Gentle Typhoon PWM mod - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gentle Typhoon PWM mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Reviewer
 
ehume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 10,070
Rep: 1372 (Unique: 855)
In another thread, Avlin casually mentioned the Gentle Typhoon PWM mod. What PWM mod? I asked. Oh, the one where you add a PWM control wire to the fan's PCB board, where the fourth solder spot is. He was referring to the new highspeed GT's, but he claimed the mod worked on all GT's.

So I took my sole highspeed GT, an AP-30. I did this to it:

GT-30_mod_001.png

I had a bit of black wire with a fan terminal on it. I daubed it with white (after all, I didn't expect this to work). I removed the RPM reporting line from its 3-wire plug. I soldered my black-and-white wire onto the fourth solder spot. I plugged both wires into a 4-wire plug.

Lest you think I have fancy equipment, here's my soldering iron:

GT-30_mod_002.png

Yup. That's a wedge tip.

Here's the PCB:

GT_PCB_s_001.png

Here's a closeup:

GT_PCB_s_002.png

You can see the resin splattered everywhere.

So I plugged it into my rig. What a shock! The fan went up and down with the heatsink fans (I have three fans connected to this, so I get to have three PWM fans running from the single PWM cpu header).

Next, I wanted to see the rpm's. So I unplugged the fan that reports its rpm's to the fan header. Then I unplugged the AP-30 from the non-rpm PWM socket, but not from Molex. It immediately went up to 4200 rpm or so. I'm lucky I didn't get bit. When I plugged the modded AP-30 into the cpu-fan socket, I got this:

PWM_control_of_AP-30.png

WhooWEE! I now have an official PWM AP-30!!!

Back downstairs. Plug the soldering iron back in. Pull out AP-14 #6 - one of my sleeveless AP-14's. Oh boy, I'm thinking. This will be great.

Alas. I found this:

GT_PCB_s_003.png

No room for a fourth wire. Ah well. You can put lots of AP-15's and under on a single Voltage-regulated fan header. I'll have to be satisfied with that.

But we now have confirmation that the PWM mod works on highspeed Gentle Typhoons. Thank you Avlin.

Edit: I got around to testing mine in detail, now that the PWM mod is in place. At 12v the fan runs at 4440 rpm (spec: 4250 rpm). With the PWM line grounded, the rate falls to 1180 rpm. Pretty cool.
ehume is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 05:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Citra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,286
Rep: 144 (Unique: 129)
Excellent post as usual! thumb.gif

Real question is why didn't they put PWM support in the first place.

Quote:
(8:23:27 PM) zodac: Everyone sucks.
(8:23:30 PM) zodac: OCN just sucks less. - (8:23:31 PM) zodac: Go OCN!


Citra is offline  
post #3 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 05:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Rep: 58 (Unique: 51)
That's awesome. smile.gif

I wonder if this will be possible with the special order GT-2150s we'll be getting? That would be very nice.
Jobotoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 06:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: a
Posts: 1,129
Rep: 58 (Unique: 53)
Nice work, a cheap way to make it quiet. I was hoping it would work for the normal GT's.

We wont know if the 2150 has a PWM bit until the shipment arrives, I don't think it will have it though.

a





















































































































a
mam72 is offline  
post #5 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nardox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Katy,TEXAS!
Posts: 2,795
Rep: 111 (Unique: 100)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mam72;13922596 
Nice work, a cheap way to make it quiet. I was hoping it would work for the normal GT's.

We wont know if the 2150 has a PWM bit until the shipment arrives, I don't think it will have it though.

The PWM module is available for the 2150s as an option, not sure if they ordered the GTs with the PWM or not.

But the PWM does cost more and also a longer productioon time/later production date.

Can't think of anything to put in my sig....suggestions? rolleyes.gif

nardox is offline  
post #6 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 06:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Rep: 58 (Unique: 51)
For the group buy the non-PWN ones were $9 while the PWN ones were more, I believe $12.
Jobotoo is offline  
post #7 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 06:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Citra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,286
Rep: 144 (Unique: 129)
IIRC, the group buy either had a barebone one or one with RPM reading. They couldn't take the PWM ones because it would take too long.

Quote:
(8:23:27 PM) zodac: Everyone sucks.
(8:23:30 PM) zodac: OCN just sucks less. - (8:23:31 PM) zodac: Go OCN!


Citra is offline  
post #8 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 06:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jobotoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 1,800
Rep: 58 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Citra;13922675 
IIRC, the group buy either had a barebone one or one with RPM reading. They couldn't take the PWM ones because it would take too long.

Ah, you are right. I confused RPM with PWM. doh!

Thanks!
Jobotoo is offline  
post #9 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 11:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,373
Rep: 215 (Unique: 183)
Well that's an awsome find. Unfortunatly PWM does nothing for our crappy Asus boards. (exept for CPU fan) Now i might have to get 2 ap30's for my 212...



iCrap is offline  
post #10 of 188 (permalink) Old 06-19-2011, 05:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Avlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thans for your post

I've discovered it, and it really hepls when you have an AP-31 :d

On 92 mm gentle typhoon there is a 4th unsoldered pin too, nut not tested

We should post a thread on how to carefuly dismounting an gentle typhoon

I think the 120 mm is PWM-ready too, but you dont see the pwm pin and need to be dimounted. Howewer, onthe 92 mm you can see the 4th pin but you need to dismount the fan in order to solder the PWM pin.
Avlin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off