Fortron Windale 4 or SCYTHE Fuma - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Fortron Windale 4 or SCYTHE Fuma

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 11:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Croatia
Posts: 207
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Fortron Windale 4 or SCYTHE Fuma

hi all.

thinking of building new machine for myself based on asus prime x370-pro and r5 2600.
I need advice regarding cooling.

How much do you think I would lose on my current i5, switching noctua on 2600 and instead use Fortron Windale 4 or SCYTHE Fuma?
Better maybe to go with windale or fuma on 2600? I wonter if windale would be enough to keep my OC on SB. currently used for gaming, a little encoding using handbrake and playing movies. I don't think I've seen going over 65C (ambient 20-26C) except running prime and similar. case has good airflow (2x 120 noctua in front intake, 1x 120 noctua exhaust, 1x 120 side intake).

thanks.

My Machine
(14 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected],5ghz; 1,280V
Motherboard
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3 (bios 1.20)
GPU
GIGABYTE GTX1060 WF OC 6GB
RAM
2x8gb DDR3 HyperX Savage, 1866mhz, 10-10-11-27, 1,5V
Hard Drive
Samsung 64gb (OS);256gb ser830;256gb serPM830
Optical Drive
LG GH22NS30 DVD-RAM
Power Supply
750W XFX Black Edition
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
CoolerMaster Centurion 534 (moded)
Operating System
Win7 Ultimate 64bit
Monitor
46" Samsung 46es6710
Keyboard
Logitech
Mouse
logitech g403
Mouse
SteelSeries pad
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by geronimo; 03-08-2019 at 04:27 AM.
geronimo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 11:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 24,943
Rep: 1636 (Unique: 918)
Quote: Originally Posted by geronimo View Post
hi all.

thinking of building new machine for myself based on asus prime x370-pro and r5 2600.
I need advice regarding cooling.

How much do you think I would lose on my current i5, switching noctua on 2600 and instead use Fortron Windale 4 or SCYTHE Fuma?
Better maybe to go with windale or fuma on 2600? I wonter if windale would be enough to keep my OC on SB. currently used for gaming, a little encoding using handbrake and playing movies. I don't think I've seen going over 65C (ambient 20-26C) except running prime and similar. case has good airflow (2x 120 noctua in front intake, 1x 120 noctua exhaust, 1x 120 side intake).

thanks.
I would use your NH-D14 is a better cooler with new fans, like a couple of PH-F140HP_II. The fan clips you have should work.

Considering NH-D14 is as good, maybe slightly better than NH-D15 and other coolers considered the best of the best when it has fans as good as newer coolers have I would get mount update from Noctua and use it with new fans. Noctua gives few mount updates to owners of their coolers.

Link below is to Noctua for mount updates:
https://noctua.at/en/support/mounting-and-upgrade-kits

Phanteks Owners Club Ways to Better Cooling
i7 980 @ 3.55GHz =PH-TC14PE w/2x TY-143 fans =Crucial Ballistix 3x4GB =GA-X58A-UD5 =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =Enermax Modu84+ =Define R2 w/3x TY-140 case intake fans; all PWM controlled by CPU fan socketPhanteks Enthoo Primo MoBo Rampage III Extreme CPUi7 980X
@ 4.0GHz =R1 Ultimate w/2x TY-143 fans =Dominator GT 6x2GB =Rampage III Extreme =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =TX850 =Enthoo Primo w/ custom castor base
doyll is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 12:03 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,069
Rep: 818 (Unique: 550)
A bit late reply but Scythe Fuma might have memory clearance issues with typical Samsung B-die modules , as it has 35mm clearance under the fin stack. In addition you need Rev B to get an AM4 mount.



The NH-D14 is still quite capable and has 44mm memory clearance, if you're looking at the Scythe Fuma then you should probably just get the AM4 mount for it.


The Windale 4 on the other hand is a downgrade in every way.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Croatia
Posts: 207
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
thanks for the info.
I think I would be ok regarding ram height. I would get g.skill aegis 3000. I think they are 31.2mm. and on the SB system I had g.skill sniper and now hyper x which are also pretty low.
I think I'll put x370 / r5 2600 on hold and wait for zen2 in couple of months and then decide what to do/get.
thanks all.

My Machine
(14 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected],5ghz; 1,280V
Motherboard
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3 (bios 1.20)
GPU
GIGABYTE GTX1060 WF OC 6GB
RAM
2x8gb DDR3 HyperX Savage, 1866mhz, 10-10-11-27, 1,5V
Hard Drive
Samsung 64gb (OS);256gb ser830;256gb serPM830
Optical Drive
LG GH22NS30 DVD-RAM
Power Supply
750W XFX Black Edition
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
CoolerMaster Centurion 534 (moded)
Operating System
Win7 Ultimate 64bit
Monitor
46" Samsung 46es6710
Keyboard
Logitech
Mouse
logitech g403
Mouse
SteelSeries pad
▲ hide details ▲
geronimo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off