Computer freezes randomly - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Computer freezes randomly

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ussoldier_1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 946
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Computer freezes randomly

randomly my computer freezes and completely locks up. I do not get any bsod or any indication to what could be causing it. It started after I installed battlefield V and it would lock up like this on launch. Uninstalled battlefield V and it is now doing it at random. Again no BSOD or any kind of error message or memory dump. Any Ideas. Windows 10 64 bit

Edit: Thinking of doing a fresh OS install.
ussoldier_1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 06:11 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Some info about your hardware would be helpful

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ussoldier_1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 946
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Some info about your hardware would be helpful
Sorry about that

Asus zenith extreme motherboard
Threadripper 1950
16 gigs of corsair ram (cant remember the model but its higher end ram not cheap)
two Evga 1080ti cards in SLI
1200 watt power supply thermaltake

Thats the basics
ussoldier_1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 06:19 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Which model is that Thermaltake 1200 watt PSU and please dont say its a Thermaltake Toughpower Grand as that one is god awful
As for the freezing problem that is often casued by a dying SSD or HDD so what do you have and have you tried downloading Crystal Disk Info and checking the drives?

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is online now  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ussoldier_1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 946
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Which model is that Thermaltake 1200 watt PSU and please dont say its a Thermaltake Toughpower Grand as that one is god awful
As for the freezing problem that is often casued by a dying SSD or HDD so what do you have and have you tried downloading Crystal Disk Info and checking the drives?
Shaking head in shame Yes it is the toughpower grand.

I have a Samsung pro 512gig ssd that is only about 2 years old but my games are installed on a wd black I think is the name 2 tb hdd that is less than a year old. data and files are saved on a 3rd HDD that has nothing to do with any games.

Please enlighten me about this Crystal DIsck Info program, I am not familiar with it
ussoldier_1984 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 06:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ussoldier_1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 946
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
I am thinking that I have some deeply hidden malware that my Ccleaner and avast is not picking up, I keep getting my firefox rerouted to a bs page when on this site that says your system is infected fake sites that wants you to click ok to resolve lol
ussoldier_1984 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 06:36 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
You should get a better PSU because the ripple suppression on the one you have sucks
Note that there is a newer version called Tough Power Grand RGB Gold and that one is far better than the old version

As for Crystal DIsck Info you can see the health of your drive their S.M.A.R.T. status and a bunch of other stuff like how many hours it has been running
If you want a program that can run tests on your drives there is Seatools

https://crystalmark.info/en/software/crystaldiskinfo/
https://www.seagate.com/gb/en/support/downloads/

Both programs are free but there is also Hard Disk Sentinel which you have to pay for
And yes you should do a malware check and delete Firefox and remember to delete the hiden folders with all your data as well

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is online now  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ussoldier_1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 946
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Soon as I have a chance I will replace my power supply but for now I am slowly working on doing a fresh OS install. whats wrong with firefox? I have been using that browser for many years
ussoldier_1984 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 06:15 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,802
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Quote: Originally Posted by ussoldier_1984 View Post
Soon as I have a chance I will replace my power supply but for now I am slowly working on doing a fresh OS install. whats wrong with firefox? I have been using that browser for many years
There is nothing wrong with Firefox you said you had malware and the most often place it hides itself is in the hiden firefox folder which is why i said delete it
Or you could do a fresh OS install

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is online now  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2018, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,847
Rep: 377 (Unique: 269)
Quote: Originally Posted by ussoldier_1984 View Post
I am thinking that I have some deeply hidden malware that my Ccleaner and avast is not picking up, I keep getting my firefox rerouted to a bs page when on this site that says your system is infected fake sites that wants you to click ok to resolve lol
You should have malware bytes anti-malware installed to prevent stuff like this from happening. Even though MBAM doesn't have lifetime keys anymore, it still does a great job in protecting your system. You may have to manually white list some "suspicious" files like key generators or patchers and stuff however as it also blacklists "hacking tools" during a scan.

Can't speak for Avast. Not sure how good they are anymore.
And always read http://www.jonnyguru.com/ before buying any PSU. That would have saved you from that bad purchase.

I'm assuming you have this model?

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story&reid=546
Or
this one?
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story&reid=243

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 12-09-2018 at 01:23 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off