Help with 4K (Best Quality) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help with 4K (Best Quality)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
llChaosll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Posts: 357
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Help with 4K (Best Quality)

Hey all, I have a question regarding getting the best picture quality out of movies, 4K to be exact.
Currently I use an AMD R9 280X, which I know doesnt output HDR, but does output 4k.
I have a Samsung Q6FN, which does 4K @ 60, 10bit HDR.
I would like to output my movies, which are on the drive to the TV but my video card doesnt do HDR.
So I end up using Plex on my Xbox One X to stream the movies to the TV, which gives me 4k HDR but it shows 24P as the signal.
Does this mean I'm losing quality or frames? Or both? Movies play fine and do look awesome but I do feel like it should probably look better.

Is this fine? Am I losing quality by letting the Xbox One X and Plex stream the movies? or should I invest in a 4k HDR gpu?
I was considering getting a RX 580 or something similar that outputs at 4K, HDR 4:4:4.
btw, I'm using a display port to HDMI 2.0 adapter.

Any help or suggestions would be awesome.
Thanks all

llChaosll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 11:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In Van Down by the River
Posts: 2,176
Rep: 66 (Unique: 47)
Dumb question but are you sure the movie wasn't a 24P movie?

My Baby
(23 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Optimus Signature V2
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink w/ 2x NB-BlackSilent Pro's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 560GTX w/ 8x Arctic P14 PST PWM's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 480GTX w/ 16x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS w/ 6 Arctic P12 PST PWM's
Case
Case Labs Magnum TH10A with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG278Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Light Harmonic Oscar XXI
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is online now  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 11:44 AM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2,350
Rep: 59 (Unique: 53)
What is 24p? You mean 24hz? As in 24fps? Movies are all 24 fps so if that's what 24p means then that would make sense.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
llChaosll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Posts: 357
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
oh I didnt know that. So the 4K HDR 60hz is referring to gaming, not movies right?
My signal resolution on the TV while playing a 4K HDR 10 bit file, shows 4K UHD/HDR 24P.
So I'm assuming this is correct and the movie is playing at the best quality etc with 10bit?
I don't know what 24P is, I just thought it was 24hz, but the movie plays fine, no stutter so it cant be 24hz.

Thanks

llChaosll is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 12:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In Van Down by the River
Posts: 2,176
Rep: 66 (Unique: 47)
Yeah 24P would mean 24fps. It's playing fine.

If you have The Hobbit it should show 48P, think that's the only one not in 24fps

My Baby
(23 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Optimus Signature V2
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink w/ 2x NB-BlackSilent Pro's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 560GTX w/ 8x Arctic P14 PST PWM's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 480GTX w/ 16x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS w/ 6 Arctic P12 PST PWM's
Case
Case Labs Magnum TH10A with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG278Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Light Harmonic Oscar XXI
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is online now  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 12:10 PM
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,869
Rep: 202 (Unique: 134)
24p means 24 Hz progressive (as opposed to interlaced), it is 24 Hz but since the movie is also 24 fps (probably 23.976 fps actually) there is no stutter. Your TV's OSD does not tell you the bit depth so it could be either.

You are losing potential quality compared to using madVR with a new GPU but you are not losing quality by using 24p, in fact 24p is better than 60p for movies; you always want to use the same refresh rate as the movie's frame rate. When using madVR on a PC it would be better to switch to 24p too, in fact madVR has a feature to switch the display to the same refresh rate as the source.

"Soldering resistors onto your video card to bypass the manufacturers over current protection kind-of sort-of absolute-definitely voids your warranty"
Desktop
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3950X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
Nvidia 2080 Ti
RAM
32GB DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Intel 900P
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
Asus BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
Seasonic 1200W
Cooling
EK Velocity + EK GPU Block
Case
Old Marble Slab
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG C9 55"
Keyboard
Wooting two
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Mousepad
Logitech G PowerPlay
Audio
Arctis Pro Wireless
Other
Mellanox 40GbE
▲ hide details ▲


Asmodian is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
llChaosll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Posts: 357
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
How would I know if its playing with 10bit 4:4:4 though? I wouldnt? I know on PC it would show it under display settings. I should look into that madvr.


Last edited by llChaosll; 06-21-2019 at 12:36 PM.
llChaosll is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off