Looking for Cooling Thoughts/Opinions - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Looking for Cooling Thoughts/Opinions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zyxwvu4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
Thanks for the update!
Definitely no clearance problems there. What did you have on it before and what are temps now compared to before?
Current settings are Ryzen 5 2600 running at 4.1GHz w/1.25v.

Yesterday I tested out the H100i and it's max temp running the newest Prime95 Small ffts was 62.9c. Preliminary testing with the TSP a bit disappointing... it hit 70.3c after like 5 minutes when Prime95 started up the 2nd calculation. It is giving me the same idle temps of ~30c. I may try reseating it when I get home from work in the morning. Thanks!
zyxwvu4321 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 04:26 PM
Fix it till its broke
 
Owterspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 184
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Just curious how long you let prime run for? It takes a bit for the coolant to get heat soaked. I didn't have any problems with my H100 when it was new.. It was great. I didn't use the stock fans though, I was using beast fans. I used it for five years, and after the third or fourth it started losing capacity. I was using an x5690 on it. My brother is using that H100 now on his 7700k, and its running at 4500. You can try reseating it, might help. I would have to go back in the thread to see what your case cooling setup is like. To really achieve the best results with this cooler, you need to move some air. Like with the H100, it ramped up pretty quick and got pretty loud. TY-143 would work well for you

3770K @ 4600 1.3v/True Spirit 140 Power/TY-143/TY147A|Asus P8Z77-V|12GB G.Skill TridentX+RipJawsX @ 933 9-10-9-27 2T 1.6v|EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988 @ 1497/2001|CM Silent Pro M2 850|Fractal Design Meshify C TG
X5690 @ Stock+Turbo/Le Grand Macho RT/TY-147B|Asus Rampage III Formula|12GB STT Chrome+OCZ Reaper @ 667 6-8-6-24 1T 1.6v|EVGA GTX 970 FTW ACX 2.0 @ 1404/1753(Stock)|Corsair TX850|Fractal Design Define R4
Owterspace is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zyxwvu4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Owterspace View Post
Just curious how long you let prime run for? It takes a bit for the coolant to get heat soaked. I didn't have any problems with my H100 when it was new.. It was great. I didn't use the stock fans though, I was using beast fans. I used it for five years, and after the third or fourth it started losing capacity. I was using an x5690 on it. My brother is using that H100 now on his 7700k, and its running at 4500. You can try reseating it, might help. I would have to go back in the thread to see what your case cooling setup is like. To really achieve the best results with this cooler, you need to move some air. Like with the H100, it ramped up pretty quick and got pretty loud. TY-143 would work well for you
My bad! I had intended to mention in my previous post about the times. P95 ran for a bit over 1.5 hours with the H100i, and that peak happened well before I stopped it. I probably do need to fiddle with the air flow since I have a big ol GPU in the middle of everything. I took pictures but didn't have time to post since I was in a rush to get to work.
zyxwvu4321 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 01:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zyxwvu4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Yeah, not too sure what I can do to increase air to the cooler with how the case is laid out. :-/ Will probably end up cutting out the grill with that upper intake fan. Gives it a super annoying high-pitched sound. All fans are Phanteks PH-F140SPs. http://www.phanteks.com/PH-F140SP.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	upper.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	332.4 KB
ID:	279458  

Click image for larger version

Name:	lower.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	367.1 KB
ID:	279460  

zyxwvu4321 is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 01:50 AM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,003
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
CLCs tend to begin failing after a couple of years. There seems to be a correlation of failure rates with top mounted being lowest, radiator in front with hose fittings are at bottom and front mount with hose fittings at top being worse, but I'm not sure which is which there. It has to do with keeping pump/waterblock on CPU lower than radiators so air collects in radiator, not pump.
Failure rates aside, my H115i just doesn't preform any better than a Noctua would, and the Noctua is more reliable long term while also being cheaper, quieter, and doesn't need any annoying software.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 03:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25,211
Rep: 1645 (Unique: 922)
zyxwvu4321
Do you have a way to monitor air temp into cooler during testing? If you run something like Handbrake at 100% it puts CPU at 100% load as soon as it starts encoding and peak temps will be in about 5 minutes. It may not be a problem, but your top intake may be disrupting the cooler fan's ability to draw air in. This is becuase top fan is forcing air at right angles to what cooler fan needs. Like I said, it may not be a problem.



Do temps go down if you open case front door?


First graph is approx 10 minute run of [email protected] under TRUE Spirit 140 Power using Handbrake at 100% CPU use doing a short run to show how it reaches max temp in about 3 minutes and drops back to idle temp in simialr 3 minutes. You can see it take another couple of minutes for case's airflow to stablize with temps coming down a few degrees.

2nd graph is 24 hours on 6700K under TRUE Spirit 140 Direct.



Below are links to what I monitor airflow temp into cooler with, and how to optimize case airflow.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/22319171-post2.html


https://www.overclock.net/forum/22319249-post5.html

Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
Failure rates aside, my H115i just doesn't preform any better than a Noctua would, and the Noctua is more reliable long term while also being cheaper, quieter, and doesn't need any annoying software.
Preaching to th choir. The only AIO I use for more than testing is be quiet! Silent Loop 280. I topped up coolant at about 8 months, changed coolant at about 15 months and topped up new coolant about 8 months ago so it's time to change coolant again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	i7 980 Prime 95 27-07-2014 mod .jpg
Views:	4
Size:	110.5 KB
ID:	279476  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6700k 24hr temp load graph.png
Views:	4
Size:	132.9 KB
ID:	279480  


Phanteks Owners Club Ways to Better Cooling
i7 980 @ 3.55GHz =PH-TC14PE w/2x TY-143 fans =Crucial Ballistix 3x4GB =GA-X58A-UD5 =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =Enermax Modu84+ =Define R2 w/3x TY-140 case intake fans; all PWM controlled by CPU fan socketPhanteks Enthoo Primo MoBo Rampage III Extreme CPUi7 980X
@ 4.0GHz =R1 Ultimate w/2x TY-143 fans =Dominator GT 6x2GB =Rampage III Extreme =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =TX850 =Enthoo Primo w/ custom castor base

Last edited by doyll; 07-12-2019 at 06:47 AM.
doyll is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 05:33 AM
Fix it till its broke
 
Owterspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 184
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Holy ****, the cooler is almost on the GPU. Impressive. You are probably grabbing heat from that. In which case, TY143 would definitely help.

On mine, I have a ton of space.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sunset_z77.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	2.90 MB
ID:	279502  


3770K @ 4600 1.3v/True Spirit 140 Power/TY-143/TY147A|Asus P8Z77-V|12GB G.Skill TridentX+RipJawsX @ 933 9-10-9-27 2T 1.6v|EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988 @ 1497/2001|CM Silent Pro M2 850|Fractal Design Meshify C TG
X5690 @ Stock+Turbo/Le Grand Macho RT/TY-147B|Asus Rampage III Formula|12GB STT Chrome+OCZ Reaper @ 667 6-8-6-24 1T 1.6v|EVGA GTX 970 FTW ACX 2.0 @ 1404/1753(Stock)|Corsair TX850|Fractal Design Define R4
Owterspace is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zyxwvu4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
zyxwvu4321
Do you have a way to monitor air temp into cooler during testing? If you run something like Handbrake at 100% it puts CPU at 100% load as soon as it starts encoding and peak temps will be in about 5 minutes. It may not be a problem, but your top intake may be disrupting the cooler fan's ability to draw air in. This is becuase top fan is forcing air at right angles to what cooler fan needs. Like I said, it may not be a problem.



Do temps go down if you open case front door?
I did run out and buy one of those indoor/outdoor thermometers to hang inside. While running Handbrake, the sensor was dangling ~2-2.5cm in front of cooler fan. During the entire run, the temp of the sensor stayed ~1C higher than ambient. It rose a bit during the run until my AC kicked on, but always the same amount above ambient. My Handbrake run did reach peak ~3 minutes after it started, topping out at 68.1C, then back down to the normal idle temp of 30C quickly afterwards. Haven't had time to do any other testing like removing front, removing top fan, etc.

Quote: Originally Posted by Owterspace View Post
Holy ****, the cooler is almost on the GPU. Impressive. You are probably grabbing heat from that. In which case, TY143 would definitely help.

On mine, I have a ton of space.
Yeah, the base of the cooler is larger than the top of a Ryzen chip, so when I get it placed for good, I may try to slide it a bit higher towards the top of the case to get a little more space between the GPU.
zyxwvu4321 is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 03:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 25,211
Rep: 1645 (Unique: 922)
Mount basically indexes cooler centered on CPU, so it's not easy to offset and get a good seat. I would not try mounting cooler off of center. It's not going to move, so as long as it's not touching GPU you are fine. I've has some coolers that mounted so close to GPU I put a thin piece of plastic between them just to be sure it there would be no contact and possible electrical short.

Phanteks Owners Club Ways to Better Cooling
i7 980 @ 3.55GHz =PH-TC14PE w/2x TY-143 fans =Crucial Ballistix 3x4GB =GA-X58A-UD5 =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =Enermax Modu84+ =Define R2 w/3x TY-140 case intake fans; all PWM controlled by CPU fan socketPhanteks Enthoo Primo MoBo Rampage III Extreme CPUi7 980X
@ 4.0GHz =R1 Ultimate w/2x TY-143 fans =Dominator GT 6x2GB =Rampage III Extreme =ASUS GTX580 DirectCU II =TX850 =Enthoo Primo w/ custom castor base
doyll is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zyxwvu4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
Mount basically indexes cooler centered on CPU, so it's not easy to offset and get a good seat. I would not try mounting cooler off of center. It's not going to move, so as long as it's not touching GPU you are fine. I've has some coolers that mounted so close to GPU I put a thin piece of plastic between them just to be sure it there would be no contact and possible electrical short.
Ah, good deal!

I had some time to run a couple more Handbrake tests today. For all of these, the room temp was ~24.5c and the sensor about 3-4cm in front of the cooler was ~25.5c.

After reseating the cooler and tightening it down a little more, the max temp was 67.1c. I then tried unplugging that top fan and running the same test. Temperature sensor didn't show any changes, but CPU temp maxed out at 69c this time.

Will try more in the future!
zyxwvu4321 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off