[Windows Central] Assassin's Creed Valhalla will run at at least 30fps on the Series X - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Windows Central] Assassin's Creed Valhalla will run at at least 30fps on the Series X

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Juub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,194
Rep: 103 (Unique: 74)
[Windows Central] Assassin's Creed Valhalla will run at at least 30fps on the Series X

Quote:
Ubisoft has always been committed to exploring new technologies, taking advantage of the capabilities of new consoles to deliver the most immersive experience possible, which is why we are excited to be collaborating with Microsoft to bring Assassin's Creed Valhalla to the Xbox Series X.

Currently, we can guarantee that Assassin's Creed Valhalla will run at least 30 FPS. Assassin's Creed Valhalla will benefit from faster loading times, allowing players to immerse themselves in history and the world without friction. Finally, Assassin's Creed Valhalla will benefit of improved graphics made possible by the Xbox Series X, and we can't wait to see the beautiful world we're creating in stunning 4K resolution.
Source

Here's hoping they can get close to 60 but not quite reach it and decided to drop to 30. Else the 4K/60fps next-gen consoles dream will be short-lived.

Juub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 02:00 PM
Food Editor
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 24,511
Rep: 719 (Unique: 378)
my lord... so there's no 1080p high frame option? bad move.

you should get a choice between 1080p high frames and ultra 4K shiny low frames.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
post #3 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 02:17 PM
Overclocker
 
EastCoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,448
Rep: 150 (Unique: 98)
What game engine are they using for that game? Their AnvilNext 2.0 has draw complaints about performance issues in open world sandbox games for years now. In particular in Wildlands and Breakpoint to name a few.
EastCoast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Juub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,194
Rep: 103 (Unique: 74)
Quote: Originally Posted by EastCoast View Post
What game engine are they using for that game? Their AnvilNext 2.0 has draw complaints about performance issues in open world sandbox games for years now. In particular in Wildlands and Breakpoint to name a few.
The same one for Odyssey and Origins I assume.

Juub is offline  
post #5 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 02:42 PM
Overclocker
 
EastCoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,448
Rep: 150 (Unique: 98)
Quote: Originally Posted by Juub View Post
The same one for Odyssey and Origins I assume.
Correct, but I don't recall which one had more complaints.
EastCoast is offline  
post #6 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 02:42 PM
Food Editor
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 24,511
Rep: 719 (Unique: 378)
i'd assume an evolution of what was used in origins and odyssey, like said above.

I guess this means we can expect yet another PEGGING ALL CORES @ 99% whenever you're near a few NPCs again.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
post #7 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 02:45 PM
Food Editor
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 24,511
Rep: 719 (Unique: 378)
so wait...

what happens if someone plugs into a non-4K TV?

it just up-samples to 4K anyways?

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
post #8 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 03:45 PM
Overclocker
 
EastCoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,448
Rep: 150 (Unique: 98)
IMO, they are 'shoehorning' and unproven engine to work on next gen console. If the engine was taking advantage of the bandwidth made available, as well as other key features the the game shouldn't be having issues on the XBSX.
EastCoast is offline  
post #9 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 03:58 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,333
Rep: 144 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
my lord... so there's no 1080p high frame option? bad move.

you should get a choice between 1080p high frames and ultra 4K shiny low frames.
THIS, i have a One X and in only some games you can choose performance or visuals.
I bought my One X for 60fps not 30fps with 4k visuals.
Would rather play at 1080p 60fps lol.
Just Microsoft catering to their usual crowd is all, what can you do.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #10 of 59 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 04:10 PM
Not a linux lobbyist
 
rluker5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,089
Rep: 56 (Unique: 42)
Hopefully it is a gpu limitation. If the 8c16t Ryzen @ 3.6 ghz is the bottleneck, and the game saturates it at 30fps, not a lot will get 60 fps on pc.
But this probably isn't the case and it is a gpu limitation. The 4900hs will apparently do 60 on AC Odyssey and the game isn't even out of the reach of quad cores. The engine just seems to spaz out with near 100% gpu usage in my experience.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (15)[1].jpg
Views:	89
Size:	290.6 KB
ID:	345540  


L5
(17 items)
Lea2
(11 items)
L7
(11 items)
CPU
5775c
Motherboard
Maximus VII Hero
GPU
Aorus 1080ti Waterforce
RAM
16 Gb Gskill Trident @ 2400,cas10,1.575v
RAM
8 Gb Gskill Trident @ 2400,cas10,1.575v
Hard Drive
1Tb Team ssd
Hard Drive
seagate barracuda 3T
Hard Drive
Optane 900p 480G OS
Optical Drive
Asus BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1300 G2
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 120 (cpu)
Cooling
2 140mm case fans, 2 120mm
Case
Fractal Design R4 (no window)
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
panasonic TC-58AX800U
Audio
Focal Elear, Nova 40, 598se, HE4xx, DT990pro w b.boost earpads
Audio
SoundbasterX AE-5, onboard
CPU
4770k
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Deluxe
GPU
Fury Nitro
RAM
8Gb klevv urbane 2133
Hard Drive
ROG Raidr 240Gb pcie
Hard Drive
1Tb WD blue
Power Supply
Pc Power&Cooling silencer Mk2 950w
Cooling
Deepcool Lucifer V2
Case
DIYPC P48-W
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
40"tv
CPU
4980hq
Motherboard
Asus H81T/CSM
RAM
8Gb 1600 samsung
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo 120gb
Power Supply
Skyvast 90w brick for hp pavilion something
Cooling
SilverStone Tek Super Slim
Case
SilverStone Tek PT13B
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
24" samsung 1080p
Keyboard
Logitech K400+
Other
Intel wifi ac card and noname antennas
▲ hide details ▲
rluker5 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off