Finally received my Venom pics on OP :) - Page 10 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Finally received my Venom pics on OP :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-02-2013, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stubass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aussie Xpat in Thailand
Posts: 15,255
Rep: 2658 (Unique: 1360)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxbassplayerxx View Post

The venom should be incredible for dice! Tons of surface area and the gigantic opening makes it easier to add and crush dice.

cheers bassplayer, i was almost 2nd guessing my purchase as i do sometimes lol


stubass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-02-2013, 07:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jjjc_93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 838
Rep: 101 (Unique: 59)
Good to see you settled on a pot, and a great one at that. biggrin.gif

Look forward to seeing some cold pics. wink.gif
jjjc_93 is offline  
post #93 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-02-2013, 09:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bullant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 1,491
Rep: 130 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stubass View Post

Will the Venom be fine with DICE until i can afford/ find a reasonably priced used dewar for Ln2??
Yeah will be awesome for dice,make sure you use blue painters tape to seal up the join(or some other sealing practice ),I do this on all my pots from just under the join upwards.This will seal your pot good and if its not a two piece pot i still do this because it just looks after your pot really nice in case you may scratch it,the blue painters tape leaves no residue behind.Now the pot may not leak but I would not take the chance because the tape roll is cheap and will last a long time.Some people may have a better sealing way they may post but IMO i would seal a two piece pot,tape cheaper then board cpu video card memory to replace

Quote:
Originally Posted by stubass View Post

cheers bassplayer, i was almost 2nd guessing my purchase as i do sometimes lol
Don't worrie you have a awesome pot all you have to master with this pot is insulation and making sure you have seated it correctly on the CPU.I always 2nd guest everything,I need to get another chip so I can keep benching ivy ,got day of work today and was going to go get a new chip and thought haswell soon and didn't go get chip,maybe next week I go get it lol
Bullant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 03:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stubass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aussie Xpat in Thailand
Posts: 15,255
Rep: 2658 (Unique: 1360)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjc_93 View Post

Good to see you settled on a pot, and a great one at that. biggrin.gif

Look forward to seeing some cold pics. wink.gif

cheers, looking to having some sub-zero fun myself and will take some pics as well as screenies for HWBot thumb.gif better sign up on the bot for OCN in the morning smile.gif

@Bullant, yep been getting into youtube vids and and reading up on insulation including previous info you provided. you know next week never comes lol biggrin.gif


stubass is offline  
post #95 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 06:31 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,162
Rep: 740 (Unique: 540)
doing insulation on the venom is a bit trickier for me than with a smaller pot as the F1. The way i've been doing things doesn't work so well with the venom. Vince has a good guide with pics on how he does it, but everyone has their own way of doing things. I did up an Fm2 board yesterday and had to rig up something so that I can use the venom on it. I think it worked rather well. I'm in the process of looking for more insulation materials right now.

Good luck.



Mikecdm is offline  
post #96 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stubass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aussie Xpat in Thailand
Posts: 15,255
Rep: 2658 (Unique: 1360)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecdm View Post

doing insulation on the venom is a bit trickier for me than with a smaller pot as the F1. The way i've been doing things doesn't work so well with the venom. Vince has a good guide with pics on how he does it, but everyone has their own way of doing things. I did up an Fm2 board yesterday and had to rig up something so that I can use the venom on it. I think it worked rather well. I'm in the process of looking for more insulation materials right now.

Good luck.

ahhh, yes i saw the thread by vince on insulkation. did you get the foam tubing with yours? if so are you using it too besides paper towels etc?

good luck to you too BTW smile.gif


stubass is offline  
post #97 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 10:03 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,162
Rep: 740 (Unique: 540)
I didn't get foam tube with mine. I didn't get anything with mine other than mounting hardware, I do use paper towels over the foam though, The tricky part ofr me is the foam or stuff that you use on the board. Covering the pot itself is kind of easy. But since the base of the venom is so big, it makes it different for me. Not that it's very difficult, just that it's different approach that i have to take.

I did get on of those probes vince sells now. Mine is a "pre-production" model, so it didn't come with the end on the plug part. The end of the probe that goes in the pot is so big that I had to drill out the hole a bit to get it to fit better. Otherwise only the tip would go in and eventually would fall out easily.



Mikecdm is offline  
post #98 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stubass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aussie Xpat in Thailand
Posts: 15,255
Rep: 2658 (Unique: 1360)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikecdm View Post

I didn't get foam tube with mine. I didn't get anything with mine other than mounting hardware, I do use paper towels over the foam though, The tricky part ofr me is the foam or stuff that you use on the board. Covering the pot itself is kind of easy. But since the base of the venom is so big, it makes it different for me. Not that it's very difficult, just that it's different approach that i have to take.

I did get on of those probes vince sells now. Mine is a "pre-production" model, so it didn't come with the end on the plug part. The end of the probe that goes in the pot is so big that I had to drill out the hole a bit to get it to fit better. Otherwise only the tip would go in and eventually would fall out easily.

the foam tube that came with mine is a really tight fit, the pot was actually shipped inside the foam tube and took me maybe 5 minutyes or so to remove it. well for the probe, i must be blind or something cuase i cant see a hole or how you would mount the probe redface.gif


stubass is offline  
post #99 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-04-2013, 09:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bullant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 1,491
Rep: 130 (Unique: 36)
Yeah stubass,my Venom had a little pin hole on one side just had to drill it out to size for probe
Bullant is offline  
post #100 of 128 (permalink) Old 04-05-2013, 03:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stubass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aussie Xpat in Thailand
Posts: 15,255
Rep: 2658 (Unique: 1360)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullant View Post

Yeah stubass,my Venom had a little pin hole on one side just had to drill it out to size for probe

found it, geeze i am blind, its a bit bigger than a pin hole like close to 1mm and i didnt notice it lol
BTW i have been looking a Dewars, what size should i be looking at for say one person 4 - 6 hours of benching??


stubass is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off