Why not use regular ice instead of dry ice? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Why not use regular ice instead of dry ice?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
coolwhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,430
Rep: 47 (Unique: 46)
okay my parents arent really too thrilled with the idea of using dry ice, but i was thinking if i cant convince them about dry ice[=/] maybe i could see wath i can do with just regular ice.
i know id have to put more ice in a lot, but would this work, i could use a pot just like for dice, and have a tube pump so taht i can just pump out the melted water into like a bucket or something?

coolwhip is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:19 PM
Science
 
BLKKROW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 3,474
Rep: 260 (Unique: 181)
may i recommended if you are going to do this ice + water + salt

www.blackaero.com
Desktop
(12 items)
CPU
AMD 3900x
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte 1660 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 3600mhz DDR4, 16GB
Hard Drive
HP 920 NVME 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Case
Corsair Carbide 400C
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
Keyboard
Ducky OCN Custom Mechanical
Mouse
Steel Series Kinzu V2
Audio
Fiio DAC Amplifier
▲ hide details ▲


BLKKROW is offline  
post #3 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 1,497
Rep: 96 (Unique: 87)
well the point of using things like dry ice is to get sub zero temps

it will also be kinda hard to get the amount of pumping just right plus the ice will float on the water, you can always just through ice cubes in ur res or even put ur rad in ice water for some suicide runs,

but be careful of condensation!

Dual Loop:
custom pvc res=>DDC3.2w/xspc acrylic top=>DDC 3.2 w/xspc acrylic top=>Black Ice Extreme GTX 360(3xUK 3000's pulling)=>mcr 120=>Apogee GT (bowed)=>res

DDC Ultra w/xspc res-top=>RX360(3x pana Ultras pulling)=>enzotech nb block=>Dtek GFX 2=>res-top

thehighlander123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:21 PM
Science
 
BLKKROW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 3,474
Rep: 260 (Unique: 181)
please use basic chemistry if you use ice+water+salt, salt helps lower the freezing point of water so by placing ice in all of this you will get a lot lower temps

www.blackaero.com
Desktop
(12 items)
CPU
AMD 3900x
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte 1660 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 3600mhz DDR4, 16GB
Hard Drive
HP 920 NVME 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Case
Corsair Carbide 400C
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
Keyboard
Ducky OCN Custom Mechanical
Mouse
Steel Series Kinzu V2
Audio
Fiio DAC Amplifier
▲ hide details ▲


BLKKROW is offline  
post #5 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
coolwhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,430
Rep: 47 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehighlander123 View Post
well the point of using things like dry ice is to get sub zero temps

it will also be kinda hard to get the amount of pumping just right plus the ice will float on the water, you can always just through ice cubes in ur res or even put ur rad in ice water for some suicide runs,

but be careful of condensation!
lol no
it will be ice and water[or some other liquid] in a pot like dry ice is, than ill have a pump on the ground with the inlet in the pot and the outlet going to a bucket. when the pot starts to get to full of water, ill hit the pump to get a little out, so i dont spill any on my mobo.

coolwhip is offline  
post #6 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:28 PM
Science
 
BLKKROW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 3,474
Rep: 260 (Unique: 181)
please please please for better temps use salt

www.blackaero.com
Desktop
(12 items)
CPU
AMD 3900x
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte 1660 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 3600mhz DDR4, 16GB
Hard Drive
HP 920 NVME 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Case
Corsair Carbide 400C
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
Keyboard
Ducky OCN Custom Mechanical
Mouse
Steel Series Kinzu V2
Audio
Fiio DAC Amplifier
▲ hide details ▲


BLKKROW is offline  
post #7 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
coolwhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,430
Rep: 47 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKKROW View Post
please please please for better temps use salt
lol i think salt lowers the freezing temperature of the water, right?

coolwhip is offline  
post #8 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 3,168
Rep: 398 (Unique: 317)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolwhip View Post
lol i think salt lowers the freezing temperature of the water, right?
No. It raises the freezing temp of water. Why else would we put salt on an icy sidewalk? Certainly not to make it 'more' frozen lol.

I stand corrected.

Lowering the freezing temperature (below the freezing temp of the air) will cause the ice to melt.
Slider46 is offline  
post #9 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
meticadpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,478
Rep: 1389 (Unique: 894)
Screw the parents, get the dry ice

meticadpa is offline  
post #10 of 84 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 01:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,783
Rep: 91 (Unique: 84)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLKKROW View Post
please please please for better temps use salt
Please please please stop repeating that. I think the OP got you the first time.

And yes, salt has a lower freezing point than water. As such, mixing the two will result in a saline solution with a lower freezing point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slider46 View Post
No. It raises the freezing temp of water. Why else would we put salt on an icy sidewalk? Certainly not to make it 'more' frozen lol.
Wow......Just....wow.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deicing
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sodium_chloride


E6400 @ 4GHz
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofGrunts go_quote.gif
So either, A) Your network is 100 Mb/s (in which case it'll take around 40 minutes instead of 30) or B) Your router sucks worse then a two dollar prostitute.
foobar2000 ► Zero DAC ► Little Dot MK III ► DT 880 600 Ω


cuy50 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off