Simple SATA/PWM question - everybody is telling me something different, what is correct?! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Simple SATA/PWM question - everybody is telling me something different, what is correct?!

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Emiliano85

Rep: 0
Simple SATA/PWM question - everybody is telling me something different, what is correct?!

Hi guys.

I'm new to building, and am just about to finish up my first rig. I'm using the Asus Crosshair VIII Hero, with the Ryzen 3950x.

My board has 9 headers meant for AIO/waterpump/fans in total - 5 of these are dedicated for fans: CPU_FAN, CHA_FAN1, CHA_FAN2, CHA_FAN3 and finally H_AMP. All are 1amp, minus the H_AMP which is 3amp.

I plan to use CHA_FAN3 with a SATA powered three-way 4-pin (both motherboard and fans end of cable) PWM splitter (not to be confused with a controller just to clarify my question), connecting 3 Noctua 0.15amp fans to it.

And yes i know individual fan control off one single header will not be possible, and that i have to be carefull not to overload one single header with too many fans (which is not the case here anyway = 0.45amp of fans into 1amp header).

So to my question, which nobody seems to be able to give me a straigh forward answer to is:

When SATA power is at play (specifically in a splitter - we are NOT TALKING about controllers) is it then overriding PWM control in every usecase?

Simple as that. One person tells me yes, SATA will always run fans at full speed, regardless of having a 4-pin connection between mobo. and fans in the same loop - while others tell me it's perfectly working - what else would the 4-pin cable going into the mobo. in that splitter be for?