Quick HTPC replacement build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Quick HTPC replacement build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
Quick HTPC replacement build

So the HTPC I built in 2008 has finally died (keeps getting random shutdown, freezes and such) and decided to upgrade a little.

I plan on using the same PSU, Case, CD Drive, and HDD for tv recordings.
This leaves me needing a new CPU, MoBo, RAM. and OS drive.

I already have a new M2 drive to use as an OS drive.

I have these parts in my cart right now:

200GE processor Nice low wattage CPU that should handle my HTPC needs (the current X2 210e handled everything I did)

GIGABYTE AB350M-DS3H mothreboard Seems not a lot of difference in many of these 350 boards for basic builds

Ballistix Tactical 4GB DDR4 2666 Seems to have good ratings, on sale. I see no need for 8 gigs of ram, again, current setup was fine with 4 gigs. I may buy a second stick though.

Any obvious problems here? I figure I will be ordering in the next day or so unless something is bad with this plan.

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
Hmm, seems that the Raven Ridge CPU won't work on Windows 7???
I am reading that it is a driver issue for the graphics, some places say it works, some say it does not.

And yes, I am still on Windows 7 on my HTPC since Windows Media Center works perfectly for my needs.

The board I linked is now sold out, so looking for another one, plus the sale on the CPU ends in a few hours.

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 04:54 PM
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,206
Rep: 239 (Unique: 206)
Staying on windows 7 is a pain these days but plenty of people do it for reasons similar to yours. I know that coffee lake does not support win 7 but people say you can still use it. Not quite sure with AMD.

But man 4gb of ram on any system today is cutting it close.

I would get a b450 board personally, AMD ironed out a lot of the memory related problems among other things. Price is usually very close.

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
EVGA RTX 2060 Ultra XC
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 05:03 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,424
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
Yeah, getting Windows 7 on any modern platform is going to be a PITA (typically it's with the USB controller drivers on Intel, not sure about Ryzen) but it's not impossible.

You didn't tell us what you use the machine for so I guess it's fine if you're just watching movies and YouTube and the like... though with an APU I'd definitely want more than 4GB since you're going to be losing some to the APU and 4GB is already low.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 05:04 PM
Hardware Princess
 
Hydroplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 1,374
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by lightsout View Post
Staying on windows 7 is a pain these days but plenty of people do it for reasons similar to yours. I know that coffee lake does not support win 7 but people say you can still use it. Not quite sure with AMD.

But man 4gb of ram on any system today is cutting it close.

I would get a b450 board personally, AMD ironed out a lot of the memory related problems among other things. Price is usually very close.
Depends on the use. My file server came with 48 gb and has never used over 1 lol. For general use like web browsing, I'd say 8 is definitely the minimum and 16 more comfortable, but less may work for HTPC.

CHILLER DESTRUCTION
Build Log - White Voodoo
Z390 Station
(10 items)
White Voodoo
(14 items)
CPU
9900K @ 5.5 1.4v
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Titan RTX 2085/7256
RAM
None
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 256GB
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G2
Cooling
Dehumidifier
Case
Dimastech Test Bench
Monitor
AOC Agon AG251FZ 240Hz
Audio
Built-in Monitor Speakers (3 watt)
CPU
Intel Core i9-7980XE @ 4.3 GHz 1.10v
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080 Ti SLI 2037/6318 1.09V
RAM
Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3800C16 1.50V
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 T2
Cooling
HWLabs Nemesis GTR 420+280 Rads
Cooling
(7) Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM Fans
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Case
LD Cooling PC-V7 280/420
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSB
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.1
Monitor
NEC PA271W 2560x1440
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
CPU
Dual Intel Xeon L5520 2.26 GHz
RAM
48 GB Samsung DDR3-1066
Hard Drive
120 GB Samsung 750 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
2 TB Western Digital Green
Hard Drive
2 TB Hitachi 7200 RPM
Power Supply
650W Delta PSU
Case
1U Rackmount
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲
Hydroplane is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
It is just for WMC, watching TV and movies, playing to a 1080p TV.
Again, nothing taxing even for the older Athlon x2 that was in it, so I am sure this can handle it fine.
I have been debating just getting 8 gigs, it is only $25 more. I currently have 4 gigs on the old machine with shared onboard video, so I have 3.5 gigs available, and don't think it really gets close to using it all.
I also was looking at some of the 450 boards since the 350 I picked is out of stock. (This ASRock B450)

I have read a few ways to maybe get past the issue (either loading drivers in the windows .iso, or even just installing windows on one machine and then moving it to the new one).

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!



Last edited by blupupher; 02-26-2019 at 05:47 PM.
blupupher is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 05:54 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,424
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
Quote: Originally Posted by blupupher View Post
It is just for WMC, watching TV and movies, playing to a 1080p TV.
Again, nothing taxing even for the older Athlon x2 that was in it, so I am sure this can handle it fine.
I have been debating just getting 8 gigs, it is only $25 more. I currently have 4 gigs on the old machine with shared onboard video, so I have 3.5 gigs available, and don't think it really gets close to using it all.
I also was looking at some of the 450 boards since the 350 I picked is out of stock. (This ASRock B450)

I have read a few ways to maybe get past the issue (either loading drivers in the windows .iso, or even just installing windows on one machine and then moving it to the new one).

The vast majority of issues seem to be no USB drivers for Windows 7 and the Windows 10 drivers don't work. Some boards are easier to get working than others.

Getting W7 (for benching) on my Z390 seemed to require a separate USB 2.0 card so I gave up and installed Windows 8.1 EIP for my HWBOT needs

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
Worst case if it is USB issues I will just throw in a USB card.
Only USB I use is the IR receiver (although I need USB to set it up).

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
OK, order placed.

So I got the 200GE processor, Ballistix Tactical 4GB DDR4 2666 RAM x2, and a ASRock B450M-HDV R4.0.
Total was $160. A little more than I wanted to spend (I have not bought PC products in a while, used to the $30 CPU's and cheap RAM from years ago). If I had stuck with just 4 gigs of RAM, it would have been $25 cheaper, but figured for $25 more, I will never have to worry about RAM.

Seems it is a little issue getting this to work with Windows 7, but hopefully nothing I can't work my way through.
Will be posting back if I have issues with it.

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
Well, after spending all day trying to get Windows 7 to load properly and not crash, I had to give up.

Seems that ASRock and Microsoft does not want me to do it.

I had to update the MB to the newest BIOS to get it to even start to work.
I used Gigabytes hack to slipstream the drivers into the Windows 7 install, and it did install Windows and it started to work, but as soon as I tried installing any updates, the USB ports quit working. I also had random BSOD with several different errors.
I tried installing a 2 port USB in the PCI-e slot, and I did get it to work after manually installing the drivers, but it was intermitent, as well as getting more BSOD.
I even went up in the attic and dug out a PS/2 keyboard and mouse, and while it did work, it only has 1 plug, so it was either the mouse or keyboard. I could use the on screen keyboard, but that is not a long term solution.
I also could not get Windows to find the M2 drive, it showed up in the BIOS, but was not there to install the OS on.

I am going to return the ASRock board, and am getting a Gigabyte B450M. It seems Gigabyte is a little more supportive of Windows 7 with Ryzen.
If it does not work, guess I will need to find an older CPU that works with Windows 7 (and it sucks that I can't return the 200GE).

I had briefly thought of using my home server (Athlon II 210, Gigabyte 785GMT, 8 gigs DDR3) as the HTPC and using the new build for the server, but I will probably have the same issues, since I use WHS 2011 and it is based off Win 7/Windows Server 2008 R2.

Maybe I will use the server anyway and switch to a Linux based server option?

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!



Last edited by blupupher; 03-11-2019 at 03:33 PM.
blupupher is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off