[Guru3D] Crytek is hinting at a remastered version of Crysis - Page 19 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Guru3D] Crytek is hinting at a remastered version of Crysis

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-04-2020, 12:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 886
Rep: 99 (Unique: 77)
Quote: Originally Posted by philhalo66 View Post
i been playing it all week been getting over 170 fps at 1080p maxed out. It's stupidly cpu intensive so your 3930k is a major bottleneck
I can agree the game needs a CPU running at 9999Mhz + to get awesome FPS all thru the game. Fact is even 10900K and 2080Ti can not run the game on a few levels over 60 FPS and in the 35FPS-450FPS range in parts on Harbor/Ascension Levels.
gerardfraser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-04-2020, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2,371
Rep: 60 (Unique: 54)
I think u guys are exaggerating the CPU requirements a bit. Yes it's not a well threaded game but IPC has improved a lot since it came out. Any CPU with a clock speed around 4.5ghz should have no issues with the game.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #183 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-04-2020, 02:26 PM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 46,567
Rep: 1806 (Unique: 1179)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
I think u guys are exaggerating the CPU requirements a bit. Yes it's not a well threaded game but IPC has improved a lot since it came out. Any CPU with a clock speed around 4.5ghz should have no issues with the game.
You would be surprised how little IPC has improved. From Core 2 to Skylake it's probably not much using an old game like Crysis. You are looking and less than 2x improvement. I tried recently at 4K with 9900K and 2080 Ti and was expecting more than 60-70 fps.

Yamato
(10 items)
Ishimura
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
GPU
AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Gamdias Chione M1A-280R
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-05-2020, 03:51 AM
Quad Core? Quad Damage!
 
XenoRad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 680
Rep: 50 (Unique: 46)
Not very happy with what I saw in that (leaked?) trailer. While grass shadows, SSAO and better lighting in some conditions are nice, the overall darkening of the environment coupled with some inferior texture reskins (nanosuit), missing texture and just model anomalies makes it look worse on many fronts.

It's good that they're delaying it to continue improving upon it, but it seems that my prediction that it would only marginally look better is coming true.

Also, I don't really like the new SCAR sound. The original was a bit unique, the new one sounds more generic.

XenoRad is offline  
post #185 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-05-2020, 03:52 AM
FOCAL ARIA FTW
 
Wishmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Luxembourg Ville
Posts: 9,316
Rep: 362 (Unique: 282)
The videos I have seen do not do the original justice.
There are parts in the remaster where detail is so bad it should not be released in such a state.
Just because you add a few reflections, shadows and some light sources it does not mean you can overcome the first game.

FLOOR STANDING SYSTEM: FOCAL ARIA 948 WITH NAD C388 & NAD C568 & REGA PLANAR 3 / HOME CINEMA : YAMAHA AVENTAGE RX-A860
DESKTOP AUDIO: DENON AHD-2000/5000 -MARK LAWTON & DENON AHD-9200 WITH PIZZA STACK / TOPPING A50 HiFi BALANCED HEADPHONE AMP & D50S HI-RES DAC & P50 REGULATED LINEAR PSU


Wishmaker is offline  
post #186 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-05-2020, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2,371
Rep: 60 (Unique: 54)
Quote: Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post
You would be surprised how little IPC has improved. From Core 2 to Skylake it's probably not much using an old game like Crysis. You are looking and less than 2x improvement. I tried recently at 4K with 9900K and 2080 Ti and was expecting more than 60-70 fps.
I mean, considering there are not really any 120hz 4K solutions that are reasonable yet, 4K 60 is the best you can really hope for right? Crysis is a visual game anyway, 4K should take precedent over high refresh rates.

Has anyone looked at their GPU/CPU usage while playing? I would bet at 4K even a 2080Ti gets fully utilized in Crysis 1.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #187 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-07-2020, 04:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Brodda-Syd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
I mean, considering there are not really any 120hz 4K solutions that are reasonable yet, 4K 60 is the best you can really hope for right? Crysis is a visual game anyway, 4K should take precedent over high refresh rates.

Has anyone looked at their GPU/CPU usage while playing? I would bet at 4K even a 2080Ti gets fully utilized in Crysis 1.
From memory I was getting 80% utitlization with one 2080ti, but in sli both cards were doing around 40-60% utilization.
I am unable to launch Crysis 1 now as it asks for the activation code but there are no-longer any activation servers online so it will never activate.
I would like to know if anyone with an 9900K has got decent GPU utilization in sli.

I can't understand Crytek's thinking in darkening the game to the point that half the scene is under-exposed, then adding shadows to the jungle foliage but also making it blurry.
All they had to do was port the game to their latest CryEngine 3 and ensure the game code is sufficiently multi-threaded.

RTX RyZen RaVen
(31 items)
The Raven
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RyZen 9 3950X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi AM4
GPU
msi RTX 2080 ti VENTUS
GPU
msi RTX 2080 ti VENTUS
RAM
G-SKILL TridentZ PC4-25600 16GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14-34
RAM
G-SKILL TridentZ PC4-25600 16GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 1TB 960 Evo PCIe NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial P1 1TB Solid State Drive (3D NAND, NVMe, PCIe, M.2) CT1000P1SSD8
Hard Drive
SanDisk 960GB Ultra II SATAIII SSD
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
Toshiba P300 3TB 3.5" SATA3
Hard Drive
Toshiba P300 3TB 3.5" SATA3
Optical Drive
LG BLU-RAY RW BH10LS30
Power Supply
OCZ ZX 850W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 AM4
Case
Silverstone Raven RV02-EW
Operating System
openSUSE 13.2 64Bit
Operating System
WIndows 10
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp UP3214Q 31.5inch 3840x2160 IGZO IPS 4K UHD 60Hz
Monitor
LG Flatron L2000C 20inch 1600x1200
Monitor
LG Flatron M2262D 22inch 1920x1080
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro L RGB
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder 3500 DPI Left Hand Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Left Handed Mouse, AURTEC Rechargeable 2.4G Wireless Ergonomic Vertical Mice with USB Receive
Audio
SONY SRS-DB500 2x75W RMS + 150W RMS Sub
Other
Epson XP-235 Expression Home
Other
4 x SilverStone CP05 SATA Hotswap Adaptor
Other
MSI GeForce RTX NVLink Bridge
CPU
Phenom II X6 1055T
Motherboard
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
GPU
msi GTX1080 ARMOR
GPU
msi GTX1080 ARMOR
RAM
G-SKILL Ripjaws 8GB PC3-1700 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Maxtor 250GB STM3250310AS
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Power Supply
Gigabyte Aorus P850W 850W
Cooling
Scythe Mugen 3
Case
Silverstone Raven RV04
Operating System
opensuse 13.1 64bit
Operating System
Windows 7 64bit
Monitor
65" LG ULTRA HD 4K TV 65UM7400PLB
Keyboard
KeySonic Compact wireless keyboard with touch pad
Audio
Aiwa NAVH1200
▲ hide details ▲
Brodda-Syd is offline  
post #188 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-07-2020, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2,371
Rep: 60 (Unique: 54)
Quote: Originally Posted by Brodda-Syd View Post
From memory I was getting 80% utitlization with one 2080ti, but in sli both cards were doing around 40-60% utilization.
I am unable to launch Crysis 1 now as it asks for the activation code but there are no-longer any activation servers online so it will never activate.
I would like to know if anyone with an 9900K has got decent GPU utilization in sli.

I can't understand Crytek's thinking in darkening the game to the point that half the scene is under-exposed, then adding shadows to the jungle foliage but also making it blurry.
All they had to do was port the game to their latest CryEngine 3 and ensure the game code is sufficiently multi-threaded.
Do you own it on a disc? If so you can contact origin support and ask them to activate it for you on origin and they will, I have done it before. Origin customer service can be really hit or miss tho, you might have to try more than once.

No surprise that modern cards in SLI wouldn't work. Were you running Crysis if 4K when you tried this?

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #189 of 189 (permalink) Old 07-07-2020, 07:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Brodda-Syd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
Do you own it on a disc? If so you can contact origin support and ask them to activate it for you on origin and they will, I have done it before. Origin customer service can be really hit or miss tho, you might have to try more than once.

No surprise that modern cards in SLI wouldn't work. Were you running Crysis if 4K when you tried this?
Yes, I have Crysis 1 on DVD. I didn't know Origin are able to activate it, I'll try that. Thanks
Yes I was running Crysis 1 in 4K.
As for sli, though Crysis 1 & Warhead experience low utilization, Crysis 2 & 3 run perfect in sli. 98% utilization on both cards.

RTX RyZen RaVen
(31 items)
The Raven
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RyZen 9 3950X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi AM4
GPU
msi RTX 2080 ti VENTUS
GPU
msi RTX 2080 ti VENTUS
RAM
G-SKILL TridentZ PC4-25600 16GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14-34
RAM
G-SKILL TridentZ PC4-25600 16GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 1TB 960 Evo PCIe NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial P1 1TB Solid State Drive (3D NAND, NVMe, PCIe, M.2) CT1000P1SSD8
Hard Drive
SanDisk 960GB Ultra II SATAIII SSD
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
Toshiba P300 3TB 3.5" SATA3
Hard Drive
Toshiba P300 3TB 3.5" SATA3
Optical Drive
LG BLU-RAY RW BH10LS30
Power Supply
OCZ ZX 850W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 AM4
Case
Silverstone Raven RV02-EW
Operating System
openSUSE 13.2 64Bit
Operating System
WIndows 10
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp UP3214Q 31.5inch 3840x2160 IGZO IPS 4K UHD 60Hz
Monitor
LG Flatron L2000C 20inch 1600x1200
Monitor
LG Flatron M2262D 22inch 1920x1080
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro L RGB
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder 3500 DPI Left Hand Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Left Handed Mouse, AURTEC Rechargeable 2.4G Wireless Ergonomic Vertical Mice with USB Receive
Audio
SONY SRS-DB500 2x75W RMS + 150W RMS Sub
Other
Epson XP-235 Expression Home
Other
4 x SilverStone CP05 SATA Hotswap Adaptor
Other
MSI GeForce RTX NVLink Bridge
CPU
Phenom II X6 1055T
Motherboard
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
GPU
msi GTX1080 ARMOR
GPU
msi GTX1080 ARMOR
RAM
G-SKILL Ripjaws 8GB PC3-1700 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Maxtor 250GB STM3250310AS
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Hard Drive
SEAGATE Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001 SATA3 64MB
Power Supply
Gigabyte Aorus P850W 850W
Cooling
Scythe Mugen 3
Case
Silverstone Raven RV04
Operating System
opensuse 13.1 64bit
Operating System
Windows 7 64bit
Monitor
65" LG ULTRA HD 4K TV 65UM7400PLB
Keyboard
KeySonic Compact wireless keyboard with touch pad
Audio
Aiwa NAVH1200
▲ hide details ▲
Brodda-Syd is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off