[TweakTown] Borderlands 3 Benchmarked: Titan RTX Can't Even Hit 4K 60FPS - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[TweakTown] Borderlands 3 Benchmarked: Titan RTX Can't Even Hit 4K 60FPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 01:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Assirra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,092
Rep: 96 (Unique: 66)
I guess the check of the QA team went into all the controversies of the CEO.
Oh and paying the "investigators" to the dude that "spoiled" the game on the internet.

Assirra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 01:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,405
Rep: 558 (Unique: 317)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
They get a check from Nvidia or something. Not saying it's real but it is odd when a game comes out with basic graphics and manages to get almost exactly 60 fps on a 2080 ti maxed out. Just seems like an odd coincidence.
I get it for Control, since it features Ray Tracing. That title runs like uber ass no matter what. 5.2 9700k, 2.1k 1080ti, stupid fast low latency memory, 1440p low - sub 60fps blur fest.

the settings you turn down to get playable frames in BL3 are the same things you always turn down.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #13 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,623
Rep: 177 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
I get it for Control, since it features Ray Tracing. That title runs like uber ass no matter what. 5.2 9700k, 2.1k 1080ti, stupid fast low latency memory, 1440p low - sub 60fps blur fest.

the settings you turn down to get playable frames in BL3 are the same things you always turn down.
What a theory, a game literally designed for AMD cards but the developers are some how being paid off by nVidia. Last I checked a RTX 2080 Ti was an average of 56% faster than a 5700 XT and Borderlands 3 is actually below that average at 40% faster.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	relative-performance_3840-2160.png
Views:	42
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	297468  


Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1218mV
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 09-23-2019 at 01:54 PM.
WannaBeOCer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 01:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Outcasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lichfield, UK
Posts: 5,969
Rep: 295 (Unique: 271)
Quote: Originally Posted by Playapplepie View Post
Do you happen to have a link for that? My 1070 seems to have pretty frequent frame dips. Not sure if it's the card showing its age or if the game is un-optimized. Perhaps both?

I used the HUB Quality options. I'd give the HUB Performance options a go on a 1070.

"Aoccdrnig to rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a tatol mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit a porbelm. This is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe."


Outcasst is offline  
post #15 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 02:06 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,384
Rep: 33 (Unique: 29)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
What a theory, a game literally designed for AMD cards but the developers are some how being paid off by nVidia. Last I checked a RTX 2080 Ti was an average of 56% faster than a 5700 XT and Borderlands 3 is actually below that average at 40% faster.
I'm assuming you meant to quote me?

Again, not suggesting that is really the case but it's a bit odd when performance hits the absolute limit for a game with no visual stand out features.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #16 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 02:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,405
Rep: 558 (Unique: 317)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
I'm assuming you meant to quote me?

Again, not suggesting that is really the case but it's a bit odd when performance hits the absolute limit for a game with no visual stand out features.
except for when its par for the course for said title's series

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #17 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 02:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,508
Rep: 171 (Unique: 125)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
I'm assuming you meant to quote me?

Again, not suggesting that is really the case but it's a bit odd when performance hits the absolute limit for a game with no visual stand out features.
The reality is probably that they used a 2080ti as the baseline and did optimizations until they got around 60 fps @ 4k with it and said "good enough" before going back to trying to squeeze the most out of the xbox and ps4.

Basically they did the least amount of work possible to make it passable in regards to PC optimization.


I pulled the textures out of the game files when it first came out, and a lot of them are way over-sized for a game like this. Why a borderlands character needs a 4k texture for the top half of their character model is beyond me.


DNMock is offline  
post #18 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 02:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,405
Rep: 558 (Unique: 317)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
The reality is probably that they used a 2080ti as the baseline and did optimizations until they got around 60 fps @ 4k with it and said "good enough" before going back to trying to squeeze the most out of the xbox and ps4.

Basically they did the least amount of work possible to make it passable in regards to PC optimization.


I pulled the textures out of the game files when it first came out, and a lot of them are way over-sized for a game like this. Why a borderlands character needs a 4k texture for the top half of their character model is beyond me.
they could have at least given a week of early/"beta" access to get the metrics they needed to smooth things out ahead of time.

I'd assume folks will be designing repacks if that's the truth.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #19 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,623
Rep: 177 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
The reality is probably that they used a 2080ti as the baseline and did optimizations until they got around 60 fps @ 4k with it and said "good enough" before going back to trying to squeeze the most out of the xbox and ps4.

Basically they did the least amount of work possible to make it passable in regards to PC optimization.


I pulled the textures out of the game files when it first came out, and a lot of them are way over-sized for a game like this. Why a borderlands character needs a 4k texture for the top half of their character model is beyond me.
they could have at least given a week of early/"beta" access to get the metrics they needed to smooth things out ahead of time.

I'd assume folks will be designing repacks if that's the truth.
The results from TweakTown are just using the built in benchmark. Just like Metro Exodus the game runs much better in game.

https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/3...-vs-game-tests

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1218mV
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #20 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 02:36 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,384
Rep: 33 (Unique: 29)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
The reality is probably that they used a 2080ti as the baseline and did optimizations until they got around 60 fps @ 4k with it and said "good enough" before going back to trying to squeeze the most out of the xbox and ps4.

Basically they did the least amount of work possible to make it passable in regards to PC optimization.


I pulled the textures out of the game files when it first came out, and a lot of them are way over-sized for a game like this. Why a borderlands character needs a 4k texture for the top half of their character model is beyond me.
That makes sense. Lazy dev.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off