Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 sucks! Advice needed. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 sucks! Advice needed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Funk-O-Meter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 158
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
1. Thing points the wrong way on my AM2+/AM3 Gigabyte. Blows toward the bottom of the PSU above it.

2. The copper CPU base doesn't cover the CPU entirely but leaves the edges bare. (AMD AthlonX2).

3. My temps go up over 10 degrees vs. stock and peak out at 65+ under load.

I yanked it and put the stock cooler back on and it's loud but cooler.

I don't get it these things are so popular and nobody has said anything about this problem on AMD chips? What am I missing? Anything I should try before I chunk it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Singular1ty go_quote.gif
this is overclock.net, nothings insane in here....except maybe a chainsaw bayonet on an M16, that is a tad....weird
Funk-O-Meter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Meta-Prometheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lafayette, CO
Posts: 865
Rep: 77 (Unique: 74)
I used to have one of these and their is a trick to this.

The fan has to be horizontal (not vertical) and it has to be on the right side (where your memory is). The fan "pushes" air through it then to the back of your case where the exhaust fan is.

The fact that it doesn't cover the cpu entirely shouldn't be a problem, as long as it is only a sliver on the edges.



devilsmiley.gifQ9550 E0 @ 4250 MHz devilsmiley.gif
bruce.gifThe stinger club for those who want the bestbruce.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Antec_ go_quote.gif
"make sure your silencer is attached"
"oh silly prophet, i dont need a silencer for my fists"
awesome
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTech go_quote.gif
AMD can load my cores any day of the week. yessir.gif
Meta-Prometheus is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
R00ST3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 2,179
Rep: 164 (Unique: 131)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meta-Prometheus View Post
I used to have one of these and their is a trick to this.

The fan has to be horizontal (not vertical) and it has to be on the right side (where your memory is). The fan "pushes" air through it then to the back of your case where the exhaust fan is.

The fact that it doesn't cover the cpu entirely shouldn't be a problem, as long as it is only a sliver on the edges.
I'm not sure he can mount it that way. It's AMD, not Intel.

Not sure why your temps are worse then stock cooling though, it shouldn't be that bad.

My loop = FrozenQ Liquid Fusion 250ml reservoir>MCP655-B>HW BI SR1 360 rad>Apogee XT>EK FC 480GTX-3 San Ace H1011's, 7/16's Primochill Black


R00ST3R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Funk-O-Meter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 158
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Exactly...

I reapplied paste several times too. Nothing. Sucks. I am sad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Singular1ty go_quote.gif
this is overclock.net, nothings insane in here....except maybe a chainsaw bayonet on an M16, that is a tad....weird
Funk-O-Meter is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aqualoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,541
Rep: 111 (Unique: 82)
I've read issues on OCN about that cooler with AMD chips, so I don't think you're the only one experiencing them.



Aqualoon is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:44 AM
VeeDub Enthusiast
 
hitman1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 4,509
Rep: 326 (Unique: 264)
the arctic freezer (64 = designed for amd cpus) was mainly addressed to dual core mid range cooling not anything super performance wise for overclocking.

the highest i got an amd 7750 BE on that cooler is 3.2 ghz x2 and the temps stood below 53 °C on full load.

i suggest you grab a different cooler that will suit your needs better.

-> You can be as dumb as a Rock, as long as you know how to help yourself <-


hitman1985 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 08:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sLowEnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 17,290
Rep: 923 (Unique: 706)
Quote:
Originally Posted by R00ST3R View Post
I'm not sure he can mount it that way. It's AMD, not Intel.

Not sure why your temps are worse then stock cooling though, it shouldn't be that bad.
Rev1 blew towards the back of the case

Rev2 however, doesn't.


sLowEnd is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 09:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 73
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I've seen a lot of people complaining about this cooler. For me, it is perfect. I am using Rev.2 (7 pro, just like you) and it points towards the top or bottom of my case. I have it pointing towards the top because I have a top exhaust fan which works perfectly. Since your fan is blowing towards your PSU, and the PSU is just blowing hot air back into your air stream, your ambient temps in your case are probably very high. Try taking the side of your case off and see if that helps. Also, the Athlon x2 chips are known to run very hot. My little brother's 5200+ gets in the mid 40s with the same cooler (stock clocks/volts, also with optimum airflow, pointing towards a top exhausting fan again), while my chip (Phenom II x2 550) gets in the high 30s on a 3.8 ghz overclock with 1.55 volts. Once again, the only reason I can think of why the 7 Pro runs hotter than your stock cooler is because the stock cooler blows down onto the heatsink, where the 7 Pro blows the hot air back into your case, making your case temperature very hot. I hope this helps.

Retcher is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 09:20 AM
Retired Staff
 
KarmaKiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Springfield
Posts: 4,214
Rep: 123 (Unique: 103)
PSU fans exhaust air out of the back of the unit. They DO NOT push air into the case.


On topic:
Not sure why your having problems. I've used this same cooler now in 2 builds for my friends, both of them being an i5 setup though. I was able to mount the cooler with the fan blowing towards the back. It must be a AMD board thing to have the cooler mounted like that.

Learn how to use the new features of the site:


Currently Playing: H1Z1:KOTK, Overwatch, World of Tanks, Project Cars


KarmaKiller is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:30 PM
ehume is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off