[AnandTech] GeForce NOW Leaves Beta, Game Streaming Service Launches With New RTX Servers - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[AnandTech] GeForce NOW Leaves Beta, Game Streaming Service Launches With New RTX Servers

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 05:45 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mad Pistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Beach, Florida
Posts: 6,323
Rep: 291 (Unique: 210)
Quote: Originally Posted by LancerVI View Post
What's up with the time limits. Even if I pay, there is a time limit? I understand 1 hour for free accounts, but the paid account says "extended sessions".

WTH does that mean?
6 hours.

IMO, that's not a big deal. I can't think of a game I've played for 6 hours straight since I was in college.



Mad Pistol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 08:13 AM
Indentified! On the Way!!
 
LancerVI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,668
Rep: 154 (Unique: 115)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mad Pistol View Post
6 hours.

IMO, that's not a big deal. I can't think of a game I've played for 6 hours straight since I was in college.
Not that I disagree, but what is the time out. Say I play six hours, get booted; when can I come back?
LancerVI is offline  
post #23 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 09:36 AM
Retired Staff
 
Mad Pistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Beach, Florida
Posts: 6,323
Rep: 291 (Unique: 210)
Quote: Originally Posted by LancerVI View Post
Not that I disagree, but what is the time out. Say I play six hours, get booted; when can I come back?
You can come back immediately. As of now, this is probably a limitation of the technology.

It's probably an issue having to do with the virtualized nature of the tech. If I had to guess, Nvidia allocates a certain amount of GPU/CPU power depending on the game (older games require significantly less power to run than newer titles), so it allows Nvidia to rebalance available resources depending on the current user load. Nvidia might be able to host 3 free accounts for every 1 paid account, so it allows Nvidia to balance free accounts to less powerful, lower priority servers and paid accounts to higher priority servers.

Working in a realm of IT, we have different tiers of storage, servers, etc. and if a server is not able to maintain the load, we can migrate it to another virtual server in a matter of minutes (or less).

Virtualization is a beautiful thing.




EDIT: I just did a test with Borderlands 3 using the free Geforce NOW. I played for the full hour (which was very enjoyable, I might add). At the end of it, it gives you a count down, and then terminates your session, so make sure you have a recent save so you can pick up where you left off.

After it kicked me from my session, I was able to immediately start a new session. Again, this is for the FREE account. If it lets the free account do this, there's no doubt that the paid account can rejoin immediately as well.




Last edited by Mad Pistol; 02-06-2020 at 10:43 AM.
Mad Pistol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 12:01 PM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,995
Rep: 228 (Unique: 143)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
NV

shield, and finally Geforce now client.
Have you used the shield to do the home network streaming? I am considering getting the new shield to run plex and maybe run games through my pc to the tv, but I wasn't sure how well it worked. I would be using it wired.

I'm not the least bit interested in streaming games across the internet with my 5mbps dsl connection.

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #25 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 03:10 PM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,291
Rep: 736 (Unique: 388)
Quote: Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post
Have you used the shield to do the home network streaming? I am considering getting the new shield to run plex and maybe run games through my pc to the tv, but I wasn't sure how well it worked. I would be using it wired.

I'm not the least bit interested in streaming games across the internet with my 5mbps dsl connection.
yep. I had my PC in the back office, but wanted to enjoy my games nearly 1:1 in the side room of my bedroom (weird house) I tried it all, ended up with the shield. up to 4K60, and latency is nominal. I however have never tested the wifi functionality.

i'd recommend getting the newest Pro version if you wanna use plex, etc.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #26 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-10-2020, 10:04 AM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,995
Rep: 228 (Unique: 143)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
yep. I had my PC in the back office, but wanted to enjoy my games nearly 1:1 in the side room of my bedroom (weird house) I tried it all, ended up with the shield. up to 4K60, and latency is nominal. I however have never tested the wifi functionality.

i'd recommend getting the newest Pro version if you wanna use plex, etc.
I got the pro over the weekend. I still haven't set it up (I have to run an ethernet cable to the tv) but I will hopefully have it up an running this week. I'm really hoping I can download media to it with Netflix, Disney and Amazon so that I can bring it to work where the internet is fast to fill it up for use at home where the internet is slow.

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #27 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-10-2020, 03:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheBDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 767
Rep: 25 (Unique: 21)
I wanted to play Deus Ex. They have apparently been removed. This is why I dont do stream gaming. Also, I have to reinstall games I want to play like constantly, especially when using the epic games launcher (in gfn).

Last edited by TheBDK; 02-10-2020 at 03:12 PM.
TheBDK is offline  
post #28 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 02:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imouto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,181
Rep: 234 (Unique: 110)
Nvidia’s GeForce Now is losing all Activision Blizzard games, a bad sign for cloud gaming

Quote:
That means one of the service’s biggest publishers, as well as its Battle.net catalog of games, will no longer be available just a week after the service’s formal launch — a launch that was already missing many games from Capcom, EA, Konami, Remedy, Rockstar and Square Enix, all of which seemed to have pulled out after Nvidia’s beta period ended.
https://www.theverge.com/2020/2/11/2...games-carriage

I never thought these companies would be bullying Nvidia. This could start an interesting power dynamic.

#EnthusiastLivesMatter
Imouto is offline  
post #29 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 03:59 AM
Just Lift Bro
 
hokk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,217
Rep: 166 (Unique: 125)
Quote: Originally Posted by Imouto View Post
Nvidia’s GeForce Now is losing all Activision Blizzard games, a bad sign for cloud gaming



https://www.theverge.com/2020/2/11/2...games-carriage

I never thought these companies would be bullying Nvidia. This could start an interesting power dynamic.
Yeah rip my cod lol

R.I.P Terry Davis


hokk is offline  
post #30 of 117 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 04:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 675
Rep: 17 (Unique: 15)
I thought "it's just works!" ...
P.S: found hidden setting if you are interested:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GeforceNowHiddenSettings.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	326248  

Hwgeek is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off