VERY VERY Strange mem usage problem, PLEASE help!! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

VERY VERY Strange mem usage problem, PLEASE help!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,108
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
VERY VERY Strange mem usage problem, PLEASE help!!

i just got finished installing a clean install of win10. Loaded all drivers, and necessary programs. After all was done (just like the 56473 times in the past after doing this) sitting at the desktop NOTHING running in background mem usage is 2.1gb.. Completely NORMAL. First program I loaded was ADIA64 to check memory stability just to make sure mem is stable at XMP settings, system loaded all 32gb (as it has 57465 times in the past) all was stable after 30mins testing, I hit "Stop" and exiting program, and for whatever reason I looked at mem usage again in task mrg and it is dead set on 5gb... Thought that was weird, so i rebooted, once back into windows, i went back into task manager and still reading 5gb sitting at an idle desktop, NOTHING RUNNING IN BACKGROUND.. I have tweaked my background tasks to have only important stuff going (Like ive done 5765 times in the past) FOr some reason something is doubling my normal mem usage at idle and cant figure it out! HELP ME PLEASE!!! Anything I can do to flush/purge mem while at desktop?? Clueless here as ive never had this happen before.

OS is CLEAN AND FRESH and all windows updates auto loaded. Win is version 1803.
Please, any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated

EDIT** No matter how many times i restart or shut off pc completely, as soon as win10 boots back to desktop, its dead set @ 5gb mem usage sitting idle on desktop

Nothing! Waiting for the 9900k and 2080ti to come out
newls1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 10:36 AM
Amiga 500
 
mAs81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Athens,Greece
Posts: 3,510
Rep: 137 (Unique: 109)
See if this works;
Type regedit in search,then go to


HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Session Manager\Memory Management



double click on ClearPageFileAtShutDown and change the value to 1


reboot

Enthoo Evolv
(21 items)
Air 240
(16 items)
Transformer Book
(10 items)
CPU
i7 4790K
Motherboard
Asus Gryphon Z97 Armor Edition
GPU
msi 1070 Ti Gaming
RAM
Hyper X Savage
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
WD Red
Hard Drive
WD Black
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Corsair H75
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX TG
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2713HM
Monitor
Samsung Syncmaster P2470HD TV monitor
Keyboard
Magicforce 68 - Gateron Red Switches
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200 Extended
Audio
Creative Gigaworks T40 SeriesII
Audio
FiiO Olympus 2 E10K
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT 990
Other
Phankteks Halos and RGB strip 40cm
CPU
i5-4670
Motherboard
ASRock z97m Pro4
GPU
SAPPHIRE R9 290 Vapor-X OC 4Gb
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
Mushkin Triactor 120gb SSD
Hard Drive
HGST Travelstar 7k1000 1Tb
Power Supply
Corsair HX620W
Cooling
Cryorig C7
Cooling
Corsair SP120 Purple LED X4
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 240 White edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung UE46D6500 46" 3D LED smart TV
Keyboard
Anne Pro-Gateron Blues
Mouse
Connect IT Ci-156
Audio
Sony DAV-DZ860W Home Theater
Other
BitFenix Alchemy 2.0 60cm RGB Magnetic LEDs
CPU
Intel Atom Quad Core Z3740 (1.33-1.86GHz)
GPU
Intel HD Graphics(Ivy Bridge)
RAM
2 GB DDR3
Hard Drive
32 GB eMMC
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 4 128gb
Hard Drive
Kingston 16Gb Micro SD
Case
iPearl mCover Hard Shell Case - Blue
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 32-bit
Monitor
10.1" IPS (1368 x 768)
Mouse
Logitech M560
▲ hide details ▲


mAs81 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 11:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,685
Rep: 470 (Unique: 317)
If you can't see any process using this in the task manager, go to the "performance" tab and click on "open resource manager" at the bottom of the window. That "resource manager" tool might show more about what's using memory.

Could you share screenshots?
deepor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,108
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by mAs81 View Post
See if this works;
Type regedit in search,then go to


HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Session Manager\Memory Management



double click on ClearPageFileAtShutDown and change the value to 1


reboot
i did what you said, and it took longer then normal to reboot, then once back in windows, same mem usage... This is a side effect from a update from windows. I just "RE" Formatted again, and after i did the updates, that is when the mem usage got doubled... damn it ms, ***. I tried to remove the updates, but it wont let me remove 2 out of the 5 it downloaded, and im sure its one of those 2 that is the issue that I cant remove.

Nothing! Waiting for the 9900k and 2080ti to come out
newls1 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,108
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by deepor View Post
If you can't see any process using this in the task manager, go to the "performance" tab and click on "open resource manager" at the bottom of the window. That "resource manager" tool might show more about what's using memory.

Could you share screenshots?
i looked all around in here and couldnt figure it out.. thanks tho

Nothing! Waiting for the 9900k and 2080ti to come out
newls1 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 03:21 PM
Linux Noob
 
Beagle Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: /home
Posts: 870
Rep: 41 (Unique: 37)
Get a copy of the Microsoft Utility autoruns and see what's being loaded up on startup.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...loads/autoruns

I did Latty's Linux Challenge and I now run Linux!
The Beagle Box
(12 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8086K
Motherboard
MSI Z370 Gaming M5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X 8GB
RAM
G.Skill Flare X 16GB 2 x 8GB DDR4-3200 PC4-25600 CL14 Dual Channel
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB MLC V-NAND PCIe Gen 3 x4 NVMe M.2 2280 Internal SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB MLC NAND M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2 1000 Watt 80 Plus Platinum Modular ATX Power Supply
Cooling
Swiftech 220X2
Cooling
Corsair ML120 Pro White LED Magnetic Levitation 120mm Case Fan
Cooling
Corsair ML120 Magnetic Levitation 120mm Case Fan
Case
Corsair Vengeance C70
Operating System
Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.0
▲ hide details ▲
Beagle Box is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,108
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by Beagle Box View Post
Get a copy of the Microsoft Utility autoruns and see what's being loaded up on startup.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...loads/autoruns
thank you! I will try it out

Nothing! Waiting for the 9900k and 2080ti to come out
newls1 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 03:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
farmdve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,710
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
And I suggest using this Microsoft utility https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...ownloads/vmmap AND https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...wnloads/rammap

It shows very intimate information about the Virtual Memory usage.

Current
(5 items)
CPU
i7-8700k
Motherboard
ASRock Z370 Extreme4
GPU
GTX 1070
RAM
Corsair
Case
Fractal XL R2
▲ hide details ▲
farmdve is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 03:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
porksmuggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 215
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Also, maybe on a hunch, after you shut down, switch off the power supply or disconnect from power completely for a bit before restarting. Curious to see if that changes the memory usage immediately after startup. Even without any hib/standby/etc, as you may know Windows 10 has powered down functionality.

porksmuggler is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 03:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
farmdve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,710
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by porksmuggler View Post
Also, maybe on a hunch, after you shut down, switch off the power supply or disconnect from power completely for a bit before restarting. Curious to see if that changes the memory usage immediately after startup. Even without any hib/standby/etc, as you may know Windows 10 has powered down functionality.
Another thing could be pre-fetching e.g the Superfetch service.

Current
(5 items)
CPU
i7-8700k
Motherboard
ASRock Z370 Extreme4
GPU
GTX 1070
RAM
Corsair
Case
Fractal XL R2
▲ hide details ▲
farmdve is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off