Inkscape export to CorelDRAW X4? Awful! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Inkscape export to CorelDRAW X4? Awful!

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 32 (Unique: 25)
Hello!

So I'm a vector art newbie using Inkscape, but up and running after a good lot of bitmap/raster graphics experience, and I love it! Inkscape was SO easy to jump into with a bit of practice, and the capabilities are functional and intuitive.

I have a problem. I have to send a file to a publisher who unfortunately uses CorelDRAW version X4. The company's "artist" is awful, poorly interpreting my bitmap art into some shoddy finished work. So, I requested the source files: CDR (X4) format. NO PROBLEM for Inkscape to import!

With the CDR files perfectly-imported into Inkscape, I set to work making adjustments and alterations, and before long it was done! It looks great now. So I sent the Inkscape SVG files to the publisher. CorelDraw could NOT open them right.

So I installed a fully functional CorelDraw 15-day trial, and I started a trial-and-error method of eliminating export options that don't work for CorelDraw.
  • The short answer: NOTHING WORKS, except PDF, which ALMOST works right.
  • More details: importing an SVG more complex than a 2-yr-old child's scribble yields a highly distorted result.

As you'll see here, Corel's support of SVG format (opening/importing) in X4 is damn near useless, and very buggy:

(Ignore red mspaint scribbles! wink.gif )

So what do I do? Just do an export/import of PDF and fix it in Corel? Sigh. I just want a straight conversion. frown.gif Experienced ideas and insights are golden... More pictures below. Thoughts? Experiences? Successes/failures? Thanks!

Here are the save-as options in Inkscape:

Here are the open/import options in CorelDRAW X4:

Love big, sig small. Please do your part by keeping your signature compact. wink.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement