲
Buris is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 09:49 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,739
Rep: 179 (Unique: 123)
According to the article this is the second processor issue Bungie had with Destiny 2. The first one was with Phenom II which couldn't launch the game since it required SSSE3 which they removed with Hotfix 1.0.5.1.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1218mV
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 11:18 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,830
Rep: 802 (Unique: 455)
game cache™

yeah i know

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 68
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
a blessing in disguise
appylol is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
m4fox90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 516
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
I get the feeling this is supposed to be a bad thing yet...

Silence in the Snow
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
RTX 2080Ti Black Edition/Hydro Copper
RAM
G.Skill RipJaws V 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 3TB
Hard Drive
Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
EK PE360 + Hardware Labs Black Ice GTS360
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Predator XB271HU
▲ hide details ▲
m4fox90 is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,328
Rep: 338 (Unique: 248)
Anthem had a similar issue when the pre-release launched because EA wasnt reading CPU stuff right either. Anything from AMD before FX processors didn't work and Intel 6700K's also didnt work for whatever reason. lol. Same behavior, Anthem .exe is in task manager but nothing happens and it just sat there with low CPU usage doing nothing.

EniGma1987 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off