[Phoronix] NVIDIA Demonstrates Porting Of DirectX Ray-Tracing To Vulkan - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Phoronix] NVIDIA Demonstrates Porting Of DirectX Ray-Tracing To Vulkan

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-03-2020, 05:57 PM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,471
Rep: 737 (Unique: 388)
Quote: Originally Posted by littledonny View Post
Part of me wonders if ray tracing will get dedicated hardware for the high-end, like a tensor core only add-in card.
I'd prefer to buy in like that, but seeing how PhysX went, NV is probably 100% anti-addin cards. hell, they barely even acknowledge mpgu as being a thing anymore.

unfortunately, this is the only way, since its a transitional period as we move towards a completely different way of building games, etc. We'll be emulating games from 2020 in not too many more years

and yeah, like dude said. latency. 2nd card = inherently added latency.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-03-2020, 11:23 PM
Performance is the bible
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,976
Rep: 441 (Unique: 304)
Quote: Originally Posted by DNMock View Post
Nah, the consoles are pushing for ray-tracing, so I would expect AMD to have some form of a ray-tracing solution available with Big Navi and on all other RDNA2 gpu's
Big navi is not going to affect console performance or ray tracing.
The consoles are going to have a custom zen 2/navi chip in them based on current tech, so I doubt any hardware solution for ray tracing is going to enter it. Their GPU is going to basically be a 5600-5700 performance at best. Ray tracing solutions for AMD are all going to be software for this generation.

Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
I'd prefer to buy in like that, but seeing how PhysX went, NV is probably 100% anti-addin cards. hell, they barely even acknowledge mpgu as being a thing anymore.

unfortunately, this is the only way, since its a transitional period as we move towards a completely different way of building games, etc. We'll be emulating games from 2020 in not too many more years

and yeah, like dude said. latency. 2nd card = inherently added latency.

Since multi GPU has been dead because of DX12, both AMD and nvidia have stopped really moving in that direction.
DX12 and vulkan are suppose to have natural support in multi GPU, which killed SLI/CFX support. So until those get better, multi GPU work is basically dead.

Regarding physx, it is a completely different matter than ray tracing. Using an addon for physx (which you can still do today though), was possible because the calculations were not part of the rendering. They needed to calculate how things move and destroy, not how to render and what color they are going to be.
So ray tracing on a second dedicated card is not going to work, because ray tracing is part of the rendering and lighting of the scene itself, something you can't offload in async compute to another GPU.



Last edited by Defoler; 03-03-2020 at 11:27 PM.
Defoler is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 05:40 AM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,471
Rep: 737 (Unique: 388)
dead cuz of DX12? it's been dead for most of DX11!

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 09:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
t00sl0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north of jax fl
Posts: 3,248
Rep: 137 (Unique: 116)
Wonder if vulkan based ray tracing would run any better than dxr?

Currently Playing: RDR2, FM7, BL3, Escape from Tarkov
Nostromo
(11 items)
CPU
2700x
Motherboard
Asrock x470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
2070 Super "FE" 2070mhz core peak / 15802mem
RAM
g.skill flare 16gb @3200 cl14
Hard Drive
sammy 970 pro nvme 500gb
Hard Drive
sammy 860 evo 1tb
Optical Drive
LG bluray
Power Supply
EVGA supernova 750 G1+
Cooling
NZXT x62 kraken
Case
thermaltake core x71 temp glass
Operating System
win 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲
t00sl0w is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-04-2020, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,959
Rep: 195 (Unique: 132)
Quote: Originally Posted by t00sl0w View Post
Wonder if vulkan based ray tracing would run any better than dxr?
Wolfenstein Youngblood uses nVidia's VKRay.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector RTX RE Ti - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Solus Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 05:24 AM
Politically incorrect
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Soviet China... Oh wait..
Posts: 9,160
Rep: 633 (Unique: 309)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Khronos Group already stated they're going to be using nVidia's VKRay as their default template.
Is this open source or are nVidia going to charge for this? I worry that nVidia intend to take charge of this and then lock AMD and Intel out.

Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
dead cuz of DX12? it's been dead for most of DX11!
DX12 is Vulkan.

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by faraz1729 go_quote.gif
Haha, Liranan, you creep.

Tacitus - The more corrupt the state, the more numerous the laws

Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money. - Cree Indian Proverb
Liranan is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 08:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shadowarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,885
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
Wasn't DX12 supposed bring Mgpu back unless I read it all wrong thought it was supposed to support duel+ GPUs better and make it so the Devs didn't have do the work to add it into games.

Shadowarez is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,959
Rep: 195 (Unique: 132)
Quote: Originally Posted by Liranan View Post
Is this open source or are nVidia going to charge for this? I worry that nVidia intend to take charge of this and then lock AMD and Intel out.
VKRay is currently hardware agnostic: https://www.khronos.org/registry/vul...y_tracing.html

The future implementation will be using VKRay as a draft. I'm sure they'll work with all the other GPU manufacturers(including mobile) before they release the official extension.

Quote: Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
Wasn't DX12 supposed bring Mgpu back unless I read it all wrong thought it was supposed to support duel+ GPUs better and make it so the Devs didn't have do the work to add it into games.
The purpose of DX12 and Vulkan mGPU was to place the work on the developer instead of having the driver do all the work with crossfire/sli profiles. It's the reason why AMD completely dropped Crossfire support with Navi.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector RTX RE Ti - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Solus Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 10:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Torvi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wellingborough
Posts: 974
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
the more reasons to use vulkan, the better.

i absolutely hate dx12, real world example:

Division 2 ran on dx11
+85 core
+600 mem
On my 1660ti and fully stable

Division 2 ran on dx12
had to lower core to 55
and mem to 400
In order to reach stability.

Same story with forza horizon 4, abyssymal performance with overclock applied.

r5-1600 4.1 1.431vcore 3020 cb20 score max temp 76.4c
amd wraith prism cpu cooler
b450m asus prime motherboard
16gb ddr4 2933mhz oc'd cl 16 hyperx ram
gtx 1660ti gigabyte gaming oc 2070-2100mhz core 6651mhz memory 68c max temp in 3dmark
Torvi is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 10:06 AM
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,864
Rep: 202 (Unique: 134)
Quote: Originally Posted by Torvi View Post
the more reasons to use vulkan, the better.

i absolutely hate dx12, real world example:

Division 2 ran on dx11
+85 core
+600 mem
On my 1660ti and fully stable

Division 2 ran on dx12
had to lower core to 55
and mem to 400
In order to reach stability.

Same story with forza horizon 4, abyssymal performance with overclock applied.
You blame the software for an unstable overclock?

DX12 uses more of the silicon so it makes sense you could get worse max overclocks using it, but that would be true with any new API. That is the point of the new APIs. I am all for Vulkan over DX12 but this simply cannot be a reason for that preference. Vulkan is also very likely to have a lower max OC with the same title compared to DX11 (unlikely anyone would actually do that), it can use more of the silicon too.

"Soldering resistors onto your video card to bypass the manufacturers over current protection kind-of sort-of absolute-definitely voids your warranty"
Desktop
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3950X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
Nvidia 2080 Ti
RAM
32GB DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Intel 900P
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
Asus BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
Seasonic 1200W
Cooling
EK Velocity + EK GPU Block
Case
Old Marble Slab
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG C9 55"
Keyboard
Wooting two
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Mousepad
Logitech G PowerPlay
Audio
Arctis Pro Wireless
Other
Mellanox 40GbE
▲ hide details ▲


Asmodian is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off