My Old School AGP Bench Summary Thread - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My Old School AGP Bench Summary Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Artikbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catalunya
Posts: 14,959
Rep: 611 (Unique: 407)
Hi guys!

I thought I'd create a thread where I can keep all my AGP card scores instead of spreading them along several threads, and also use it to ask any doubts I may come across in my AGP trips smile.gif

So, as some of you might know I recently ordered a 4COREDUAL-SATA2 R2.0 motherboard, which arrived yesterday.

This is the ghetto bench I rigged:

700

450

450

7-2-2013 Update:

I rebuilt both waterblocks, the CPU one because it broke down, the GPU one because it's going to house a 40mm TEC! wheee.gif

As it sits now:






Right now it boasts this hardware:

]CPU: Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @3.a lot GHz.
Board: AsRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0
RAM: 2x1GB Kingston Value DDR2-667 CL4
GPUs: Several AGP cards.
HDD: 7200.10 160GB


And in the cooling department:

Pump: Home-refurbished Hydor L20 (broken impeller, repaired and put to use again)
Rad: Motorbike salvaged copper 200mm radiator
CPU block: Burnt Antec 620 copper baseplate with a rigged top for G1/4 barbs
GPU block: Homemade single piece copper waterblock w/ 150W 40mm TEC at full blast
Fans: 2x Ultra Kazes 3K
Old hardware (Click to show)
CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6400 @2.34GHz (295MHz bus)
Board: AsRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0
RAM: 2x1GB Kingston Value DDR2-667 CL4
GPUs: Several AGP cards, including a Radeon 7000 DDR, a Riva TNT2 M64, a FX6200 256MB DDR2...
HDD: 7200.10 160GB


And in the cooling department:

Pump: Home-refurbished Hydor L20 (broken impeller, repaired and put to use again)
Rad: Motorbike salvaged copper 200mm radiator
CPU block: Lower half of a 775 cooler copper core, modded and enclosed.
GPU block: Upper half of said copper core.
Fans: 2x Ultra Kazes 3K for serious benching, a Thunderblade in pull for lowly testing.


Mods list:




Scores list:

3DMark2001


Artikbot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 06:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DUpgrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Rep: 78 (Unique: 68)
Looks like a fun project and my old rig still used AGP buy the choices got very limited. It's funny seeing a water block on an AGP card too as most of them only had heatsinks and rarely a fan. Curious what your results will be.

"People willing to trade their freedom for temporary security deserve neither and will lose both." ~ Ben Franklin


DUpgrade is offline  
post #3 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 06:40 PM
Agressive Perfector
 
kabj06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ur mom lulz
Posts: 1,308
Rep: 31 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DUpgrade View Post

Looks like a fun project and my old rig still used AGP buy the choices got very limited. It's funny seeing a water block on an AGP card too as most of them only had heatsinks and rarely a fan. Curious what your results will be.

My Radeon 9800 Pro would artifact like mad during light web browsing with its stock heatsink and fan. I had to buy a dual slot heatsink to remedy the problem. For overclocking a waterblock would not be a bad idea.

wth.gif It took a 5 GHz Piledriver to beat an i7 2600k in PCMark. lachen.gif


kabj06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-09-2012, 08:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rasparthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Living @ 77 Kelvin
Posts: 2,465
Rep: 89 (Unique: 56)
The reason that the Bartons are beating your chip doesn't have anything to do with the speed of your chip. Getting another chip isn't going to improve your score any. The TNT card is limited by the GPU itself, it isn't taking advantage of even the Bartons chip, your better Conroe chip won't improve it any. Those benches have everything to do with how well you overclock the GPU and tweaks and drivers. The CPU is almost irrelevant until you get into the more modern AGPs.

Rasparthe is offline  
post #5 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 02:47 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Artikbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catalunya
Posts: 14,959
Rep: 611 (Unique: 407)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasparthe View Post

The reason that the Bartons are beating your chip doesn't have anything to do with the speed of your chip. Getting another chip isn't going to improve your score any. The TNT card is limited by the GPU itself, it isn't taking advantage of even the Bartons chip, your better Conroe chip won't improve it any. Those benches have everything to do with how well you overclock the GPU and tweaks and drivers. The CPU is almost irrelevant until you get into the more modern AGPs.

But... Does that 20 extra MHz on the memory really mean 500 points over a 1500 point total?

That's what bothers me.

On the Radeon 7000, there's people shooting at 4000 3DMarks while I struggle to reach 2000! And they're running at slower GPU clocks than I do eek.gif


Updated DirectX and got a 200 point bonus in 3DMark01, I'm currently upgrading framework, searching for possible patches, or whatever I can to boost this, because something seems really odd!


Anyway, will run a series of benches on the Radeon 7000 (the most fun to run of all the cards I've got thumb.gif) and post them, to use them as a reference for when I optimize the thing biggrin.gif


Artikbot is offline  
post #6 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 06:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rasparthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Living @ 77 Kelvin
Posts: 2,465
Rep: 89 (Unique: 56)
Are you using a very stripped down OS? 3DMark01 doesn't need Framework at all, and there are some good tweaked drivers around, Omega comes to mind. Get the OS stripped down to a bare minimum and try out some different drivers and don't forget there are a number of guides on how to get the most out of 2001 around, (which order to run the benches, etc). Have a look at those. I have a 7000 around here somewhere maybe I'll give it a spin and see how it goes.

Rasparthe is offline  
post #7 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Artikbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catalunya
Posts: 14,959
Rep: 611 (Unique: 407)
Yeah, I stripped it to bare minimums. Among things I left, Internet Explorer and .NET framework, .NET for the Driver Sweeper, which I constantly use to wipe drivers.

The XP SP2 home CD ended up weighing at 300MB tongue.gif

Maybe I could've stripped more, but I didn't touch where I didn't know.


On the 7000 I'm using Omegas based on Catalyst 6.11, the ones that give the best performance so far.

I've found that my card has a *terrible* clocking memory, topping at 209MHz with stock volts. I can run 216MHz with artifacts all the way, boosting results by 180 3DMarks. If scaling is linear, at 240MHz I should get around 800 3DMarks more, which is very respectable, but I'd still be running a good 1k points below top performers.

The core on the other hand does very good, clocking at 320MHz.


Right now I'm with the TNT2 M64, fiddling with settings and so. At 180/180 I top at 1.5K marks with Forceware 71.92 (older releases give worse performance).


Edit: Changing the order to CH-LH-DH-LL-DL-CL yielded exactly the same performance. wth.gif Uploading screenshot in a second.


There we go. Sorry for being this late frown.gif

480


I've managed to run memory up to 186MHz, with an additional fan blowing at the back of the card.

By the way, I run LOD at +3. It boosts scores at around 100 points over LOD at 0.


Artikbot is offline  
post #8 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Artikbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catalunya
Posts: 14,959
Rep: 611 (Unique: 407)
Yooohooo!! Hittin' it hard with the FX6200!

Without any voltmod and the core stuck at 421MHz, this Infineon 3ns memory kicks hard! It runs with artifacts and crap all over the screen (but no polygonal corruption, so no performance hit) at 960MHz right now, scoring right at 14k points!

Hopefully the core vmod will allow it to reach higher corespeeds, so I can at least hit 15k thumb.gif

Will do the VRAM vmod and see if they somehow achieve faster speeds wink.gif


Edit: I hit 14100 points!

480


Artikbot is offline  
post #9 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 05:22 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NCAL
Posts: 16,364

you hit the higher score.. because this time you ran Nature... the first time you didnt..  Congrats on your AGP work though! I just ordered one for my 478skt bench



CL3P20 is offline  
post #10 of 202 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Artikbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catalunya
Posts: 14,959
Rep: 611 (Unique: 407)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL3P20 View Post

you hit the higher score.. because this time you ran Nature... the first time you didnt..  Congrats on your AGP work though! I just ordered one for my 478skt bench

Yeah, the older cards can't run Nature at all, but the FX6200 can.

I believe some voltmodding awesomeness can help that 6200 score better memory speeds, as it seems those are the ones boosting scores the most!! thumb.gif
I won't catch Christian Ney since he was on single stage, and don't know about the second, but scroing 17k points seems too good to be under water! Unless he's chilling it with ice, à la ghetto style tongue.gif


Regarding 478, I was about to get a MSI old 478 system from some terribly old systems at my uni, but then I realized I've ran out of space in my room rolleyes.gif


Edit: What's wrong with HWBOT at european nights? It runs slow as heck O.o


Artikbot is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off