Show Your HTPC (Pics Only) - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Show Your HTPC (Pics Only)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 01:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Contagion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 6,317
Rep: 719 (Unique: 494)
could someone exlain to me the purpose of an HTPC. i know it stands for Home Theater PC but i dont see the point of it.

RYZEN 3700x - 2x 8GB Corsair RGB Hynix @ 3600 C16 - GTX 1080 Ti Aorus WB
Asrock Taichi X370 - Corsair AX850 - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
EK Supremacy EVO - D5 Revo 140 - PE 360 - PE 240
Dell AW3418DW Ultrawide Monitor
Contagion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 06:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 650
Rep: 39 (Unique: 37)
here's my rig:
It's a Dell I got on a killer deal about 18 months ago.
If I remember correctly the price with a 24'' Dell Monitor was around $550 shipped (from Dell), so I jumped on it even though I didn't need the computer..

SPECS:
Q6600 Quad Core @ Stock Speeds
3GB Ram
Vista Media Edition
HD 2600XT ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102703 )
LG HDDVD/BluRay Drive

Audio is provided by the Video Card ( 5.1HD through HDMI) goes to TV, then to the Onkyo receiver. Was a bit of a hassle to get the audio working initially, but once I got it working, no problems whatsoever.

I had it sitting for a while, but just put it back online today, next step is to get a network drive methinks. Still has last year's drivers on it, but I don't really want to update since nothing's broken...
Is it worth upgrading the video card? It runs all my HD videos no problem...

Here's some pics, the last one is the entire setup
LL
LL
LL
LL

Gunslash is offline  
post #13 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 07:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ben the OCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 4,491
Rep: 597 (Unique: 425)
Here are the specs of my HTPC:

Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition @ 3.624GHz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro Cooler
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G Motherboard
HD3200 onboard video card connected to TV via HDMI
Cooler Master 500W PSU
Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) DDR2-800
Western Digital 2x160GB SATA Hard Drives in RAID 0
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC Build 7100
Microsoft Wireless Desktop 4000
No TV tuner right now but that may change later
Viewsonic 26" LCD 720P HDTV

I use it to watch ripped movies and TV shows on a shared partition on my sig rig (it has the big hard drives) via Windows Media Center. It works pretty sweet and is so cool. Don't have to touch my DVDs again.

Pictures of it bellow:














Stable Validations:
CPU-Z: 3570K @ 4.6GHz 1.3v, G6950 @ 4.51GHz 1.4v, E8400 @ 4.2GHz 1.4v, X6 1055T @ 3.8GHz 1.475v, X2 550BE 3.75GHz 1.475v
GPU-Z: HD7850 @ 1200/5600, HD6850 @ 900/4400, HD4850 @ 685/2020, HD3850 @ 810/1818

(Forrest Gump referring to Apple Computers) "He got me invested in some kinda fruit company."
Quote:
Originally Posted by calvin924597 go_quote.gif

Comparing the D940 to a Conroe is like comparing a rolling tire to a Lamborghini.
Ben the OCer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 07:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunslash View Post
here's my rig:
It's a Dell I got on a killer deal about 18 months ago.
If I remember correctly the price with a 24'' Dell Monitor was around $550 shipped (from Dell), so I jumped on it even though I didn't need the computer..

SPECS:
Q6600 Quad Core @ Stock Speeds
3GB Ram
Vista Media Edition
HD 2600XT ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102703 )
LG HDDVD/BluRay Drive

Audio is provided by the Video Card ( 5.1HD through HDMI) goes to TV, then to the Onkyo receiver. Was a bit of a hassle to get the audio working initially, but once I got it working, no problems whatsoever.

I had it sitting for a while, but just put it back online today, next step is to get a network drive methinks. Still has last year's drivers on it, but I don't really want to update since nothing's broken...
Is it worth upgrading the video card? It runs all my HD videos no problem...

Here's some pics, the last one is the entire setup
And that would still be a stellar deal now, AWESOME.
D3FiN3 SiN is offline  
post #15 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 07:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
R00ST3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 2,179
Rep: 164 (Unique: 131)

That's the case when I received it.


And that's where it sits until I get a cabinet built for it to sit on.

My loop = FrozenQ Liquid Fusion 250ml reservoir>MCP655-B>HW BI SR1 360 rad>Apogee XT>EK FC 480GTX-3 San Ace H1011's, 7/16's Primochill Black


R00ST3R is offline  
post #16 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 09:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MNiceGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belle Plaine, MN
Posts: 4,610
Rep: 342 (Unique: 278)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben the OCer View Post
Here are the specs of my HTPC:

Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition @ 3.624GHz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro Cooler
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G Motherboard
HD3200 onboard video card connected to TV via HDMI
Cooler Master 500W PSU
Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) DDR2-800
Western Digital 2x160GB SATA Hard Drives in RAID 0
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC Build 7100
Microsoft Wireless Desktop 4000
No TV tuner right now but that may change later
Viewsonic 26" LCD 720P HDTV

I use it to watch ripped movies and TV shows on a shared partition on my sig rig (it has the big hard drives) via Windows Media Center. It works pretty sweet and is so cool. Don't have to touch my DVDs again.

Pictures of it bellow:


I've never messed around with Media Center but can I ask how you are able to get the box shots of all your movies in the menu like that? Is that just a built in feature? I would love to have something like that.

MNiceGuy is offline  
post #17 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 10:37 PM
AMG
New to Overclock.net
 
AMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: █♣█
Posts: 1,115
Rep: 67 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contagion View Post
could someone exlain to me the purpose of an HTPC. i know it stands for Home Theater PC but i dont see the point of it.
IMO, if just want to watch Blu-ray movies then just get a standalone player. On a HTPC you can play video games, browse the web, play ripped movies. HTPCs can be pretty cheap to put together, my P4 coupled with a ATI HD365o + DXVA plays 1080p fine.
AMG is offline  
post #18 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kitchener,Ontario
Posts: 1,186
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMG View Post
IMO, if just want to watch Blu-ray movies then just get a standalone player. On a HTPC you can play video games, browse the web, play ripped movies. HTPCs can be pretty cheap to put together, my P4 coupled with a ATI HD365o + DXVA plays 1080p fine.
Hmmmm I'm Jealous of your P4, I got a AMD 3800+ kickin around that I have been trying to get 1080p working on for awhile now. I got a ATI 3450 and that doesn't do 1080p, I don't have any other cards to test out.


Anyways, My HTPC is in my sig. It is very poorly put together it was just spare parts to get it going and within the next month im going to downgrade the cpu and get a new mobo which will cut the noise/power/heat. I should be getting a 780 mobo and with that I won't need a video card.


I use Windows Vista ultimate, and i use mediabrowser, it gives that dvd cover art when browsing.

I have been thinking of switching to linux but its a pain and too much work for something that I am unsure of what I want.

Stevo is offline  
post #19 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 11:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
spice003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,615
Rep: 296 (Unique: 268)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNiceGuy View Post
I've never messed around with Media Center but can I ask how you are able to get the box shots of all your movies in the menu like that? Is that just a built in feature? I would love to have something like that.
if you think thats cool, check out media browser


spice003 is offline  
post #20 of 1120 (permalink) Old 09-19-2009, 11:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
That_guy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wabash College
Posts: 3,774
Rep: 157 (Unique: 137)
Evga 680i Board
4gb of Gskill
E6600
2x WD 1tb
Wireless card. Ect ect 40" Sony bravia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ambusher go_quote.gif
nobody cares about them anymore, crytek sold out to the consoles and gave pc gamers the middle finger



Cpuz validation of sig rig so far smile.gif << Old rig Folding smile.gif
The Little AMD FX Bulldozer that could!

Current Rig Validation
That_guy3 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off