Quick HTPC replacement build - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Quick HTPC replacement build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 08:03 PM
Retired Staff
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 32,768
Rep: 1388 (Unique: 956)
As I'm sure you already know, what you really need for hardware is all going to be based off your own personal needs and how your network is already setup. Me personally, I need at minimum, i3 level CPU performance and 8GB RAM it seems for Windows 10 and Plex Home Theater to be happy playing a full 1080p blu ray. However my Plex server isn't capable of properly transcoding everything these days like it used to (Sandy Bridge i7 level Xeon at 3.5GHz).

Heck, my personal server seems like it wants as much CPU power as I can throw at it. Was actually looking at upgrading to a rack system with probably two 32 core Bulldozer rack systems for my server setup.

From the sounds of it, your media isn't quite as heavy, or maybe I'm just doing something wrong. I wish you luck on getting that all functioning the way you want it, those new Ryzen APU's have me seriously intrigued on how they'd handle HTPC and gaming with a controller on my home theater setup. I'd love to see some pics when you've got everything all done and put together.

Retro Rig
(17 items)
CPU
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4GHz, 1.15v BSEL Modded
Motherboard
HP DC 7900 Series
GPU
MSI GTX750Ti Low Profile
RAM
4x2GB Samsung DDR2-800
Hard Drive
Intel 330 120GB
Hard Drive
2x 500GB WD Black 2.5" RAID0
Optical Drive
Samsung DVDRW
Power Supply
Lite On 240w Bridged Rails
Cooling
Stock HP DC7900 Intel
Case
HP DC7900 Slim Tower
Operating System
Windows XP Professional SP3 x86
Operating System
Kubuntu 18.04 x64
Monitor
Dell 2007FP
Keyboard
Razer Chroma
Mouse
Logitech G602
Audio
Dayton DTA-120
Audio
Micca MB42x
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 08:41 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,367
Rep: 268 (Unique: 215)
I believe there is an unofficial port of WMC for windows 10. I'v never used it myself. But it might be worth looking into.

FreeNas is a good alternative to WHS 2011.

In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(11 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Galax HOF
Hard Drive
850 pro
Hard Drive
960 Pro
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by ozlay; 03-02-2019 at 10:18 PM.
ozlay is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
Well, the Gigabyte board is no better at Win 7 than the Asus board was.
It just will not work. I can get it to load the setup, and even complete the setup, but then at first boot, it blue screens, then make me reinstall.
After about 6 attempts, my M2 SSD is no longer recognized. Not sure if it is a board issue or a SSD issue.
Tried 2 installs on a SSD with same results.

I decided to give Linux a try instead.
I have been playing with Mint on my laptop, so figured I would try that.
Mint apparently does not like the B450/Ryzen either. After about 15 attempts on several versions (19.1 Cinnamon, 19 Cinnamon, MATA, Xfce, and even 18), I finally had to give up.
I tried a few versions of purpose built builds (LinHES, and a few others). Just could not get them to set up.

I finally got Ubuntu to load up on the system, and am trying to get MythTV set up on it. I spent about 10 hours yesterday messing with that. About ready to just return it all and say screw it.
I will mess with it some more tomorrow, I needed to take today off from it. If I can't get it working by then. I am done with it.
I will take my server and turn that into a HTPC since it will accept Windows 7 and take this build and use it for my server (Ubuntu has a server edition).
I just need something for central storage and sharing in the house, nothing taxing, and the 200GE/B450 is more powerful than the 210e/785G I am using now.

@ozlay , I looked into the unofficial WMC for 10, and it looks a little sketchy, but seems to work.
Biggest issue is I have no Win 10 licenses. I have 10+ Win 7 licenses back from my Technet days, but they do me no good if I can't install them on the system to upgrade.
Does 10 have an eval version I could use and test with?

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 06:35 PM
Retired Staff
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 32,768
Rep: 1388 (Unique: 956)
You can install Windows 10 without a license key and use it as long as you'd like for evaluation purposes. You can't change desktop background and a few other "pretty" things, but otherwise its fully functional. Make sure you get version 1809 or newer to avoid update issues and early Win10 issues.

I've been using the evaluation version for a few years now on my mining rigs.

Retro Rig
(17 items)
CPU
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4GHz, 1.15v BSEL Modded
Motherboard
HP DC 7900 Series
GPU
MSI GTX750Ti Low Profile
RAM
4x2GB Samsung DDR2-800
Hard Drive
Intel 330 120GB
Hard Drive
2x 500GB WD Black 2.5" RAID0
Optical Drive
Samsung DVDRW
Power Supply
Lite On 240w Bridged Rails
Cooling
Stock HP DC7900 Intel
Case
HP DC7900 Slim Tower
Operating System
Windows XP Professional SP3 x86
Operating System
Kubuntu 18.04 x64
Monitor
Dell 2007FP
Keyboard
Razer Chroma
Mouse
Logitech G602
Audio
Dayton DTA-120
Audio
Micca MB42x
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
Thanks.
I actually found that I can use a Windows 7 Key as the Windows 10 key and it be legit.

I have been messing with WMC on Win 10 on my laptop, and it seems to work (I have no TV tuners, but I can get on the network and watch movies and recorded shows from my other HTPC.

I think this will work. Here is hoping. (I was going to put a thumbs up smilie, but don't have smilies any more???).

I just downloaded the latest Win 10 build from Microsoft and made the USB boot drive. I may try tonight, if not, then tomorrow for sure.

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 07:30 PM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,055
Rep: 576 (Unique: 455)
Yes you made the right choice except returning the ASRock board. Any ways the Ryzen APU's must have Win10 for full features, and also you must install with UEFI full bios, no legacy or CSM enabled.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
I actually still have the ASRock board, have not returned it yet (was plan on sending it back tomorrow).

Why should I keep the ASRock over the Gigabyte?

Gigabyte has 1 more PCI-e slot and 4 memory slots. I did like the ASRock BIOS better though. It also had options to Overclock the 200GE.

I may pull it back out though to see if the M2 drive is bad or if it is the board.

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 09:48 PM
Cheapest Man On Earth
 
Kleer Kut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 616
Rep: 72 (Unique: 65)
The Linux drivers were very hit-or-miss with the 2200G and 2400G (Similar APU graphics) sometimes having various levels of functionality using Ubuntu LTS and Mint, even with a newer kernel and PPA's for the latest Mesa releases.

I got fed up with it and let my machine sit until 18.10 came out and I tried Lubuntu with my 2400G. The OS isn't perfect with the Desktop Environment switch, but it has been running very well so far. This late in the game Ubuntu 19.04 beta should be mostly stable and worth the time over 18.10 which is more than halfway through the 9 month support cycle. I'd imagine any of the *buntu's besides Lubuntu would be great choices, but I prefer LXDE/LXQt so I just live with it for now.

Given that things will only get worse (less support, end of security updates) it's probably better to try and make something else like Windows 10 or Linux work. It's a time sink to learn and get half of things working in Linux, but at least it should get easier with time. The days lost on Win7 will be a dead end.

*Comprehensive Memory Overclocking Guide*
Low Power Ryzen
(5 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2400G
Motherboard
ASRock B450M-PRO4
RAM
Team T-Force Vulcan 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Cooling
Tuniq Tower
Operating System
Lubuntu 18.10
▲ hide details ▲
Kleer Kut is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off